We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn Mackinaw

Budget Inn Mackinaw
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Inn Mackinaw to your Saves list
Budget Inn Mackinaw
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701 (Formerly Anchor Inn and Suites Mackinaw City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Glenpool, Oklahoma, USA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ok place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Room was ok--not overly clean but tolerable. the 2nd room couldn't get the a/c into it so we had to ask for a fan. Would have been nice to open the windows but since they had no screens and we were on the 2nd floor, decided that was no good. Needs quite a bit of upkeep done but hopefully it will be done--staff was very helpful and pleasant.
The name has changed on this hotel AGAIN....the sign out front doesn't match the sign on the building, which doesn't match the sign piled up in the back parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    4
    2
    10
See reviews for
12
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on accident..the hotel we originally booked did not have a late check in and was closed when we got to town. This place was open, friendly, and had a room for us after 1 in the morning. As we got in so late we didn't take advantage of the pool or any other amenities, but overall we were pleased with the value of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We ended up arriving at our destination early and could not get the extra night next door. This hotel is under new management and was a pleasant surprise, the rate was great, staff was very friendly, room was clean and it had a nice pool area. One suggestion, book rooms directly, it is much less expensive, the hotel gets more out of room and you pay less that going through expedia sites (where you pay an additional 20-30%, the hotel gets less for the room and expedia gets to rip you off for a bundle...)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel and it was pleasant experience. The hotel is under new management. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpfull. The room was very clean and spacious. We really enjoyed the entire stay. The breakfast in morning was very nice with hot waffle. We will come back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This hotel room we stayed in smelled terrible.There was mold all over the walls and ceiling.No hand soap no bath soap there was shampoo one packet on the sink and one in the shower..The bed was on a frame too small for the mattress.The carpet was water mark stained.The cont. breakfast was frozen muffins and no cups for coffee.2 bagels no cream cheese no butter nothing.The front desk manager was very hard to understand his english was broken at best.Thank God we didnt get bed bugs.This place should be condemed it is the worst hotle ever!I made my husband look under the bed for a possible dead hooker the room stunk so bad.We had to have the window open and the AC on.......

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Booked 2 days and ended up cancelling the second day 24 hours ahead of time and the hotel told me that I had to do it through Hotels.com. Called hotels.com and they said I had to cancell with the hotel. By the time I talked to everyone at Hotels.com and everyone in Mackinaw County I was screwed and paid for 2 days even though I only stayed one and tried to cancel the second day 24 hours ahead of time. Hotel staff barely spoke English as well as the personnel at Hotels.com. Then I got my credit card bill today and the hotel charged me for a third day! I called the hotel and got NO WHERE!!
I would recommend anyone wanting to book this hotel think otherwise. NOT A GOOD IDEA!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Well, the highlights..... Clean room, working TV, working A/C and clean beds. Disgusting pool (Brown...... I swear they turned the tap on and let-er-rip!.... no hint of Chemicals).
Front desk lady was helpful, but foreign and slightly hard to understand. Breakfast was kinda a joke but what do you expect for bargain-basement prices in such a touristy area?

Wasn't expecting much and it met my expectations. Would I come back? Yes....... but after exhausting all other options first.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.0 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#22 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn Mackinaw City
Baymont Inn Mackinaw City
#3 of 41 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 stars 877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Starlite Budget Inns
Starlite Budget Inns
#18 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 41 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#33 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn Mackinaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Mackinaw

Address: 138 Old US 31, Mackinaw City, MI 49701 (Formerly Anchor Inn and Suites Mackinaw City)
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Budget Inn Mackinaw 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Budget Inn Mackinaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn And Suites Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn Mackinaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.