We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern New Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bicycle Street Inn & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites
Save
You added Bicycle Street Inn & Suites to your Saves list
7416 Main Street, PO Box 1420, Mackinac Island, MI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Hartland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Modern New Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you want a more modern hotel, this is the hotel for you. If however you want the old world charm of Mackinac Island this is not the hotel for you. This is a very nice hotel, but has no color in the rooms. Everything is beige except the dust ruffel on the beds which is blue. Rooms are very large but boring. Room had 2 very large flat screen TV's, microwave and fridge. Only table in the room was in front of the sofa. Bathroom was very large with plently of towels. Bed were very comfortable with lots of pillows. If you feel like a late night treat, there is a Saunders ice cream shop downstairs that stays open till 10pm. Great hot fudge creampuffs.

Room Tip: Great view from the top floor water view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    21
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

While this hotel lacks the familiar Mackinac Island charm and character, it does boast other great qualities like unbeatable location, amazing value, good service and overall convenience.

We recently stayed at the Bicycle Street Inn occupying two suites that were both on the third floor -- one with a water view and one with an "interior" view. Both rooms were impeccably clean, spacious and offered modern comforts. One of the reviews compared them to a "pricier" Hampton Inn, and to some degree they have a point but I feel that the hotel offered greater value and convenience relative to other accommodations on the island that you would pay the same or a higher price for. For mid-$300s per night during the peak season, we had immediate access to everything in downtown including the ferry and the bike rental shop which were both across the street, and a wide selection of restaurants, fudge shops, bars and shopping. The beds, including the pull-out sofa, were comfortable and offered a good night's rest. The room came equipped with two TVs, a microwave oven, and a fridge which proved valuable especially since we were traveling with a small child and a baby who needed snacks and fresh milk 24/7. We also appreciated that both rooms had a separate seating area and an exterior balcony -- especially awesome in the water view room. The bathroom was spacious with plenty of counter space for all our toiletries; and I especially enjoyed the Philosophy bath products. Other convenient amenities were the daily continental breakfast (with egg, sausage and potatoes), discounted ferry tickets and secured bike parking room.

The staff was very nice and accommodating as well. Jason, the porter, was a trooper. We ran into him one evening while he was carrying guests' luggage up and down the stairs as the elevator was being repaired. He was drenched in sweat and we could tell that he was tired, but still was very friendly and offered to help us with retrieving our child's bike and baby stroller from the secured basement parking room. The front desk team was also gracious and quickly reserved us a taxi when they realized that we were about to take a walk to our friends' wedding, only to be stopped by an unexpected torrential rain.

The only concern we had going into the inn was the potential noise level given that it was on the main drag. (We had originally booked at a different hotel and decided to cancel due to potential noise issues coming from a restaurant/bar connected to it.) Thankfully, Bicycle Street Inn proved that we did not have to be concerned about noise. From our water view room where we were directly above Main Street, the only noise we would occasionally hear would be the blow horn from the ferries leaving across the street. The sound was faint and certainly did not bother our light-sleeping baby. At night, it was perfectly fine to keep the balcony door open to let in fresh breeze and the external sounds did not feel noisy at all. In fact, we loved it!

Overall, I give this hotel two thumbs up and would recommend it to anyone who wants the experience of Mackinac Island but with the conveniences and spaciousness of a modern hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra and secure a room with a water view on the third floor. The fact that it's at the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our first visit to the Island and we wanted something that was in the heart of the activity. LIttle did we know the activity is very concentrated and most hotels are conveniently located. That said, this is a jewel of a location and the decor is more modern than the floral print motif we saw in other places. We appreciated the less cluttered look, the huge suite and fabulous balcony view! The beds were among the best we encountered during our two week, 3000 mile trip around three of the five Great Lakes. The staff was very accommodating. The two downsides of the property are the mediocre breakfast offerings and the mini mall that must be crossed from the entrance to the check in desk. Of course one of the shops is a Sanders Fudge - so all is not lost!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a Main Street balcony...we understood from other guests that interior rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is the newest hotel on the island and we were intrigued to give it a try. My wife and I have tried may of the lodging facilities on the island. We spent two nights in early August. Out first impression of the entry and lobby was so so where you are really in a food court as others have said. Upon entry to our room was very blaaa, mostly beige, no real charm or character. My wife said it looks like the Hampton Inn in the city, I had to agree.

The positive side included the secure bike storage in the basement and generally central location. The negatives would have to be the broken elevator... I though this was a new hotel. The staff said they were' working out the kinks'! The elevator was down from about 6 pm to 11 am the next morning, rather inconvenient if you are on the third floor! We were comped nothing. Our interior room lacked any windows, however it had a strang circular skylight in the ceiling. The breakfast was very unimpressive. We will try another venue next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Awesome hotel! Very modern, clean rooms, beautifulm bathrooms. Philosophy products in the bathroom was a treat. Right across the street from the ferry makes it a easy transition. If your going to rent bikes you get 10% off from the bike shop with no deposit and no extra or double charge for being late. The other bike rentals required a deposit and charged double for being late. Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, Michigan
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is the most modern of the hotels on Mackinac Island. Had a beautiful room with balcony overlooking the main street and harbor of the island. Gorgeous room and extremely comfortable. Loved the way the room was separated into sitting area and sleeping area, not to mention the balcony. Staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. Will definitely visit here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Aside from its outside look not fitting in with the rest of the buildings on the street and the gallery of stores at street level being incredibly tacky the rooms are beautiful. Extremely large, clean and quiet. The beds are comfortable and the Philosophy products in the bathroom are a nice touch. Like the idea of having a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee pot. The indoor bike parking is also convenient. The front desk personnel weren't real helpful. We were never told there was a continental breakfast and didn't learn about it until I read an older review on here. The dock porter appeared to not like his job much. He transferred our luggage to and from the dock in a timely manner however didn't smile even when we gave him a tip. Maybe he was just having a bad day or two. This Inn offers a discount on ferry tickets however, no mention of that was made until I phoned earlier in the week to cancel one day of our stay and asked which ferry line was preferred. The view from this Inn is just ok. It cannot compete with the views offered at Windermere, Island House or Iroquois. We may stay here again, not sure though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bicycle Street Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Street Inn & Suites

Address: 7416 Main Street, PO Box 1420, Mackinac Island, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located on Main Street in the center of downtown Mackinac Island, Bicycle Street Inn & Suites features 36 air conditioned guest rooms and suites ranging up to an astonishing 700 square feet. Most suites have walk-out balconies with panoramic views overlooking the Straits of Mackinac, as well as interior island views. Our suites can sleep up to six persons in one and two bedded rooms with premium bedding, a separate living room with sofa/sleeper, generously sized bathrooms, coffee-maker, fridge, microwave, and two flat panel televisions. A central skylit atrium radiates natural light to our main level, where merchants offer food, candy, and other goods in an open concept market. The Shoppes of Bicycle Street Inn & Suites create a palatial courtyard vibe with few walls, regal columns, high ceilings, and natural lighting from our central, skylit Atrium. Bicycle Street Inn & Suites is delightfully reminiscent of an earlier era, yet has all the right touches only a modern building can provide to offer guests a heightened travel experience. For comfort, style and service, book your reservation with Bicycle Street Inn & Suites ~ the place "where suite dreams come true". ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicycle Street Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.