We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impromptu Great Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House

Carriage House
7485 Main Street, Hotel Iroquois on the Beach, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
+1 906-847-3321
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Impromptu Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had heard dining and most accommodations were quite mediocre on this island, so I had only made one reservation at The Woods prior to arriving for our Mackinac stay. We didn't want to miss the free Leo Kottke concert in the park at 7:30pm so we popped that afternoon while shooping the main street and were able to secure a early 5:30pm reservation for that same evening in the dining room. The view from this light, bright room is magical. The service was very good. And the meals and drinks were first rate. The cucumber drink was so refreshing. We both ha dthe same soup: Chilled Garden Vegetable Gazpacho. Our apps were: Lump Crab Tower with Fresh Salsa and Avocado; and Michigan Smoked Whitefish Cakes with Mustard Vinaigrette. Our entrees: Spinach and Garlic Ravioli Tossed with a Sundried Tomato Pesto, Artichoke Hearts, Asparagus Tips, and Jumbo Shrimp; and Orange Ginger Tofu with Asian Vegetables and Rice Noodles. We'd return in a heartbeat. And with only a few tables occupied so early, we'd return again at this hour since it was actually kind of nice and peaceful. A beautiful outdoor table would also be nice next time we reserve here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    34
    23
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“On the patio, with our dog - beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

It was a nice day, so we decided to try the patio. Awsome view of the harbor, the ferries, the water. Beautiful garden setting with tons of flowers, grass, comfy chairs, umbrellas, etc. the service (Kaitlin) was terrific - very attentive, timely and friendly. The food (Cobb salad, crab melt sandwich) which we shared was presented beautifully and very tasty. Our dog got some water and enjoyed lying on the patio near us. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinac Island, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Service, Sandwiches, and Location for Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My friend and I have been to the Carriage house for lunch twice now. The first time I had a grilled cheese panini, and today I had a crab melt sandwich. Both were very good. Make sure you try the peanut butter pie, it's magical! Our server Amber was very attentive and polite. She made sure to keep our glasses filled the entire time. Great service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We dined here and had a fabulous experience. I had the filet with bearnaise sauce, and they cooked it rare, like I requested.
My wife said the perch was also excellent. The service was efficient. I would come again... And again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not so special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We made reservations for Carriage House to dine at an outside, waterfront table. We were seated next to the main building at dusk. There were no candles on the tables to light up the evening. Our server was helpful with the menu items and efficient. The filet mignon was dry even though medium rare, the potatoes were basically just mashed although billed as something a bit more elaborate, the uninteresting side vegetables were a combination of brussel sprouts, snow peas and cherry tomatoes all tossed a bit in oil, but no seasoning and served lukewarm. For the cost and the billing as fine dining, the fare was pedestrian at best. It became chilly but a portable heater would not light up. The diners at the next table discussed each others foot/toenail habits for several minutes while we were trying to eat. We saved this restaurant for our last evening on the island as a special occasion, but were let down with a meal that I could have prepared in my own kitchen — and better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriage House also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.