We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   929 South Huron Avenue, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at Mackinaw Beach and Bay a couple of times and always enjoy our stay there. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly. The room is ideal for families with kids (kids on one side, parents on the other). The kids loved the pool. The breakfast is great (and free)! The last time we stayed there was over the Memorial Day weekend and we watched the fireworks over the water from our balcony - beautiful. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    118
    53
    18
    15
See reviews for
180
136
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place has it all - view, pool, hot tub, breakfast, and great value! We got a two room suite. Our son's room had a queen bed, flat screen t.v., and loveseat. Our room had a king bed, chair, flat screen t.v. and a beautiful view of the lake. You could also see the Mackinac Bridge and ferries that go to the island. The rooms were separated by the bathroom. There was a fridge, microwave and sink in the space between the two rooms. The sunrise and sunset were nice to watch along with the geese on the beach below. We had a balcony with two chairs and a table. The pool was huge and they also had a workout room with treadmills and an elliptical machine. The ride to the ferry boat was less than 5 minutes, and downtown wasn't much more than that. The countertops were granite and the beds were very comfortable. This was the best part as I have a very hard time finding a comfortable bed on vacation. The price for these accommodations was unbelievably low (less than $100/night!). You can get some great deals on the web. We've stayed in dumps that charged what this place does. The breakfast was a pretty good variety (scrambled eggs, biscuits/gravy, waffles, and the other usual breakfast fare). This is by far one of the best hotels we've stayed in. Much cheaper than staying on the island and a beautiful view.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lake view - you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My title about says it all. Seems as if there are no truly 'luxurious' places in Mackinaw City--lots of cookie-cutter hotels...While this place is along those lines, the rooms are HUGE. I was expecting our 'suite' to be a bedroom with a divider and a pull-out sofabed, but I was wrong...There was a bedroom (with a great view of Lake Huron) and the 'parlor' room had another king size bed, PLUS a sofa (which would pull out into a 3rd bed in the room). All rooms have an ocean view.

I believe all of the rooms are suites, but I don't think all of them have the second full bed...You might want to confirm with the hotel if you need 3 beds (we didn't).

The only semi-down side were the TVs. Yes, the suite had 2 flat-panel TVs, but they were pretty small--not quite appropriately-sized for the size of the room...But sure beat an old tube TV, that's for sure!

Everything was well appointed, the front desk staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, and the breakfast (included) was palatable...Similar to what you'd get at a Hampton Inn--continental, plus a few hot items like scrambled (powdered) eggs and make-your-own waffles.

We were there for business and secured their conference room for our event. It was huge, a great value for the size, and suited us perfectly for our four days there.

We'll be back next year for our event at the same place, and look forward to returning to MB&B!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here during a recent trip for our anniversary. We were so pleased. From the minute we checked in, until the minute we left - everything was terrific. The rooms are very spacious, clean and set up just perfectly. The private balcony with chairs is perfect to watch the sunrise over Lake Huron. The private beach (complete with a fire pit) adds to the surprise. Take your blanket and sit on the balcony and RELAX!! We had a view of the bridge that is awesome at night, a terrific view of fireworks, and Mackinaw Island. The pool area is great, very large pool, "fountain", game room, exercise room, etc. My only complaint was the hot tub needs to be larger! The breakfast was great, and the breakfast room is large enough to accomodate everyone. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view. 1st floor has immediate access to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford, Mi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights a week ago and had a great stay. We had a lake-side, two bedroom suite with a private patio. I am SO MUCH a morning person and I LOVED to watch the amazing sunrises over the lake from my bed and from the patio. But it was chilly outside and the seagulls wanted food I didn't have and they squacked loudly in protest. Hahaha! The room had two flat screen TVs and a DVD player. The bed was very comfortable too and I'm spoiled by having a memory-foam, pillow top mattress at home. VERY nice bathroom/shower. I LOVE that they replace the shower curtains between visitors! Very clean room. They provided a nice continental breakfast especially for being off season! I didn't use the pool, but I was curious what it looked like, so I wandered down the long hallway to it..... it looks old and and It needs an update, but I would have taken a swim if I was in that mood/mode. All in all I would stay here again without any concerns. The staff was polite and helpful but I'm not one who needs a lot of help from them once I check in. The room had everything and we needed.
This isn't a knock against the hotel, but it needs to be mentioned...... Lake Huron water levels are dropping. I'm sure the beach here was beautiful before that all happened. All the other lakeside hotels have the same issue though..... no nice beaches anymore. All that considered.... I will stay here next time I'm in Mackinaw

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caro, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Friendly Service, Large rooms, Water Front Balcony, awesome breakfast. They have a family area with a game room, indoor pool and hot tub. All rooms are on the lake side, so every room has lakefront balconies. Over all 5 stars

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The whole family enjoyed this place. Each room had its own beachfront balcony, the rooms were spacious and clean! The beds were very comfortable...it was a great setup for families. There is a master bed that is seperated by the bathroom from the kids sleeping area, so the kids can watch their own tv at night! The breakfast was wonderful. Waffles, eggs, cereal, and more. The pool and spa was clean and the kids loved to visit it every night before bed. they have bonfires and chairs on the beach and you can see the bridge from the beach...very nice! The staff was great. We plan on coming to this hotel every year when we visit mackinaw.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites

Address: 929 South Huron Avenue, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackinaw Beach And Bay - Inn And Suites
Mackinaw Beach And Bay Hotel Mackinaw City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.