We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No 2-bedroom suite!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn and Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Main Street Inn and Suites
Save
You added Main Street Inn and Suites to your Saves list
P.O. Box 178, 7408 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“No 2-bedroom suite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I are seniors. We chose Main Street Inn not only because of its rave reviews but because it was so close to the Shepler Ferries; my wife needs to use her walker and she can't walk very far with her COPD. We chose to go the Island with close friends, another senior couple. We stayed there on October 10th and 11th.The Main Street Inn advertises a 2-bedroom suite and that is what we booked so that each couple would have their own bedroom. We elected, before arriving at the hotel, to let our friends take the King bedroom and we'd take the 2-Queen bedroom. When we got there we quickly saw that there were no two BEDROOMS! Our friends had privacy in their King bedroom, we had NO privacy in our "room" - for them to get to the living room, bathroom, or even exit the suite - they had to walk past our bed(s)! This suite is a 1-bedroom suite with and adjoining, walk-through room with 2- queen beds. I'm glad that we are comfortable with our close friends as this was not the sleeping arrangement that we sought. This suite would be a great option for a young family - Dad and Mom in the King bedroom and the younger kids just outside of their bedroom. And as wonderful as the Staff were, we had issues with a noisy ceiling fan (turned out that some screws were loose and they tightened them; glad it didn't fall from the ceiling!) + a 77-degree room temp in the suite and that temp would not come down no matter how much we played with the Honeywell thermostat (the maintenance man changed the filter to seek improvement but it didn't help at all). And one thing else happened that has never happened to me before in a hotel stay: on the morning of our checkout; the first sunny day in our stay. I went out on our balcony to look over the Street and just as I grabbed the railing to lean over to watch the people below, water came falling over the balcony from above. I had just taken a shower and changed in to clean clothes for the day; luckily I was able to clean myself off and not have to change - some changes definitely need to be made to the housekeeping routine - no one should be dumping dirty water out on any porch. Despite these flaws we would return to the Main Street Inn as it is a lovely "boutique" hotel but next time to a room more appropriate to our needs. So be forewarned: don't expect two bedrooms in a two bedroom suite.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you move in to see what you are really getting. Otherwise, get a balcony sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    33
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
97
180
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Beautiful place. Excellent service and location. Our room was beautiful and spacious. Spotless and comfortable. It is close to Shepplers Ferry. They transported our luggage to and from the ferry dock. There were 3 of us and we stayed in a doble queen suite overlooking mainstreet. Plenty of room to spread out. Wolud not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossville, Indiana
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel was a key part of our first visit to the island. We spent three nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We spent our days out exploring and so we were exhausted by the time we returned each evening. On our first evening we had settled in, pajamas on and relaxing when we were suddenly seized with hunger for some fudge. The smell from the shop below us may have had some influence. As we were lamenting our pitiful fudge-less plight there was a knock at the door. We wondered who could be at our door at this time of day. Being a brave sole I let my wife check it out! It turned out to be someone from the hotel delivering our evening fudge! How did they know? The hotel staff is outstanding!!
Beyond our daily fudge treat, our room was beautifully decorated and clean and our bed was very comfortable. We will definitely return to the island in the future and this will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We debated staying at the Grand Hotel but read the great reviews that were on Trip Advisor for Main Street Inn so we thought we would try it out. We visited for two days for our honeymoon and loved out the hotel! Our room was very spacious, great view of the water, and had the most comfortable bed. We had fudge delivered to our room each night around 6:00 pm which was a nice treat. Anytime we had a question the front desk staff was happy to assist us. The room had a fridge and microwave which was very convenient. They stored our bags upon checkout until we were ready to leave on the ferry. We loved the location because it is right by the ferry dock and close to everything. We wish we could have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Anse, MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights in an interior room with a skylight. The room was great, the skylight was awesome, and the beds were comfy!! This motel is smack dab in the middle of main street with easy access to anywhere you want to go. It was very clean and the staff was great. Would totally recommend this place to friends and family. Thanks Main Street Inn for a great getaway!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is our second stay at The Main Street Inn & Suites...the adventurous part of me says to "venture out, stay somewhere different" but then the smarter part of me says "Why stay anywhere else when this is PERFECT!"...and that it is...our room was beyond clean...it was amazingly clean and comfortable, and absolutely beautiful. The staff was so friendly, and helpful with making decisions on dining and sightseeing. We traveled here to celebrate our tenth anniversary and were surprised to see a sign posted wishing us a "Happy Anniversary." AND...price-wise, this is the best deal on the entire island! We will go back to Mackinac Island, and we will stay again at The Main Street Inn & Suites! There is nothing they could have done to improve our stay with them- it was PERFECT.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful...we even looked at some for our next trip there. There was no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our 5th stay and we still love everything about this place! The location is great. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. We've always found the rooms to be fresh and they always seem to be recently refurbished. The housekeepers are friendly and thorough. Indoor bike storage is nice. Spring for a street-view balcony room. They have a great panoramic view of Huron "main street" & the water.

Con: I wish that they had screens as we love to leave the balcony door open.

Room Tip: Spring for a balcony room if finances permit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Main Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn and Suites

Address: P.O. Box 178, 7408 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest accommodations on Mackinac Island offer the feeling of an intimate Inn with the conveniences of a modern Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel Main Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.