We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place...Great price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rainbow Motel to your Saves list
Rainbow Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   602 South Huron Avenue, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Clair, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place...Great price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stopped in Mackinaw on a motorcycle trip around lake huron. It wasnt a planned stop and just wanted to find a nice room for the night. The price was excellent! A room for $55 in Mackinaw is unheard of and when your on the road for a few days, its refreshing to find a nice, clean room for under $100 bucks! Our room was great! it was clean and had a king size bed. We like family owned establishments that are older and well cared for. It is a quaint place , older furishings but I thought it was adorable! We stopped across the street first, luckily they were booked because I would have been upset if I paid triple the price and missed out on this family own motel! Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
La Porte, IN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I along with another couple stayed here Aug. 12th for 4 days. We encountered the most friendliest people and the cleanest motel we have ever stayed at. I checked with the local health dept. and found this motel has the highest rating of ALL the motel/hotel in Mackinaw City. The entire staff is always there to help with anything that you may need. If you ask, it is done ASAP. This is our place to stay when we come back to Mackinaw. No question about it!!

Room Tip: They do not offer a breakfast, but you save so much $$ over the other hotels around, you can eat at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdh1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
203 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and really were happy. It is not like the large ones across the street. There is no lake view or lake front. But the grounds are well maintained with very pretty flowers. There are yard swings throughout the property, a small swing set and a little putting green. The pool is indoors and is not too cold. There were an indoor and outdoor hot tub. The one outside was not that warm but the inside one was fine. Check in was quick and the people that work there are very friendly, especially the woman in the morning. Our room was adequate. There is no modern decorations. It is dated but it was very clean. Plus the beds were ultra comfortable for us. It looks like a motel from when I was a kid. Sort of retro. There is a very small fridge, and microwave. Plus the TV has many channels but it is not HD. Just an ordinary TV. The bathroom would be my only complaint. I am spoiled but bigger bathrooms. This is very small. But I did find the pink and burgandy tile charming. Only 1 person could fit at a time but we managed just fine. If someone were a large person they would have problems. Not sure if all their bathrooms are the same. At least it was clean. There is no breakfast, just coffee. But with all the money you save staying here go get your own breakfast just down the street. This place is within easty walking distance to the ferry, downtown and many restaurants. If I was in this area again I would definitely consider staying here again. The price was great.

Room Tip: If you need handicap facilities I would ask as the bathroom would never hold a wheelchair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2gothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

After staying at two other motels on our trip the Rainbow was a breath of fresh air!! Clean room, nice staff, great pool and whirlpool. Very quiet area and beds were comfy. Would definately stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoralDebG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Love this place! Wouldnt want to stay any other place! Staff is so friendly, rooms are clean and its a great location! Price is always reasonable, and its family owned. Coffee in the morning and the pool is awesome!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, MI
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I take exception to what some people have said, such as Motorcycle Treveler 42 by saying the rooms are very small and you bump into yourself if you turn around. We're a return guest to this charming and friendly and conveniently located establishment and plan to return there again next year and bring friends from NJ and New Zealand with us to enjoy the area. Yes, the rooms are small, but they're not SMALL! My husband and I had room 25 I believe it was, the last time we stayed there (the very end one to the right of the pool area) and it's small but there's a table for 2, the dresser, the bed w/TV and fridge and we had a cooler in the room as well and still room to walk in the room. Bathroom is small but certainly functional and fine for 2 people. If people want the ambiance of what's across the street in the larger hotels, then go there but you'll be paying around $40 more per night (at least) and while they do serve a buffet breakfast, if there's 1 or 2 of you, would you be spending $40 for breakfast? I think not. If so, then by all means, head to those hotels. But if you would rather put that money to other things while visiting the area, then pack a cooler and head to Rainbow Motel (and no, I'm not a relative or family friend promoting for them) and enjoy their very nice grounds and indoor pool and hot tub and the friendliness of the staff. And for the person who said they found hair in their bed and a bug crawling on the wall, do you think your hair hasn't been left behind in some places? Probably. And as for bugs, why is it so hard to pick up the phone and call the front desk and report this so they can bring in Orkin or someone to spray? So often people come to these boards and gripe about what went wrong but they rarely contact the front desk about it. Management would be happy to solve the problem right then and there, and then, if they don't, request a different room or a refund and check out, simple as that. We've done it before ourselves. Why do people get upset when a room isn't large? It's not like they're sitting in the room all day and night. They're there in the late evening probably and to sleep. And speaking of beds, they had a wonderful new pillow top mattress in our room and the pillows were very good. Who needs a large room for this, unless you have more than 2 people and we've stayed in their room with 2 beds and the room was quite spacious as was their bathroom. Rainbow Motel will definitely see us again next year. I hope you'll give it a try and "judge for yourself."

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RosieTholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This little gem was located after spending the night in another of the bigger names of which the room rated about a 2... We stopped by chance on the way back from breakfast and took one of the small cabins which on my scale was a 5 out of 5 and the price was half what the other room was and will be the place of stay for me any time i come back. The front desk hospitality was nothing short of perfection and the old fashion friendship.... We all too many times rely on the big name conglomerates and forget the little ones.... well my thoughts have changed and a 5 star rating in todays world goes to the Rainbow Motel....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranger_keith51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn Mackinaw City
Baymont Inn Mackinaw City
#4 of 41 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#14 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Address: 602 South Huron Avenue, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rainbow Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Venere so you can book your Rainbow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing