We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Mansion"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Stonecliffe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Stonecliffe to your Saves list
The Inn at Stonecliffe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8593 Cudahy Circle, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
New Holstein, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“"The Mansion"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrived on the Island and were immediately greeted by a person that took care of our luggage and put it on a horse drawn carriage to the Inn. He then proceeded to call Stonecliffe to see if we could check in early which we could. Ride up took about 30 minutes. Very nice. We get there and this place has a magnificent view and it's absolutely gorgeous inside and out. Checked in and someone brings up your luggage to your room nice touch. There is a charge for the ride up and if you use one of the taxi's that also cost money. We were on the third floor and it was nice. Pool was amazing also. Said it was heated it wasn't. We had supper there and we didn't have reservations but they managed to get us in. At first they weren't sure. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    57
    15
    12
    8
See reviews for
67
115
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is in a beautiful location. It is serene, quiet and secluded. We stayed in the mansion. There is no a/c and that is no problem, just kept the Windows open and got a great breeze. The restaurant has a great 5 course meal for only $35. It is nice because it is away from all the hubbub of the island by the ferry. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel was the amazing location overlooking the bridge on the north side of Mackinac Island. We rented bikes at the ferry dock and rode them up the hill while our luggage was taken up by a friendly porter. You can get the shuttle yourself for $6.75 each way per person! The staff were mostly awesome, really friendly and helpful, although the managers were somewhat odd. There were a lot of minor upkeep details, such as chipped paint and grout work needing to be replaced, and I feel like for the amount of money guests pay the hotel should spend a little more on maintenance. The five course dinner in the chophouse for 35 dollars was a remarkable value. The food was really solid, especially the whitefish. Overall, what makes this hotel exceptional and a place I would definitely stay again is the lovely view and amazing grounds! The house is an old manor with some of the original furniture pieces, that could be truly stunning if more attention were paid to details. I felt like the management was trying to cut corners in places. Kudos to Kelly and Ryan, who provided wonderful service! The manager, Daniel Hall, was apparently friendly but seemed to just be going through the motions rather than exuding a genuine desire to welcome the guests. I overheard some unprofessional remarks he made while talking to an employee at the front desk. Some mistakes were made on our bill, and I saw another guest at the front desk who had trouble reconciling the charges on his room. I hope this place doesn't rest on its laurels, or worse yet, go downhill. It would be a shame when we did have a lovely time there. Our room had a view of the bridge and a comfy king sized bed but again, the sheets were clearly old and worn (although very clean) and almost threadbare. Overall, I would rate this as very good but it should be excellent, and could be with proper care and management.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToLeaveFeedback, Manager at The Inn at Stonecliffe, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and the “Very Good” rating! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and we think it’s a pretty special location as well. It is our goal to service each guest individually and ensure they have a warm and welcoming experience. I appreciate your comments and will use them as a valuable training tool as we move forward. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My beautiful wife and I just had the privilege of getting Married at this amazing Inn!! Becky the wedding Coordinator and Stephanie the GM were a cut above anything we could have ever asked for!! Our entire day was perfect with every little detail overlooked by multiple people to ensure it was perfect! The property was cared for so well it appeared as if it was a flawless picture, the food and service was exquisite the rooms are the best on the island with an amazing view of the bridge. If you are looking to get married on Mackinac Island and you have not been to The Inn at Stonecliffe you haven't seen the #1 wedding location on the island! This review will not come close to explaining how happy we are to have had the Stonecliffe team arrange our picture perfect day so don't take it from me Call Becky and go see them!! P.S. The picture was taken at the Inn at Stonecliffe by the best photographer I have ever met and she lives on the Island LANA TRAYSER PHOTOGRAPHY.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We liked the Inn but I'm not sure I would stay there again just based on the location.

Pros:
Beautiful setting. Very serene.
Breakfast was excellent.
Set back from the busyness of the Main Street.
Huge rooms with a gorgeous view of the bridge.
Pool was great. Very clean.
Short walk to the stone cliff overlook which was beautiful.

Cons:
Long walk/ride from the Main Street.
Bikes available to rent at the hotel don't have gears. Don't rent from them! You need gears.
No AC in the main hotel. Wasn't a problem when we were there but could get hot at the end of the summer.

Overall we loved the hotel but we might try to stay closer next time we're on the island. If you're fairly active or don't mind waiting for the shuttle it's not a problem. It's very peaceful at the Inn & that's a major plus. If you're looking to get away from the crowds this is a great place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reese, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My first impression of the Inn was jaw dropping. It is dated, but that is just the beginning of its majesty. The property is under new management and they are making leaps and bounds for improvements. I've stayed multiple times, all for business. I've been to the island a few times before but only stayed in the downtown area. Downtown accommodations are NOT the way to experience Mackinaw Island. This place "takes the cake". If you want a quiet, relaxing, out of the way, get-a-way, this is for you. You are close enough to downtown to bike there, but you will quickly find yourself peddling your heart out to get back to your corner of paradise and relax.
My favorite part of the property is the back patio. Before working, a quiet breakfast overlooking Lake Huron and the Mackinac Bridge starts my day with peace and tranquility. The food is excellent and every meal I have had at the restaurant leaves me with the feeling of being pampered. This chef really knows his stuff, and trust me, I've eaten a lot of food.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. If there was ever a concern, they fixed it immediately. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to friends, family, and co-workers.

Room Tip: Weddings could prove to be noisy. Check with reservations to avoid that problem. Make sure you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Beautiful views, historic integrity, and a wonderful staff. Our vacation was truly amazing staying at Stonecliffe. Amazing breakfast buffet, sightseeing, stunning rooms and dining with the Mackinaw Bridge in front of you...I couldn't Ask for more. Staff was extremely professional and knowledgable. The rooms were top notch with modern amenities. We stayed in the summerhouse, and the covered porch offered beautiful views to sit back and enjoy. We will definitely be booking again this season!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Stonecliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Stonecliffe

Address: 8593 Cudahy Circle, PO Box 338, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Stonecliffe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonecliffe enjoys a storied place in Mackinac Island history. Built in 1904 as a family summer escape by industrialist Michael Cudahy, Stonecliffe has enchanted guests for nearly half a century. Situated high on the west bluff, Inn at Stonecliffe lodging comprises a classic Tudor-style mansion that offers 16 bed and breakfast style guest rooms, and the more modern Summer House Suites, with 31 richly appointed suites decorated in a classic summer cottage style with a light Victorian influence. Overnight visitors to Mackinac Island often observe that the best time to enjoy the island is in the early morning or late evening when the last ferry has carried the daily visitors back to the mainland. At The Inn at Stonecliffe, you’ll enjoy that feeling every moment of your stay. Anywhere you turn, tranquility and relaxation await, from the breathtaking bluff-top views of the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge to the Inn’s lush, rolling lawns.Special Services and / or Features: • Breakfast Included• Air Conditioning• Onsite Dining and Cocktail Lounge• Weddings and Events• Kitchenettes• Bike Rentals • Cable Television• Outdoor Heated Pool• Private Baths• Telephones• Complimentary Wireless Internet• Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Stonecliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Stonecliffe Hotel Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Stonecliffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.