We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ferry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry

Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry
556 E. Central Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
800-828-6157
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Activities in Mackinaw City
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We took the ferry for the first time and it was great. The ferry was fast loading and unloading. We didn't wait more than 15 minutes ever to load. It drops you in the middle of all the mackinac island action. They take AAA so that can save a few bucks. Overall it was a good experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    80
    20
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

There are three ferry companies to choose from in Mackinaw City. The prices and parking are pretty much the same. We used Shepler's to get to the island and we were staying overnight so we had luggage. Once we pulled up to the unloading area, ferry staff helped us unload our bags and tagged it then put it on the ferry for us. We picked it up at the dock on the island. For the trip back, we sent our bags ahead and they stored them safely for us until we retrieved them, keeping them out of the rain. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Smooth Sailing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We took Shepler's Ferry over to the Island. The parking was free. Adult tickets were $25. Our hotel had a special offer. We bought a coupon for $10 that entitled us to a buy-one-get-one free ticket.
From the ticket seller to the ferry employees all were very polite and knowledgeable. They are very organized, and even with the large number of people taking the trip, they have it all down to a science.
The seating on the top deck gives one a good view of the water and the island, but from my experience you will get punished with the wind. On the way over to the island I even held my eye glasses in my hand to keep them from flying off. If I go over another time, I'm going to ride in the enclosed first floor seating.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Being my first time to Mackinac Island, we checked out the tourist guide info and Shepler's caught my eye right away. Staff was extremely accomodating from the ticket lady all the way to the dock hands. A very smooth ride to a beautiful island.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Glad we chose Shepler's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

On our first-ever trip to Mackinac Island, we found all the ferries basically the same from the websites. I thought we needed to purchase tickets online to get the discounts. However, they honored AAA at the ticket booth and we got even better deals than they offered online. The ships were on time; the staff was courteous; and the ships were great. For all the choices between the different ferry operations, we were glad to have chosen Sheplers – we couldn’t have hoped for a better experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.