We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Enjoyment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Stonecliffe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Stonecliffe to your Saves list
The Inn at Stonecliffe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8593 Cudahy Circle, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Secluded Enjoyment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Inn is up the mountain from the downtown area which makes it ideal if you like quiet. We had traveled 2 days to get there and it was worth the trip. We had the end room which was very roomy facing the large lush lawn, Lake Huron and Mackinac Bridge. We ate in the dining room and our server was very attentive. However, for what we had (2 drinks, 2 appetizers, coffee, tea & dessert) it was very pricey. Having said that, seeing meal prices in other establishments downtown, it really wasn't too out of line. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the weather was cool enough that we were able to eat out on the patio without being bothered by flies. The inn is accessible either by horse carriages or bicycle. However, if you plan on using a bicycle, you best be in excellent shape as the hotel is approximately 2 miles from the downtown area and most of it is up a very long high. If fact, the carriage is stopped about halfway there to give the 2 draft horses a rest. If you like quiet and seclusion, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    57
    15
    12
    8
See reviews for
66
115
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mid michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the inn for a long weekend in August, what a great experience! The inn was located away from the craziness of the downtown are, the grounds were beautiful, the staff was most helpful. (nothing like breakfast in the morning on the patio or coverec porch overlooking the Mackinac Bridge and the straits!) The room was clean, spacious and QUIET!! We canceled reservations on the mainland to stay another night. The staff at the desk was very informative regarding activities on the island, things that were a must do, great places for lunch and dinner. We celebrated happy hour on the patio or covered porch. (I recommend any of the specialty drinks, especially the Lake Effect!) Saturday evening included happy hour and entertainment. We had not been to the island in many years, but if we go back, we will definitely plan a trip around availability at the Inn at Stonecliffe!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

It was my husband and my first time staying on the island and we chose to stay at the Inn at Stonecliffe off of a friends recommendation. We were not disappointed! The staff was wonderful, the room was spacious, and we very much enjoyed being away from the downtown busyness. The grounds surrounding the Inn are beautiful and we enjoyed watching the sunset from a lookout point near the Inn; as well as, lounging on the outdoor patio with a beautiful view of the bridge all lit up at night. We also took advantage of the pool which was very refreshing after a long, hot bike ride. If you are looking for a place that is a little more secluded this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I have dined many places around the world.
But having a drinks created by bartender Jonathan,
and a quiet exquisite gourmet meal of potato encrusted white fish with risotto, (suggested by Garren)will be my go to for island dining.
The whitefish was light and flaky, the risotto was cooked to perfection.
Dining prices avg.$25-45 and up of course
No need to get gussied up.
Dress jeans for this affair fits the bill, for gourmet dinning!
Don't have a favorite drink?
Try a signature drink or let Jonathan create one for you.I
started out with a Blackberry Martini, ended up with a Blackberry Mint Julep,
(Kentucky Derby early)!
Had me whining for more!
Oops, bar closes at 10 PM.
What a exceptional birthday dinner!
This restaurant is located up the great Mackinac Hill!
Go to the first 4 corners and turn left.
Watch your step if you are walking!
But take a taxi, then 'No Worries'.
The back porch over looks,the great Mackinac Bridge. The view is gorgeous and very romantic!!
The restaurant, the also friendly people there, will make your trip worth the visit!!
Yes reservations are needed as there may be a wedding taking place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Inn at Stonecliffe was wonderful. The beautiful lawn and serene location made for a relaxing place to unwind after a busy day downtown Mackinac. Sunset Point looks out over the water to the Mackinac Bridge on the west side of the island and is just a short hike off the veranda at the Inn. Dinner at the Inn was fantastic! The dining atmosphere was relaxed and casual, but the cuisine was 5 star all the way. My compliments to the chef! The entire staff was friendly, welcoming and accomodating. Especially Spencer who took care of all our small groups' needs over the weekend with efficiency and a smile. Thank you to the whole staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very enjoyable stay! After checking in we were ready to eat. The maitre d' was very gracious and accommodating to us. Especially with our indecisive start to dinner! Our stay encountered terrible weather, which is to say it was very hot and humid without a whisper of wind, unusual for the island. Well we first thought of eating on the patio, but as mentioned the weather was less than ideal, so we asked the maitre d' if we could move inside. He graciously accommodated us, we chose the bar area where the Detroit Tiger game was on which suited our eight year old baseball crazy son just fine. However a couple of other gentlemen arrived and their talk was a little loud and we again asked to move. Without a second thought, the maitre d' moved the fussiest family at the Inn to the main dining room which was quieter and actually near a portable air conditioner!
And let's not forget about my son! The most awesome bartender on the island came running into the dining room and gave him scoring updates from the Tiger game as they happened!

Do stay in the summer house for the air conditioned rooms!

Room Tip: Get a room with air conditioning in the summer house. It can get hot and humid on the island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Inn at Stonecliffe is the gem of the island. The staff is wonderful and our room was so spacious and quiet. We've learned to take our bikes for the trip from downtown to Stonecliffe, but they have bikes to rent as well. It's worth the ride up to get away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. We even rode downtown for some night life and had no problem biking back up in the wee hours. You're going to need lights on your bike. You can take the "taxi", but it's faster to bike it. The horses do take breaks, but that's the same with all of them. Regarding the porters, well we've had them bring our bags to the room. There's a lot of guests coming at once so if you have to wait a little bit, be patient. They will get there. We've never had a problem and don't forget to tip them well. The bartender, Johnathan, is well versed in providing the drink you want and even the one you can't imagine. The food is better than what you would pay for at the Grand or the nearby Woods. I found the front desk staff to be so helpful and friendly while checking in. They even allowed us to check in early since our room was ready. I love the Inn at Stonecliffe because whether you are there in a sports jacket or jeans and a t-shirt, you will get the best service from people who seem like they love their job. If you haven't stayed there you're missing out on a spectacular place.

Room Tip: Why would you need a fitness center when you have trails to bike or walk. Just being on the island i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Address: 8593 Cudahy Circle, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Stonecliffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.