We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murray Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Murray Hotel to your Saves list
Murray Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, P.O. Box 476, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We gave stayed on the island several times but this was our first at the Murray Hotel and it won't be our last. We loved the charm of the 100 plus building. Our room was very clean as was the whole hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Truly feels like home away from home. Each night they come around with freshly made cookies to your door. In the lobby coffee/tea/hot chocolate served all day with donuts. Their fudge is the best and lots of different kinds. I loved the snickers and coconut the best. Looking forward to our next visit. Keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    58
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
64
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed in various hotels and B&Bs on Mackinac over the years. If you've been to the island before, you know that most places downtown have small-ish rooms and small bathrooms when you get a basic room. You give up size for being in such a prime location. The basic Queen-sized room at the Murray is no exception. I am most picky about cleanliness and I was happy at the Murray and would stay again. We didn't try the breakfast buffet so I can't comment on that.

Pros:
Everything was clean
Bed and pillows very comfortable and clean
Everything worked - lights, TV, plumbing, ice machine, pop
Outdoor hot tub is great and clean
TV cabinet/dresser had a large space for stashing our smaller bags
You are right downtown - awesome location
Front desk staff very nice
Yummy cookies at front desk and brought to your room each night
Free coffee downstairs at all times
Quaint hotel, over 100 years old with great historic pics on the walls

Cons:
The room is small
The bathroom is small
Our shower curtain wasn't long enough and the floor likely isn't too level (normal with the older buildings) so some water from the shower ran out onto the floor
The room consists of the bed, TV cabinet / dresser, sink, one chair and a window. No desk.

Room Tip: If the cost isn't much more, upsize to a larger room. If you just want value, get the basic Quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a delightful stay at the Murray Hotel on Mackinaw Island. The staff were accommodating to some last minute changes. I was in a double queen room and woke to the soothing sound of the horses clomping down the cobblestone streets. My view was of Market street with Lake Michigan to the left and the postoffice to my right. I loved the chocolate chip cookies left every night. The staff were wonderful. I especially enjoyed reading the sayings painted on the crown molding of the reception area. The staff even gave a hard copy of the sayings so I can enjoy them every day. I look forward to returning for another stay,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Murray Hotel was exactly what I expected. Very clean. Excellent staff and a bit of a surprise as many on the Island are from Jamiaca. The room was a bit small but we did not spend much time there as there is lots to do and see in a few days.
Breakfast was not that good so plan to eat out elswhere. They had a great Mexican Taco menu for lunch during our stay. Many bars/restaurants on the main street so lots to choose from with varrying prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Michigan
Level Contributor
196 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I would stay at the Murray again. Why?? Great location, great location, great location! Staff were nice, rooms were fine (they have AC). Sink in room really pretty small but we didn't care much about that. The hotel was very clean. The Murray has a pretty decent breakfast deal which is very inexpensive. Their fudge is very very creamy and delicious. Also, their hotel rate was one of the lowest prices we could find. I'll definitely be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have stayed here once before in 2005 and decided to stay again. This time however we decided to stay one night at the Grand Hotel and then two nights at the Murray.

We spent a little extra for a queen deluxe room with a view. When we stayed here the last time, I remembered that the room was really small, so we wanted to upgrade just a little bit for our anniversary. Our room faced the street which is what we wanted. I noticed there are some reviews that mentioned the noise of the street at night. I'm not sure if it is because we stayed at the end of the season or if it was because we stayed mid week, but the noise wasn't too bad. However, if the same size room is available in the back, that's what I would choose the next time we stay. I don't feel the view was worth the extra cost. The room was small, but definitely larger than our last room...especially the bathroom.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our luggage was sent over from the Grand and when we arrived it was brought up for us. In the evenings chocolate chip cookies were brought to our room which I thought was a nice touch. In the lobby there is free coffee and cocoa all day and in the evenings there are free donuts at the front desk. WiFi is only available in the lobby which is a pain, but at least it is available. The breakfast was kind of a let down. If it was included in the room it would have been ok, but since we had to pay for it, it was not a great value. Especially for just the two of us. It is pretty standard for most hotels to offer complementary breakfasts like this now, so it really should be included in the price especially with the deluxe rooms. My tip would be to take a couple of donuts back to your room in the evenings and have them in the morning. Then, have a nice lunch somewhere.

Our room was small but clean. The bathroom floor was a strange rubbery material that was really slippery when wet. No coffee pot or phone in the room. Coffee wasn't a big deal since it is free in the lobby, but the no phone was strange. There are phones located in the hallway periodically. Our fan did not work in the bathroom which was a pain and once the fire alarm went off from the steam!! The TV was super small. We didn't watch it very much, but it looked so silly in the armoire, it would almost have been better to not even have one at all and just have a dresser there instead.

The best part of the hotel was the pool. I don't remember this from the last time we stayed and I'm guessing that it's a new addition. It's a small pool, more of a really large hot tub. It was fantastic. It is located on the second floor in the courtyard. We stayed here at the end of September and the weather was rainy and chilly the entire time. But, we still used the pool!!! It was great. It felt amazing with the hot water and the breeze. I'm not sure if any of the other guests tried it but they really missed out if they didn't.

Overall a nice hotel with a great pool :) The staff was friendly and helpful. The decor is old and simple, but the price is really reasonable. We'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a little larger room. The standard rooms are really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our second stay at the Murray, and we were quite disappointed this trip. We were offered a room on the 3rd floor. My husband asked to see the room before we booked it, but it was not clean, so we just took a chance and booked the room anyway........BIG MISTAKE...We have closets bigger than what our room was......Be sure you know what you are getting before you book.........The staff were very friendly, and the hotel was very clean........old hotel which could use some updates.........for the price it was a good deal!!!!!!

Room Tip: Just ask to see the room first, unless you have stayed before and know what you are getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Address: Main Street, P.O. Box 476, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hotel Mackinac Island
Murray Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murray Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.