We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lighthouse in the area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McGulpin's Point Lighthouse

McGulpin's Point Lighthouse
500 Headlands Drive., Mackinaw City, MI
Improve this listing
Type: Lighthouses, Landmarks
Attraction details
Michigan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Best Lighthouse in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a great lighthouse! The house itself is big and spacious and open to visitors...the lighthouse it not the tallest and doesnt take long to get to the top. It is pretty hot up there...and has a small door to get our onto the ledge. The view is lovely!

The cost is free! Donations are accepted. They have a small giftshop.

Parking is limited.

Right down the road you will find McGulpins Point Rock, just follow the dirt road down to the shore. The view from here is amazing. Perfect photo opp of the bridge and the water and there are no other people around!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    39
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Mackinaw's best kept secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We checked out McGuplin's lighthouse based on a recommendation from our server at one of the local restaurants, and were so glad we did! They are still in the process of restoring it- it is free (they request a donation to help with the continued restoration). They have several rooms restored and you can walk all the way up to the top of the lighthouse, and even outside around the light. The views are amazing. The grounds are beautiful, and there is a great path to the beach with beautiful views of the straits and the Mighty Mac bridge (along with the giant rock, which has been seen in reports as far back as the 1700's, and has often been used to measure the water levels of the lake). Skip the pricey Mackinaw lighthouse and go here instead.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Lesser Known Lighthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

McGulpin's Point Lighthouse makes a trip to the Straits just that little bit more special. It's not one of the better-known attractions but well worth a visit. You'll get some lovely views and to top it off, it's free!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Don't forget to visit the Rock!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The last time we were here we toured the lighthouse and skipped the beach, so this time we went down over the hill on the rutted road and parked on the stony beach.

Three years ago, the lighthouse had just opened for tours and almost nobody knew about the place, and we had it all to ourselves. In fact, my first review of the lighthouse was the first of its kind on Tripadvisor, back in 2010. Now, on August 1, 2013 the parking lot was full in front of the light.

If you venture down the dirt road to the lake, it's not a far walk, kind of steep. Plenty of ruts and bumpy if you drive, bottoming out your car. Getting down is one thing. There is no turning back until you get all the way down.

The views of the Straits and of the Mackinaw Bridge are great. There are some hiking paths into the forest there as well. For us the weather was perfect (again !). You can walk out into the water quite a ways but I don't know how deep it gets or how quickly it drops off. Sandals or flip flops are a must as this is NOT a sand beach, but very pretty. There were a few other folks around but all was quiet except for the passing of the waves. Coastal Michigan at its BEST !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the time to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This one is free with donation as they are just restoring it. Nice that you can go up in tower and out on walkway. Also cool is the big rock down on the shore.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGulpin's Point Lighthouse also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to McGulpin's Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGulpin's Point Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.