We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh it was a hole in the wall bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Key Hole Bar

Key Hole Bar
323 E Central Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9701
231-436-7911
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Mackinaw City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eh it was a hole in the wall bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I asked for a medium rare burger and was served a medium well burger. Yes they did give me a free pint for the mistake. Service was too quick.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    132
    36
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laingsburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

During our visit to Mackinaw we took a survey of the local people to see which place had the best burgers in town. The Key Hole won. So we went there. What can I say, we weren't disappointed. Like my son says, this place has better food than a bar should have.
The prices are reasonable and the wait staff is friendly. We will go again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Good service & great burgers. Would definately go back!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Finger Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

While we were up at Mackinaw City this past weekend, my wife got in the mood for finger foods for dinner. So, based on the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to try the Key Hole Bar. We just ordered take out food, but man, it was so good. We got the mini tacos, chicken strip, fries, onion rings and potatos skins (this was to feed a family of 5). All this cost under $40. Everything was great. The mini tacos was some of the best I had in a long time. My wife loved the onion rings. My sons loved the chicken tenders. So, if you're in the mood for some finger foods, this is the place to go.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise in a tourist area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Fast service, good food, friendly wait person. Large beer selection on tap, extensive menu. Try the Passion burger if you like green olives. Delicious!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key Hole Bar also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Key Hole Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Hole Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.