We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a bit boring” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Richard and Jane Manoogian Mackinac Art Museum

The Richard and Jane Manoogian Mackinac Art Museum
7070 Main St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“It was a bit boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We didn't stay long. There were some nice paintings and antiquities, but nothing spectacular. Your ticket to Fort Mackinac includes the entrance fee to this museum.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great pieces....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Not always a huge fan of museums, I very much enjoyed visiting this wonderful addition to Mackinac Island. Not overly large and included with your grand hotel stay the manoogian art museum should not be missed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The museum is a chance to see beautiful paintings in an intimate settings. Although the selection is small, I always make it a point to visit, and spend as much time as I want admiring the art!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Anywhere their is art , I love to visit. This art museum has a lot of history lesson in it. Not as much art as I expected. But my husband did enjoy all the history displays.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A nice place to stop and enjoy (included in price of Fort ticket)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our first visit to the art museum; it's a little island gem. What makes it even better is that admission is included in the price of a fort ticket. There are three levels (yes, you enter at the door at the stop of the front steps...handicap access in back). The displays include very, very old maps, art, a few relics, and photos. There are a handful of interactive, touch-screen displays that the kids enjoyed. There is an art studio in the basement with kids projects going all day. They also have art supplies available to adults with an offer of inspiration to create while sitting in the park. In the back of the museum is a nice little playground. Small, but worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Richard and Jane Manoogian Mackinac Art Museum also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Richard and Jane Manoogian Mackinac Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richard and Jane Manoogian Mackinac Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.