We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yankee Rebel Tavern

The Yankee Rebel Tavern
1493 Astor St., Mackinac Island, MI 49757
906-847-6249
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Jenison, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We ordered the chicken pastry puff. So very good. Melted in your mouth. Big pieces of chicken with vegtables. Waiter very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    269
    148
    52
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't get it?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We are not sure how this restaurant has received such a high rating. We had a party of 4 and went to dinner around 5:30 on a Friday night, sat right down no waiting. No one was very friendly and our service person was far from inviting/nice. Our drink order was taken and delivered ok, I had lemonade which tasted like Kool-Aid. Salads and bread were ok. Two of my friends ordered the crusted white fish which was awful! Wet, mushey, smelly, like old frozen fish that had been microwaved. They sent it back which was exchanged for the pot roast with no trouble, however the chef did not take the time to apologize. Drinks were not refilled had to ask then wait even though the drink station was feet from our table. Over all bad experience will not go back or recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosslake
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Good service, excellent appetizer, salad and soup! Had the mushroom Brie soup, the Summer salad and the pot roast sliders, all were just terrific, spot on!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food for a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I got the ribs and the mac and cheese. Based on a recommendation from the waitress she suggested adding steak bites in with the mac and cheese. They both were absolutely wonderful but the ribs were definitely some of the best I have ever had. The service was great and the food delicious for a reasonable price!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have been here on 3 separate occasions this summer. Must have the ribs the BEST anywhere! Best bar-b-que sauce ever! Zak bartender awesome!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yankee Rebel Tavern also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Yankee Rebel Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yankee Rebel Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.