We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bikers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capri Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Capri Motel to your Saves list
Capri Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   801 S Nicolet Street, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Mondovi, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bikers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I rode our cycles to Michigan and stayed here. The rooms were older but still clean and the price was great. We did not swim so outdoor pool was no big deal to us. The staff was great not a big breakfast but was good every day. We stay at places to sleep,shower, and watch some tv. We were able to do this with no problems. It is far enough away from the town to be quiet but close enough if you needed to run to town it was just a few minutes. We felt safe and did not worry about anybody messing with our cycles. We do plan on going back again and WILL be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you are not the type of person that needs all the extras this is the place for you. If you need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed one night at the Capri. Gentleman manager(not the young lady mentioned in other review) was very friendly and helpful. We stayed here due to price before going to Mackinac Island. Room was old, and bathroom floor was sticky. Wi-Fi only worked in the office and pool was clean,but very cold. As with many other places in Mack City the Capri is tired, but the prices charged at the newer waterfront hotels are a crime.

It was OK for one night. Did not use the shower, but the door did CLOSE. THERE are other places nearby, but THEIR prices are much higher.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton,Mi.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

very clean room . Freindly manager. price was very good for being near a resort town. it is also near a bike trail to go to town. I plane on using that next trip with my wifes mobility scooter and I will walk it. There is three steps to get into the room, but my wife was able to handle them okay with her walker. They do have a continental breakfast for bagels, ceareal and juice. I went to fast food half mile down the road. Basic over nighter, no frills!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is a 28 or 29 room no frills seasonal motel. The on-site manager is the only employee and I believe he would go out of his way to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

If you're looking for spacious rooms, modern furniture, alarm clocks, or flat screen TVs, then you should check out one of the more expensive hotels in the area. But for less than $60 a night you get a clean room, a shower with a lot of water pressure, and great place to lay your head.

I will stay at the motel again, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is sick , their is splotches all over the carpet the air conditioner doesnt work and it has a horrible musky smell and the beds are like rocks and the bathroom door didnt even clothes , the only good thing is the shower the shower is really high pressure and it gets warm fast , but if you have another choice go their not here this place is not worth the money !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,078 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,246 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stopped at this mom and pop motel about midnight on a Thursday night. It said OPEN in bright lights. We pulled up to a lighted office, with no one in it and locked doors. The phone next to the door had instructions to call for service. OK. I called and the lady on the phone was very friendly and quoted us a price of $45. Fine with us. We were only staying the one night. About 10 minutes later, up walked a young lady (16 to 20 maybe), with an angry look on her face with an attitude to match. She yanked open the door and it was obvious she had been sleeping. I tried to make light of it by asking her if I had woken her and she said, "Yes, that is right, I WAS sleeping." Well, excuse me. She told us we could not park our car/camper in front of our room, or along the pool, as it would block the other guests' cars. Not so. She said we'd have to unhitch in the "back" in the "grass" somewhere. No room to do that, either. We just parked along the picnic area and didn't block anyone from their room or parking lot in general. She also stated 10 AM was the check out time as they need to do business the next day. OK..

Our room was very basic-everything worked OK though. Shower pressure was excellent. Basic towels, bed was comfortable. No alarm clock-so who is going to wake us up in time to leave at 10 AM? We called the office-but it doesn't ring through. We called the motel's number and it went again to the nice lady at the beginning of our stay. Apparently, a series of motels has a nighttime operator answer their calls for them and then she must call whomever is working that particular motel's desk that night. I told her of my experience and she said she would let them know about a wake up call at 8: 30 AM and that not to worry about leaving right at 10 AM. We never got the wake up call and we left by 10:15 AM. When we dropped off the key the next morning, another young lady was working and she didn't say a word to us.

So, service was terrible, rooms are fair-definitely older motel that could use a bit of a spruce up. Nice grounds and very nice pool. Small picnic area with a BB grill and swings. I stayed here a few times as a child and have fond memories of it. Good parking lot-recently repaved, or so it looks. Clean. Minimal continental breakfast-don't bother with the watered down orange juice though-horrible. Coffee not much better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Rooms are basic and not very clean. Rooms are from the 70's. This is what you get in Mackinac for $58 a night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.3 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#26 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn Mackinaw City
Baymont Inn Mackinaw City
#3 of 41 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Starlite Budget Inns
Starlite Budget Inns
#18 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 41 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Motel
Rainbow Motel
#6 of 41 in Mackinaw City
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motel

Address: 801 S Nicolet Street, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Capri Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Capri Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capri Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.