We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lighthouse tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shepler's Lighthouse Cruises

Shepler's Lighthouse Cruises
556 E. Central Avenue, Mackinaw City, MI
+1 231-436-5023
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lighthouses, Ships, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail the Straits of Mackinac! Sixteen historic lighthouses lie within easy cruising distance of Mackinaw City. Travel in comfort and safety on Shepler's spacious vessels during these fascinating tours. For close to three centuries, the Straits of Mackinac has been a vital nautical thoroughfare, providing passage between Lakes Huron and Michigan. But traveling its famed blue waters has not come without risk. Over the many decades, lighthouses were built to protect mariners from dangerous shoals and reefs. Each has a story to tell. Shepler's exclusive Lighthouse Cruises are voyages of discovery. Guests are treated to awe-inspiring views and the fascinating history surrounding these Great Lakes guardians.
Woodruff, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent lighthouse tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We've taken both the west and eastbound lighthouse cruises, with the Great Lakes Lightkeepers Association members narrating. Excellent photo opportunities, good historical background, all around a great afternoon cruise. Be prepared for a cool breeze off the chilly waters of the Straits of Mackinac!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    5
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“boat ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

the boat ride was good. the people on the boat were very nice. we rode on the first level on the way to mackinac island and the top on the way back to the city. the top was the best. if you sit close to the edge you will get a little wet.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easy Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The trip over to Mackinaw Island was easy. The staff was friendly, professional, and efficient. We enjoyed great views of the bridge, Lake Huron, and Mackinaw Island.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply, the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Fantastic job. Always on time. Experienced and polite. The polished staff and well groomed yachts are nothing less than a pleasure to ride. A classic fun experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ionia, MI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The staff is so nice and went out there way to make sure we were safe and comfortable. The waters were smooth for our trip. They were on time for our trip to the Island and on time for our trip back to Mackinaw City. The staff helped those with bikes make sure that they safely got their bikes on board and even offered a Mackinaw Island book for $2.00 that had a map of the island that was very helpful for us that day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepler's Lighthouse Cruises also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Shepler's Lighthouse Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shepler's Lighthouse Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.