We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay I have had at Mackinaw Island to date!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Stonecliffe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Stonecliffe to your Saves list
The Inn at Stonecliffe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8593 Cudahy Circle, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
“Best Stay I have had at Mackinaw Island to date!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Words can't describe the good times we had at this location, with the staff being so completely helpful and the grounds being so meticulously kept, it simply just made for a great Summer vacation! Can't wait to return next year!!

Room Tip: I must say I am in awe at the helpfulness of the staff and the beauty of this estate. I have been to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    57
    15
    12
    8
See reviews for
66
115
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I visited Michigan and my friend who lives there, recommended we visit Mackinac Island. I didn’t know much about it, but it was spectacular. We stayed at the Stonecliffe, and not knowing anything about the area, didn’t realize how far the Inn was. We rented bikes and rode the 2 miles to the hotel (part was a steep road by the Grand Hotel). It was a nice ride and very relaxing and nice to get away from all the tourists. This place is a classic! We were lucky and were able to get a room in the mansion with the perfect view of the Mackinac bridge. It was pretty secluded and quiet. I also recommend a visit to the restaurant next door called the Woods. It’s pricey, but stop and get a drink and bowl in the 1905 bowling lane. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, the best part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was my first trip to Mackinac and I couldn't have asked for a spectacular place to stay.
From the view from the patio to the grounds of the hotel I was constantly amazed at the beauty.
Stonecliffe is a peaceful and relaxing getaway from the hustle and bustle of daily life. I highly recommend to stay here if you get the chance.
SusanR of plymouth

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

For those not wanting the formality of the Grand Hotel, but still expect the feel of traveling back in time....The Summer House at the Inn at Stonecliffe is wonderful. The suites are spacious and air-conditioned. There is an elevator for those who need it. The main house is a very short walk for breakfast or to catch the taxi to town.
Bikes are available in all styles and sizes. There are bike racks outside each building. The walk to town is approximately 40 minutes, I was told.
But, expect to spend 30 minutes by taxi to get to downtown. Horse-drawn taxis full of luggage and people, can be quite tired. I enjoyed the scenery on the ride, but it also comes with a fee each way. Just know that ahead of time, and you can make the most of your day. You can inquire about a ferry and taxi discount from the hotel. Returning to Summer House in the evening was just what we wanted. It was relaxing and quiet, with beautiful lawns and a view of the Mackinaw Bridge.
The dining room is small and quaint, so we made a reservation for dinner in advance. Also, meals can be ordered from the bar and carried back to the room. Very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: The Summer House is a short distance from the Main House. It's a large suite with balcony, AC a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you have a chance to visit Macinac Island, make sure to stay at least one night. The main street changes from hustle-bustle to serene-relaxed after 6:00 pm or so when the day trippers head back to the mainland on the ferries. One of the best places to stay on the island is The Inn at Stonecliffe, just a few minutes (by bike or horse taxi) from the Grand Hotel (an expensive, but landmark resort).

Personally, I find the Grand Hotel too large and pretentious and the price is very high. A room at the Inn at Stonecliffe can be had from the low $200's in the main mansion, which is where I would prefer to say anyway. The main mansion was built in 1904 as a family summer home and is situated on the west bluff of the island, which offers excellent views of the Mackinaw Bridge. There are 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms (with no air conditioning) in the mansion, while the more modern Summer House Suites has 31 suites.

Our room was bright and airy with a very large window overlooking the expansive grounds. Although it was not water-view, we were thrilled with the view every time a horse-drawn taxi arrived at the front of the mansion. The weather was perfect during our visit, so the absence of air conditioning in our room was not an issue. It was a short bike ride back down the hill to the main street, although it is a bit of a climb (on bike or foot) back up the hill. Horse-drawn taxis are only $6.75 per person, and offer a historic and scenic tour to town. Definitely a must-do on the island.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful and contributed to a wonderful stay. Overall, I'd rate The Inn at Stonecliffe very highly in location, price, history and overall experience.

Room Tip: If you want to soak up the history, opt for a Mansion room rather than a room in the newer Summer Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Here's a hideaway you'll enjoy sneaking away to....even if for a short while! Be sure to check the weather first. We got lucky going in April. The service was excellent...use them; they are most helpful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I happened upon a great deal online to stay here...I guess sometimes a great deal is too good to be true. Although the setting and location are beautiful, the customer service was almost non existent. After getting off of the Ferry and being met by a staff member to take our luggage and direct us to the once an hour shuttle, I was quite impressed. We were assured our luggage would be waiting once we arrived and the 'complimentary shuttle' was available right at the top of the dock. So we walked around and waited for the shuttle for 40 minutes and when it arrived, it was full and when we asked how to get a ride, we were told, "Sorry I guess it's full, you'll have to wait another hour" So we walked the 2.5 miles with most of our things uphill to the Inn. The desk clerk assured us that we would be getting the shuttle back down to the Ferry the next day but when we showed up to take it, no one told us to make a reservation or get on a list so again we waited for the next one. They also told us that is was complimentary but when we arrived at the Ferry, were embarrassed by the driver when, after tipping him, told me that I shorted him and that the ride was $6.75/person. I have no problem paying but the hotel provided no direction in the protocol. The rooms were not sound proof at all (listening to a whole conversation between our neighbors). They were, however, well appointed and clean. The water pressure was good and the setting beautiful. We were so tired after driving 7 hours to get there and walking the entire way to the Inn that we decided to stay there for dinner which wasn't what we wanted to do but the food was good. It is pretty and out of the way but I would definitely stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Try staying in the main mansion. Perhaps the rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Address: 8593 Cudahy Circle, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Stonecliffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.