We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bread and pesto were out of this world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodfellow's Italian Chop House

Goodfellow's Italian Chop House
One Huron Street, Lake View Hotel, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
(906) 847-0260
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The bread and pesto were out of this world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and we had a very good meal. The Michigan white fish was fresh, tender and delicious. BUT the best part of the meal was the homemade pesto and warm sourdough bread that accompanied our meal - that alone made the meal worth the trip! Our waitress Lisa was friendly, attentive, and helpful. Loved her!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    78
    37
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Good took forever! And the place was pretty empty, I wasn't allowed to get a diffrent dressing on my salad. Steaks not cooked like we asked. I sucked it up and ate anyway, for the money we spent there are far better options. Staf seemed to not really care or didn't wanna be at work.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great meal and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stopped in to get a decent meal for us and 3 kids.
Some of the restaurant's on the island have horrible kids menus.
We found this restaurant with diverse choice, which is something
I am willing to pay.

We were seated on the front patio overlooking the main street.
Our server, Lisa M. could not have done a better job.
After having biked all day and dealing with kids (yes I said it), Lisa M.
attended our table to a near perfection. Bread, soda, beer...whatever we needed,
she was there to take care of us.

The tip of 20% was included on the final bill. I am not kind to automatic gratuity.
I would have given her 30% tip, but since I had to charge the $100 plus bill.. I was not splitting
the tip.

We were very happy with the food and service. Recommend to everyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had lunch at Goodfellow's after riding bikes for a few hours. The service was good and the food was tasty. We got the Turkey Reuben and the Turkey Panani and both agreed that the Turkey Reuben was the best of the two (even though they were both very good!!) We would eat here again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great food and view from front porch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was the most expensive place we ate on the island during our 2 night stay. We did not eat at the Grand Hotel or any of their specialty places. We ordered Perch with vegetables and a salad, and Roasted Vegetable Lasagna with a salad. We also tried a few glasses of wine. We bought an unopened bottle of wine at retail price (half price on menu) to take home with us. Better quality wine than the little grocery store on Main Street. Good service.

We also sat in the bar side that has a door off a side street, not the main street stairway entrance. We stopped in for a few drinks the day before we ate here. Nice big bar plus tables.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodfellow's Italian Chop House also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Goodfellow's Italian Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodfellow's Italian Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.