We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Market Street Inn
Save
You added Market Street Inn to your Saves list
PO Box 224, 4973 Market St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Galesburg, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We only stayed for one night, but found Market St. Inn to be clean, well run and well staffed. Quiet location, close but a block off the hustle. Would go back anytime! Fairly priced for the location. Good location for historical interests and great restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
104
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taylorsville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary and I can't say enough good about the Market Street Inn. Mackinac is fabulous for a getaway anyway, but this place is the best. The staff are personable and attentive and helpful and there are so many thoughtful extras. There's hot water for hot drinks all the time, cookies and fudge every afternoon, candy at bedtime, a fridge to use and baggies and a marker for the food you put in it! We were given complimentary tickets to the Butterfly House and also a bottle of champagne because it was our anniversary.... the breakfast while simpler than many B&Bs was still delicious. The cinnamon rolls were wonderful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimondale, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Market Street Inn! Kristen was so wonderful to us and we had great fun talking and laughing with her. She gave us great tips about where to eat, and she keeps all of the menus of the island restaurants in her parlor so that you can make the best choice. I think the location of the inn is superb! It is one block back from the main street, yet right around the corner from all the shops, and right next to the walk up to the fort. It was so close to everything, but with a sense of peace. From the window of our room we could look right up to the fort, which I loved. The breakfast was fine for the two morinngs we were there, but it is more like a continental breakfast -- we have been accustomed to an entree at B&Bs where we have stayed in the past. But I must say that it is very nice that they serve it to you personally at your table in the morning, and the courtyard was a nice setting. The staff is happy to get you whatever you want if you ask. We stayed in one of the queen rooms, and we knew from the online photos that it would be small, so we were fine with that. The window air conditioner and the ceiling fan kept the room very cool. The shower is very small -- of course they did the best they could with the space they had in an old house -- but just something to note. We did have the chance to look in one of the king rooms, and it was very nice -- much more spacious! I would definitely recommend a king room if one is available. Thank you to Kristen and her staff for the lovely hospitality!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My fiancé and I wanted to celebrate our engagement on Mackinac Island, and Market Street Inn was the perfect choice. We were a little hesitant to stay at a Bed and Breakfast, but as soon as we saw how pretty it was from the top of the fort, those worries were gone! Kristen and her staff treated us like old friends from the moment we walked in the door, and you can see how much they love doing what they do through the excellent service, immaculate hotel, and beautiful property. We stayed in the King Jacuzzi Suite, Room 9 and it was absolutely beautiful. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on, the Jacuzzi was wonderful after a long day of exploring the island (trust me, it's a much welcome sight after biking or walking up some of those steep hills!), and they even provided a bottle of champagne to help us celebrate our engagement. The location is perfect, right behind Main Street and right next to Marquette Park, which gives you an easy walk to anywhere you want to go downtown, but without the noise of downtown! In the parlor, they have a very handy dining guide, with a separate lunch and dinner menu for every restaurant on the island. We really enjoyed exploring the island, but after seeing most of it our first day and part of the second, we really loved relaxing in the parlor and on the front porch playing cards and just watching the world go by. You can see the park and the historic American Fur Company Store from the front porch. It's like going back in time as you hear the horses and carriages go by. They also included free tickets to the Butterfly House, which is worth a stop if you have a spare half hour or so.The breakfast was delicious! We had breakfast on the patio the first day and in our room the second. I highly recommend the cinnamon roll and the fresh fruit! My fiance got the bagel the second day, that was great as well. They also had delicious fudge and cookies in the afternoon, which we took advantage of while sitting on the front porch. Overall, this was the best place we have ever stayed, and definitely the cleanest, and we can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi Suites are worth the price. Take advantage of the dining guide and staff recommendations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Kristen is the perfect hostess. From the moment we stepped through the door until we said our goodbyes four days later she and her staff were warm and accommodating. The rooms were not only picture perfect but wonderfully comfortable at the end of days filled with bicycling and walking. The location is one street off busy Main Street which made the Inn a quiet retreat. While we were there the Inn was filled with guests of all ages which included honeymooners, families and seniors, However, to our surprise the rooms were so quiet. It was nothing to see the different guests mingling on the porch, in the parlor or under the tree canopied garden courtyard. The Inn's special touches of fresh cookies, fudge and hot tea were appreciated between our many activities. We have told all of our friends to visit this beautiful island. And when they do, stay at Market Steet Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I try to stay at the Market Street Inn at least once a year. We have been going for our anniversary almost every year for the past ten years and we love it there. Our stay is always so peaceful and enjoyable. We always get the room with the jet tub jacuzzi and it is nice to relax after a day spent, walking, hiking and biking. Kristen is so wonderful and she always makes us feel special and takes great care of us. I recommend this Inn to anyone looking to stay at a quiet, peaceful B & B with a great breakfast and wonderful customer service. We are going to keep coming back to Market Street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I wanted to spend my 30th birthday on Mackinaw Island but we weren't sure where to stay as we haven't been there in several years. I did a little research, thought a bed and breakfast could be fun and came across Market Street Inn.

Our stay was PERFECT.

Kristen was a great host and her staff amazingly helpful and friendly. We stayed in the main level King Jacuzzi room which was the best idea I have ever made after spending a day walking, hiking, and biking. Our room was cute and clean and our bed was SO comfortable! (we even checked the tag on the sheets as we went and bought the same for our own bed when we got home!) We got to check in hours early, the staff immediately started giving us info on what to do, where to eat and lots of little tips. For breakfast you can choose to have it delivered to your room, the garden courtyard or the foyer room. We opted for the garden courtyard both mornings and it was so serene. A great choice for a smooth transition into the day!

We want to make this a yearly thing now. I can't envision staying anywhere else after having such a personal touch added to our mini vacation by these great people.

Room Tip: If you are an active person, go for the jacuzzi room to relax your muscles after a LONG day on the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Market Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Street Inn

Address: PO Box 224, 4973 Market St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the charming Market Street Inn on beautiful, historic Mackinac Island. Start your day with a complimentary breakfast served in your room, the parlor or our guests favorite, the garden courtyard. Built in 1900, each room awaits you with modern amenities yet with turn of the century charm. Located on quaint and quiet Market Steet, the front porch holds views of Fort Mackinac. A short walk around the corner and you are at the beginning of town where restaurants and shops abound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Market Street Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.