We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy fish and chips, great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scalawag's Whitefish & Chips

Scalawag's Whitefish & Chips
226 East Central, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
+1 231-436-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 47 Restaurants in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Specializing in Great Lakes fish including whitefish, perch and walleye. Lightly battered and fried in a canola corn oil. Zero cholesterol and zero trans-fats. We also offer chicken tenders and array of sandwiches. Our chowder is homemade and prepared New England style. Kids menu, outside dining, groups welcome. Take a bite out of the great lakes.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy fish and chips, great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This turned out to be my favorite place to eat in Mackinaw City. Delicious lunch for a decent price in a tourist town full of overpriced restaurants. We had the whitefish reuben and the whitefish and chips basket. Fish was fresh as could be, well battered and fried. Fries were crispy. The reuben consisted of two small fried filets with swiss on a dark rye bun with a specially dressed coleslaw. The slaw was an excellent substitute to the traditional saurkraut of a real reuben because it didn't overwhelm the delicate flavor of the fish. Only thing we didn't like was the tartar sauce which was different than most other tartar sauces we've had so it tasted off. Inside is well decorated and they also have outdoor seating.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    60
    32
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great whitefish meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I had lunch here on labor day weekend, and was I pleased with the food and price. I had the two piece whitefish dinner with two sides for eight dollars. The best fish I ate all weekend, coleslaw was good, hush puppies were dry. I ate outside , and enjoyed the casual dining . Located back in a recessed cubbie in downtown mackinaw it is nice and quiet. I like that every table has malt vinegar and cocktail sauce. I will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“This is the place to go for fish and chips.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

After walking around looking at menus, I returned based strictly on price. I decided to try the whitefish over the walleye because I have heard good things about it but have never tried it. I found the two piece dinner to be more than enough and extremely tasty. Service was fast but inside tables were hard to find on this cold evening.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Better Than Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We eat here on every trip to Mackinac Island. As usual, we got the Whitefish Baskets and were not disappointed. The fish was hot and tasty, really excellent and the staff great. We have never had a bad Whitefish meal here!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Must eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Scalawags has the best fish, fries, and coleslaw!
Nothing more needs to be said...
Don't forget to drop some coins in the tip jar for the hard working staff at Scalawags.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scalawag's Whitefish & Chips also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Scalawag's Whitefish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scalawag's Whitefish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.