We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Inn and Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Main Street Inn and Suites
Save
You added Main Street Inn and Suites to your Saves list
P.O. Box 178, 7408 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hadley Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Right in the middle of Main St, a beautiful old place, very clean rooms. If you can afford the front rooms, (we didn't) they have great balconys overlooking the street. Even though we did not have a good view, (top of the horse stable) we enjoyed our stay in this quiet comfortable hotel. The staff was very accomodating, allowing us to leave our luggage in the lobby area, both before our room was ready, and after our checkout time while we cruised the island.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    33
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
98
181
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is a great hotel and right in the heart of Mackinac. Very reasonable rates, clean and great hospitality from the staff. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

What an absolutely lovely hotel at a very reasonable price! Our room was very nice and the service was wonderful. It is located so conveniently and such an easy walk to/from the ferry. The bed turndown with fudge (what else!) was a great touch. We loved our visit to Mackinac Island and would definitely choose to stay here on the next one! How fun that in several Michigan tourist videos featuring Mackinac Island, the Main Street Inn shows up in the footage!

Susan Gertson
August 18, 2011

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Enjoyed three great nights at Main Street Inn. Everything was just as our previous stay. Very nice Staff, Julie in particular, including the cleaning people who did an excellent job. We had our favorite third floor Balcony Suite overlooking Main Street and the Harbor. Fantastic! We are looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We chose this hotel based on its TripAdvisor rating and its beautiful website pictures. I was not disappointed. We spent four nights on Mackinac July 21-25 and I am so glad we chose Main Street Inn. I loved the aggressively floral decor, the nightly fudge, the location in the center of the town. Everything was handled with friendliness and ease by the hotel staff--luggage, checkin, questions about things to see. The housekeeping staff was helpful and kind. It was my first trip to Mackinac Island and I certainly hope it is not the last. I would most definitely stay here again if I should be lucky enough to be planning a return trip to the Island.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed here in mid-May, before peak season, and so we were able to get a standard room with a king-sized bed and a window for under $100 a night. The window overlooked the stables in the back, but you could also see the street back there so the the view wasn't terrible. I'm glad we paid the little extra for the window, because I like having some sort of view. We did see one of the windowless rooms on our way out one morning, and it didn't look bad - the skylight seemed to let in a good amount of light.

The room was in excellent condition, with an elegant bathroom/vanity area and a bed more comfortable than the one we have at home. It's designed to look like a historic property, but being recently built, the design and construction cater more toward modern preferences (for example, no pipe blocking 75% of our closet space, no 3-inch gap under the door, and no bathroom so small that you couldn't open the door all the way without it running into the toilet, as we had in our room the spring before at the Iroquois).
The staff were extremely friendly, greeting us each time they saw us and opening the lobby door for us when we were taking our bikes in and out.
The housekeeping staff were also excellent. They did a thorough but fast job cleaning the rooms and were so friendly and sweet.
This hotel also offers a couple of nice "extras":
- there is room in the basement to store your bike so you don't have to leave it out in the weather or worry about it being taken (the bike rack is kind of small, but there is extra room around it so we chained our bikes together when they wouldn't fit in the rack).
- free fudge! They leave you a small box of fudge each night as part of the turn down service, and it's a pretty generous amount (you can only eat so much fudge in one sitting). Also, when we checked in, we got a coupon for a discount at JoAnn's fudge shop, and a coupon for a free half pound of fudge when we checked out.

Having stayed on the island two years in a row now, we are probably ready to take a break from it for a while. But the next time we go, we would stay here again in a heartbeat. And we would recommend it to others with no hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Just returned from a weekend at the island. The hotel is ideally located just across the street from shepler's ferry. Front desk staff was very friendly and we were in our room within 5 minutes. We had a delux room which is basically their most basic room short of the interior room. It had a small window overlooking the back of the hotel. The room was well appointed and had the charm of old european bed and breakfast. Beds were comfortable. Loved the turn down service which was unexpected for a supposedly 3 star hotel. The only issue I had was the hotel fell a bit short on the "old world charm" of some of the other hotels on the island but their regular rooms are also much cheaper. Would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Main Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn and Suites

Address: P.O. Box 178, 7408 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest accommodations on Mackinac Island offer the feeling of an intimate Inn with the conveniences of a modern Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Mackinac Island
Hotel Main Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.