We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Mackinac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Mackinac
Save
You added Inn on Mackinac to your Saves list
6896 Main Street, PO Box 1716, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Jenison, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Real Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate to find a place to stay when we decided to get away at the last minute. We were even more glad that the Inn On Mackinac had a room available. We were pleasantly surprised, from the time the porter met us at the ferry dock to our leaving. This is a beautiful Victorian Inn with a friendly, helpful staff, spotlessly clean, well maintained, large spa with waterfall, great front porch to sit and watch the people and horses passing by, wonderful breakfast along with coffee and tea available all day, crackers and cheese early afternoon, and homemade cookies before bed. It is just on the edge of town so easy to get around with just enough activity to make it interesting but without the huge crowds. It has an elevator and good AC. There are lots of little sitting areas along with an outdoor patio surrounded by beautiful flowers. I hesitate to post this because we would like to keep it to ourselves...tried to stay on a second night but they were totally booked. The only thing I can think of to improve on this place is to replace the queen bed with a king...there was plenty of space in our room to hold this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    65
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
73
123
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

It is close enough to town to be convenient yet far enough away to be your own private place. The porch is a great place to sit and people watch as the horses clip clop down the road. This was my 15th or 16th trip staying there and it has all the feel of home

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Love staying here! I stay here over and over. The breakfast is great and goes nice and early till 1030! Lemonade cheese and crackers thiughout the day fir you The best cookies delievered every night is the best part!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

You have got to stay here!!! We try to stay at least once a year & it is so nice.. So relaxing to sit on the wrap around porch while the horses go by. Or chilling out in the huge hot tub/pool.. The breakfasts are always amazing also...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stay at the Inn every time we go to the island. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast is good, and we love relaxing on the porch. But what keeps us coming back is the excellent service we receive there. The staff is always extremely friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our first visit to the island and it was last minute, so there weren't a lot of options around town. Luckily for us, this was a great location. We had great views of the water, boats, and light house, but just far enough away from the bustle of the clubs and pubs (the island is 8 miles around, so nothing is "far"). I booked the Victorian Turret room online, which is the 5th floor quiet room mentioned in other reviews. The space is larger than it appears in the photos (especially the bathroom). We had most of the windows open for a lovely breeze. We did get some street noise, but not enough to close them (horse hooves and loud passer-bys). Staff was very, very nice and everything was clean and well taken care of. The huge hot tub wasn't "hot" but warm enough to enjoy (probably because of liability reasons). Cookies at bedtime was a nice touch (although we had plenty of fudge) and the breakfast was very good (hot buffet style). The porter met us at the dock and took our luggage directly to our room, which was a nice bonus since we brought our own bikes ($8 on the ferry). It was nice to just ride over ... We were already on our adventure.

Room Tip: Recommend the Victorian Turret (5th floor, front of building) great views & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bay, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

hey if anyone sees this and is going to spend he night here, Great but if you are staying in room 211, please look for a little blue pouch with little roses on it. If you do find it, PLEASE don't open it, If found please call 303-519-0824. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Mackinac

Address: 6896 Main Street, PO Box 1716, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The year was 1867, an era of horse-drawn carriages and ladies in bustles. Blacksmiths were crafting horse shoes in glowing forges. During this height of Victorian culture, the Inn on Mackinac was built. Known then as Chateau Beaumont in memory of the famous Army surgeon at Fort Mackinac, the Inn on Mackinac has retained its quaint, old fashioned charm. The Inn’s facilities have been updated to meet the needs of the modern traveler while preserving its colorful history. Today, completely remodeled and redecorated, this beautiful Victorian Inn opens its doors, where the very special charm of our family-run Inn awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Mackinac Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel On Mackinac Island
Mackinac Bed Breakfast Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Mackinac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.