We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food, bad service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mary's Bistro

Mary's Bistro
7643 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
906-847-9911
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad food, bad service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were seated on the patio where 2 other couples were eating. It took 15 minutes for the waitress to arrive because she was flirting with the grill cook (which was right in front of us as they grill out on the patio). When the food was cooked, it sat on the counter for 10 minutes - we were looking at it - while this time the waitress flirted with the bartender. When she did finally bring over the two hamburgers, they were well done when we had ordered medium rare.

I would not eat here again as there are many other fabulous options on the island where the food is good and/or the service acceptable. Even one of the above would have salvaged this experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    84
    31
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had lunch on the patio the food was good and the atmoshere was pleasant. I would recommend Mary's for lunch while on the island

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best pizza I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I ordered a basil & tomato pizza, and it was INCREDIBLE! Also had a brownie for dessert and it hit the spot. This place is expensive but really good. Definitely worth the money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuver, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food, though a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Mary's has creative menu choices and very tasty food, but it's rather pricey. The menu items and prices bring to mind a gourmet spot, but it IS a bistro and that's the atmosphere you'll be getting. The best part about Mary's in my opinion is the ability to sit out on the back deck right on the water, which you *surprisingly* can't do at very many places on the island. This has always been puzzling to me, but you can dine on the water here!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puddleduckie
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“BLTA Panninni!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

If you like a great sandwich I heartily recommend their Bacon Lettuce, Tomato, and Avocado Panninni... It's to kill for. Service is a little slow compared to the other places on the island, but that food is worth the wait.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary's Bistro also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Mary's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.