We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Little Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Stonecliffe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Stonecliffe to your Saves list
The Inn at Stonecliffe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8593 Cudahy Circle, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sweet Little Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Even though this Inn was a little off the beaten path from the mainstream city life of Mackinac, it was SUCH a delight to stay at. We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved every second of it. We purchased one of the packages their website had to offer which included a dinner for two one night and breakfast each morning. The dinner we had was sensational and the breakfasts were delicious with plenty of good options to choose from. We rented bikes two of the 3 days we were there and that was so much fun!

We stayed in the Snowberry Room and while the room was very pretty, the bed was a bit outdated and could have used a new mattress. It was not the most comfortable. The bathroom was cute and clean and I enjoyed the vintage feel of it. It is also not the most quiet hotel as the doors and hallways are older and don't shut out the noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie C, General Manager at The Inn at Stonecliffe, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our property! We love that so many honeymooners find their way to The Inn at Stonecliffe, and find the time to enjoy their get-away and each other on such a momentous occasion. We hope that you will come back to visit us soon. I see that you last stayed with us during summer of 2013. You will be happy to hear that we opened in 2014 with a new look! All 16 rooms got a major facelift. New carpet, paint, wall coverings, furniture, and yes... that includes beds! You will absolutely love it, and we hope that you are able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    57
    15
    12
    8
See reviews for
66
115
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Inn is about 2 miles from downtown, but the short walk or bike ride is definitely worth it. The grounds are meticulously groomed and the view of Mackinac Bridge is beautiful. The rooms at the Inn are very nice and the beds are comfy. The complimentary breakfast has an abundant selection of delicious food for even the pickiest of kids. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor pool and my husband and I enjoyed reading and relaxing while they had fun. The thing that sets the Inn apart from other hotels on the island though is the staff. The porters, front desk people and especially Daniel, the manager, were all incredibly friendly and helpful answering our many questions. We plan on making our stay at Stonecliff an annual event.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Inn and loved it! We liked the ambiance and charm of both the mansion and our room! We ate dinner the first night at the Inn--the Cudahy Chophouse, and the second night at the Woods which is right on the property. Both were delicious! They are also nice because you don't have to go back into town after getting cleaned up! We highly recommend the Inn at Stonecliffe!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Detroit, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just got home from a holiday weekend stay at the Inn. What a beautiful facility, far from the maddening crowd that is on the main streets. Bikes are available for rent. The pool is delightful. But the view is the best feature of this grand place. My only suggestion for improvement would to offer lunch service, asI did not want to leave the grounds. Staff is gracious and very accommodating . cmpd

Room Tip: Spurge and get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I spent our 25th wedding anniversary at Stonecliffe and we had a wonderful experience. The Inn is off the beaten path, with wonderful grounds and lovely views. The walk into the city was also very relaxing, giving us time to explore all walking paths. I would definitely stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassar, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Spent a family weekend on historic Mackinac Island. The distance from downtown is a minor inconvenience as the hotel offers fantastic views in a peaceful, serene setting. The recent renovation updates the property just enough without destroying the old world feel that the island offers. New beds too! Friendly staff, nice rooms, and breakfast included. All in all a wonderful stay. Will stay again and certainly recommend!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is the only place on the island we will stay.
It's about 1-1/2 to 2 miles from town, bicycles are also rented at hotel, which were all new this year.
It is a beautiful old mansion with fabulous grounds.
We usually try to get a room with a lakeside view, this gives a great view of the mackinaw bridge.
This year; they have upgraded the interior paint wallpaper and furnishings. Very nice.
Seems like the breakfast which is included in the room price was not as generous as previous years. But still good.
Will try to come back again in the fall-great calming time there.

Room Tip: Book early June or late sept, early oct. They seem to be more flexible with rooms & pricing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Address: 8593 Cudahy Circle, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Stonecliffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.