We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quaint and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Mackinac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Mackinac
Save
You added Inn on Mackinac to your Saves list
6896 Main Street, PO Box 1716, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lansing, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Very Quaint and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Inn is located just east of the busy downtown area and a short walk from the Marquette Park. It is very well run, clean and has very friendly staff. Their chocolate-mint and raspberry fudge, made on site is very good. Highly recommend staying at the Inn on Mackinac. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    64
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
73
124
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have stayed here twice and we really enjoyed it. This is a very family friendly place and most of the employees are very friendly and provide excellent customer service. The rooms can be small and the walls very thin, but that is something to be expected in this price range on the island. The breakfast is fantastic! The location is also very nice as it is a little away from everything. The pool is small, but it provided a nice getaway for our kids. We also enjoyed doing crafts (that we brought) and eating a picnic on the spacious front porch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Inn on Mackinac was a superb place to stay! Located right on the Main Street, it had everything you would expect from a B&B and more. The breakfast spread was very extensive! There was: bacon, eggs, sausage, potatoes, french toast, waffles, bagels, oatmeal (and fixings), cereal, fruit, and of course tea, coffee, hot chocolate, etc. Much more than I expected! During the day they put out platters of cheese and crackers, and pitchers of fresh lemonade, and at night they make chocolate chip cookies and deliver them to your room.

Our room was clean, spacious, and the toiletries they provided in the bathroom were Bath and Body Works brand. There are five floors, but there is an elevator for those who need it. On the third floor is a "heated spa pool" which was warm enough to swim in even though the temperature got down to 44 degrees the night we stayed. It was more like a pool sized hot tub, but it was fantastic!

I would definitely recommend the Inn on Mackinac to anyone going to visit the island! It was a beautiful place to stay, and in a fantastic location!

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor and had wonderful views of the harbor and Main Street. Our turret suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you are looking for a nice quint place to stay on the island away from the hustle and bustle, this is your place! It is located just outside of town but still within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. This was my first time staying on the island and I'm very happy I booked at the inn. The staff was very friendly and professional and accommodated all my needs. Very hot breakfast in the morning, and they even bring warm baked cookies in the evening. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The room & outside pool were beautiful, the staff was excellent & our time was enjoyable! The Inn on Mackinac is close to everything, very charming & affordable. We stay here every time we go to the island.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, MI
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just spent two nights at the Inn on Mackinac. This was our 20th time to visit the island and the second year in a row to stay at the Inn. We had a great time. The staff members were excellent to us and very accommodating-from the boat dock who carried our bags to the young women at the desk to other hotel workers; everyone was very friendly. Our room was exceptionally clean. The eating area is very inviting and had a variety of choices for breakfast. It was nice to have coffee, hot tea or hot chocolate available throughout the day.

The Inn on Mackinac is just far enough away from the downtown area to have a little less noise and people. The Inn has many interesting antiques, a very nice sitting area on the second floor, and a wrap around porch and a large hot tub located on the back of the hotel.

We will look forward to visiting the island again and to stay at the Inn on Mackinac.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Reservations made sight unseen and we were completely overwhelmed by the uniqueness of this establishment, the wonderful staff and helpful attitudes. The rooms were extremely clean, cozy and a lot of history to look over in the Inn. The breakfast buffet was incredible, away from the mainstream of traffic and delicious food. The pillows were a bit lumpy and the room we had could use a ceiling fan to circulate the air when the temperature is between the need for heat and air conditioning. Had the weather been warmer we would have used the porch and the beautiful spa on the third floor. We loved our experience and plan to return next year and bring the kids. Not a bad walk from downtown and considering the noise at night from the downtown activities, this Inn sits just far enough away to provide a solitude of peacefulness.

Room Tip: All are great, the turret rooms are a nice quite area, isolated from the others with a great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Mackinac

Address: 6896 Main Street, PO Box 1716, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The year was 1867, an era of horse-drawn carriages and ladies in bustles. Blacksmiths were crafting horse shoes in glowing forges. During this height of Victorian culture, the Inn on Mackinac was built. Known then as Chateau Beaumont in memory of the famous Army surgeon at Fort Mackinac, the Inn on Mackinac has retained its quaint, old fashioned charm. The Inn’s facilities have been updated to meet the needs of the modern traveler while preserving its colorful history. Today, completely remodeled and redecorated, this beautiful Victorian Inn opens its doors, where the very special charm of our family-run Inn awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Mackinac Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel On Mackinac Island
Mackinac Bed Breakfast Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Mackinac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.