We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One reason...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Line Mackinac Island Ferry

Star Line Mackinac Island Ferry
711 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI
800-638-9892
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ferries/ Boats
Attraction Details
Midland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One reason...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I think all 3 ferry lines cost about the same. I picked this one for our trip from Mackinaw City to Mackinac Island simply because it has the latest return run of 10:30. We sat on the inside on the way to the island and at the very top coming back; both were pleasant rides.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    39
    9
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Trip to Mackinac Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The shuttle service was very good - didn't wait long for a shuttle as the main parking lot was full. The boats come every 1/2 hour on time - did not wait long to board. Some of the cruises during the day include under the Mackinac Bridge.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We used Star Line to get to Mackinac for week long stay. Staff will help in any way they can -- took luggage from car to boat, parked car (we valeted the car), etc. I use a walker, and the staff on the dock and on the boat made sure I safely alighted and departed the boat using the ramp, and made sure I safely got to/from my seat on the boat. Boat is nothing fancy, is a bit loud, but serves its purpose -- to get you to/from Mackinac Island!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackinacFerry, Manager at Star Line Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad your visit went so well. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed !!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I wanted to take our grandchildren on the sunset cruise scheduled for July 1, 2013 and were told Star cancelled it because they decided that most people only wanted to go on the 4th of July. Well we are not most people, I have to work July 4th as a nurse and our Grand kids were extremely upset as this was cancelled at the last minute by Star. I could see if weather was bad or, waves choppy or even if the sun forgot to set, but no everything was beautiful yesterday, Star just didn't want to stick to their own published schedule. all I can say is if you are planning on taking any of their trips don't expect it to be set in stone as their schedule is purely a suggestion or whim on their part

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackinacFerry, Manager at Star Line Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We do apologize for the cancellation of the cruise. There were circumstances beyond our control. It is not our policy to cancel cruises or departures. We take pride in providing great service and on time departures. Did you call to make a reservation? Our cruises sell out prior to departure most of the time. Please feel free to give us a call and we would like the opportunity to make this better for you. Customer service is a priority to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very simple and accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We ordered tickets online and changed our departure date. No problem. Then we left a stroller on the island and had the bike rental shop take it to the ferry to put it on the next ferry. No problem either. We had a great experience!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MackinacFerry, Manager at Star Line Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are glad that you took the time to write a review. Thanks again for choosing Star Line for your Mackinac Island transportation. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Line Mackinac Island Ferry also viewed

 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Star Line Mackinac Island Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Line Mackinac Island Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Star Line Mackinac Island Ferry to your Saves list