We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two buildings, two completely different stories...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Beach Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunrise Beach Motel to your Saves list
Sunrise Beach Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   11416 W. U.S. 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Minot, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Two buildings, two completely different stories...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel inhabits two different buildings very close together. We had a room in each.

The first room, Room 3 closer to 'Bells Melody' was clean enough. The bathroom smells funky, and in order to open the window you have to take down the screen. The water pressure was good, but the temperature was not consistent. I will say we were pleasantly surprised that we booked a queen room and received a queen and a twin. (Came especially in handy with me and my two teen-aged brothers sharing a room.) The AC unit is plugged into the wall with extension cords and a surge strip, definitely a fire hazard and it doesn't even work to cool the room. The beds are also a bit stiff, although they were still nice. We paid $79.99/night for this room, and I would say that we overpaid.

However the second room was a GEM! It was room 131 which had a lake view (Lake Huron.) IT IS GORGEOUS!! Spacious, Two Queens. A Minifridge. Two chairs and a table. The bathroom was okay, had a heat lamp to help ease the pains of cold showers. Water pressure was lacking. It has a beautiful view of the lake and the bridge. The room had a sliding door with a small wooden deck and to the right there is a fire pit and swing set. The AC in that room does work, although we never used it because having the sliding door open and the window open created a chilly, but beautiful, cross breeze. We paid $129.99/night for that room and I feel it was well worth it.

The property as a whole could use some TRUE updates. It is not a secret that there have been a lot of things patched up over the years but it's definitely time to get some of these projects truly completed. The pool was awesome (one of the reasons I booked the room, honestly,) but again, needs some serious updating. Breakfast over at Bell's Melody is a little inconvenient but at the same time, it's okay because I can bring it back to my room to continue getting ready. WiFi is pretty weak, but usable. Over all, I would recommend it but there are some properties I would like to try first when I come back to Mackinaw City.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room, it's well worth the extra few dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great place to stay, it was quiet, the room was clean and it was close to the ferry to Mackinac Island (about a five minute drive away). Also it was cheap! A definite plus. Wifi was a bit weak when you have a tablet away from the office but this was a minor issue, it *was* however faster than I expected. Overall, a great find for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock MI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

A clean facility but that ends it. Breakfast available for two motels had about 8 tables is all.
Air conditioner made noise but did not cool. A disappointment. Cheap though. They do have pricier rooms. They may have been acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We purposely stayed here because other tripadvisor ratings said it was clean and affordable. And it was! Owners were very nice and suggested restaurants, places to go, etc.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here when we went to Mackinac Island. Reasonably priced. We had a clean room with 2 queen beds. Our room had a balcony that overlooked the Straights, Mackinac Island, and Mackinac Bridge. My daughter loved the swim in and out pool. There is a small playground for the kids. There are also BBQs available for the beach. The beach was nice for walking on however the lake was low so the water was pretty stagnant close to shore. It was like that in front of all the hotels on this side. If you sleep with the patio door open, the seagulls will serenade you in the morning. However, it was a beautiful sunrise! They had the usual continental breakfast of cereal and biscuits and gravy. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Very nice for a mote with a geat view of the Mackinac Bridge! We stayed here last summer in August when we went to Mackinac Island. The rooms here are kind of old but still affordable & clean. If you go out the sliding door you can go right to the water/sand. The rooms on the upper levels have balconies. The kids loved the indoor/outdoor pool and there is also breakfast available. We loved going to sleep having a wonderful view of the bridge!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Clean. Good location. On beach. Nice for children. Rooms were old but clean and nice. Susan was great with information for a place to eat and things to see in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Motel

Address: 11416 W. U.S. 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunrise Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.