We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn and Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Main Street Inn and Suites
P.O. Box 178, 7408 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at other hotels on Mackinac Island over the years, but found a real gem this time. Checked reviews on Trip Advisor and booked the Main Street Inn and Suites. Bright spacious room with charming decor, comfy bed, great bathroom. Service staff are all friendly from the luggage attendant (raised on the island) to the front desk. Room to store your bicycles at night on their lower level. Great location near ferries and shops.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    37
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
111
204
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

we stayed in mid Oct for a color watch trip further up north
just loved the hotel we had a standard room and it was lovely . Comfortable beds to be honest it was the only bed I slept in on our week long trip that I didn't wake up a sore back. Next time we go and there will be a next time I'm going for a suite toured one on the way out and they are just gorgeous with balconies facing the main st. Its a very small inn I think it had only had 18 rooms and 11 suites so be sure to book ahead.
Its right across the street from where the boats come in so it is convenient for getting to the hotel.
BEWARE of the time of the boat departures we missed the last boat coming to the island and had to fly in which was an experience itself and not all that much more money $56 for 2 there is an airport just outside of town and we were able to get a taxi ( horse drawn carriage ) to get us and drop us at the hotel for $13 ( i gave him 20 I was so glad just to get to the island )
It is a lovely island with lots of shops restaurants and bars.
Would highly recommend this place ( if you can get in )

Room Tip: spend a few bucks more than we did and get a suite facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The first time we stayed here was in 2007. We have stayed here for 3 consecutive nights each of the last 3 years. We love the hospitality of all that work here and their attentiveness to everything. They have a nice place to store your bicycles through the night and the nightly piece of fudge in our room is a nice touch. This is a very well kept hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: We have not had a balcony room which are very cool. The window rooms look out at the roof of a hors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Since we had stayed at the Main Street Inn and Suites six years ago when visiting Mackinac Island and had such a wonderful experience, we decided to stay here again, and we were not disappointed. However, this time around we opted to splurge and stayed in a one bedroom (king bed) suite, complete with balcony overlooking Main Street, and we were very glad that we did. The spaciousness of our suite, along with the gorgeous decor, was amazing. This Inn is immaculate, and everyone, including housekeeping, is very friendly and hospitable. The only possible thing that I can think of that would add to the overall enjoyment of a stay here would be the addition of a complimentary light continental breakfast, which would really be helpful on the morning of a guest's departure from the Inn. Otherwise, everything else is just perfect!

Room Tip: Highly recommend splurging on a suite -- you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Main Street Inn in September. The location could not be better....right across the street from the Shepler's Ferry dock and in the middle of Main Street. We had an elegant suite that overlooked Main Street, so there was a lot of activity to watch, yet the room was very quiet. The staff was very friendly and could not have been more helpful. The only issue I had was one side of the bed was very soft compared to the other. I think it was time to flip the mattress.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room overlooking Main Street as they are bigger and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
258 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The Main St. Inn is a charming place to stay. The views are fabulous. The suite my wife and I stayed in was roomy and well appointed. It overlooked the harbor and the street. The sounds of the horses hooves was soothing. My only complaint is that the plumbing is a little noisy but that can be easily overlooked.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I had read the great reviews about Main Street Inn, but was a bit concerned that I might be disappointed after staying at the Grand Hotel our first night on the island. Not so!! This is a most charming and delightful inn located in the heart of the action on Main Street. Of course, there are no cars on the island, so even though we were in the heart of town, there we no horns honking or sirens wailing, only the gently clip clop of horses hooves. Which by the way, is a wonderful almost hypnotic sound to fall asleep to -- much better than counting sheep! And, our bed was the most comfy bed that I've ever experienced away from home. The décor in our suite was just as charming as the outside of the Inn. I loved sitting out on our balcony overlooking the harbor and Main Street to people watch while inhaling the aroma of fudge being made below. The staff at the Inn were so accommodating and friendly. We felt very spoiled while staying there. Evening turn down service included a generous portion of JoAnn's delicious fudge. And, when we checked out they gave us a certificate for a half pound of this wonderful fudge to take home as a parting gift. Don't miss out on this charmer when visiting Mackinac Island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#8 of 13 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 13 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#3 of 13 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#4 of 13 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#13 of 13 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 13 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn and Suites

Address: P.O. Box 178, 7408 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest accommodations on Mackinac Island offer the feeling of an intimate Inn with the conveniences of a modern Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel Main Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.