We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Murray!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murray Hotel

Save Saved
You added Murray Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Murray Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, P.O. Box 476, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Mackinac Island
Northern Michigan
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Love The Murray!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I would stay at the Murray again. Why?? Great location, great location, great location! Staff were nice, rooms were fine (they have AC). Sink in room really pretty small but we didn't care much about that. The hotel was very clean. The Murray has a pretty decent breakfast deal which is very inexpensive. Their fudge is very very creamy and delicious. Also, their hotel rate was one of the lowest prices we could find. I'll definitely be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    16
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have stayed here once before in 2005 and decided to stay again. This time however we decided to stay one night at the Grand Hotel and then two nights at the Murray.

We spent a little extra for a queen deluxe room with a view. When we stayed here the last time, I remembered that the room was really small, so we wanted to upgrade just a little bit for our anniversary. Our room faced the street which is what we wanted. I noticed there are some reviews that mentioned the noise of the street at night. I'm not sure if it is because we stayed at the end of the season or if it was because we stayed mid week, but the noise wasn't too bad. However, if the same size room is available in the back, that's what I would choose the next time we stay. I don't feel the view was worth the extra cost. The room was small, but definitely larger than our last room...especially the bathroom.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our luggage was sent over from the Grand and when we arrived it was brought up for us. In the evenings chocolate chip cookies were brought to our room which I thought was a nice touch. In the lobby there is free coffee and cocoa all day and in the evenings there are free donuts at the front desk. WiFi is only available in the lobby which is a pain, but at least it is available. The breakfast was kind of a let down. If it was included in the room it would have been ok, but since we had to pay for it, it was not a great value. Especially for just the two of us. It is pretty standard for most hotels to offer complementary breakfasts like this now, so it really should be included in the price especially with the deluxe rooms. My tip would be to take a couple of donuts back to your room in the evenings and have them in the morning. Then, have a nice lunch somewhere.

Our room was small but clean. The bathroom floor was a strange rubbery material that was really slippery when wet. No coffee pot or phone in the room. Coffee wasn't a big deal since it is free in the lobby, but the no phone was strange. There are phones located in the hallway periodically. Our fan did not work in the bathroom which was a pain and once the fire alarm went off from the steam!! The TV was super small. We didn't watch it very much, but it looked so silly in the armoire, it would almost have been better to not even have one at all and just have a dresser there instead.

The best part of the hotel was the pool. I don't remember this from the last time we stayed and I'm guessing that it's a new addition. It's a small pool, more of a really large hot tub. It was fantastic. It is located on the second floor in the courtyard. We stayed here at the end of September and the weather was rainy and chilly the entire time. But, we still used the pool!!! It was great. It felt amazing with the hot water and the breeze. I'm not sure if any of the other guests tried it but they really missed out if they didn't.

Overall a nice hotel with a great pool :) The staff was friendly and helpful. The decor is old and simple, but the price is really reasonable. We'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a little larger room. The standard rooms are really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our second stay at the Murray, and we were quite disappointed this trip. We were offered a room on the 3rd floor. My husband asked to see the room before we booked it, but it was not clean, so we just took a chance and booked the room anyway........BIG MISTAKE...We have closets bigger than what our room was......Be sure you know what you are getting before you book.........The staff were very friendly, and the hotel was very clean........old hotel which could use some updates.........for the price it was a good deal!!!!!!

Room Tip: Just ask to see the room first, unless you have stayed before and know what you are getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just across the street from the ferry and an easy walk to all the shops, we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. It had the modern convenieces with the quaint feeling you'd expect for Mackinaw Island. The food and the staff were enjoyable. Be sure to get some of their fudge....it was the best.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, VT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a historical hotel right in downtown, Mackinac Island. We stayed for three nights in the deluxe King room and it was spacious and tastefully decorated. The hotel staff was friendly,outgoing, and very helpful. They are willing to cater to your every need. Our only issue was that WiFi was available in the lobby only but since we weren't there on business, it was no big deal. Would recommend the King room again. I know I wouldn't be comfortable in one of the smaller rooms so would not stay again if that was all that was available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I originally wanted to stay at Main Street Inn, but it was booked up for the weekend so when we decided here I was a little worried. The staff was very friendly and I found it cool that they were from around the world. The room we stayed in was a queen bed with a standard view. The view as to be expected was nothing special as it was of the building next door, but when you're on a budget and a view isn't the biggest of your worries who cares? The room itself was a little on the small side, but we didn't spend much time in there anyway, and it had a big enough and comfortable enough bed for us to sleep in comfortably so we didn't really care on the size of the room. The room was very clean and there were cookies for us every night. The fudge was delicious, but skip the breakfast buffet. It was decent but at an extra 6 bucks per person I don't feel it was worth it, food was luke warm, not hot as I would like, but I feel that's to be expected with a buffet. All in all I was very happy with the hotel and the price we paid compared to other places on the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

For perspective, life is about expectations - so background for the new traveller, the Island is a historical site; ALL buildings were built in the 1800's if not before. Heavy British influence given it was a British fort for many years. so with that in mind, know that you are staying in historical properties. There are NO chain hotels ( Best Westerns, Hiltons, etc.).

The Murry meets expectations, it is family owned, the staff is friendly and helpful. A porter will meet your ferry, I recommend the Arnold line since it is dircectly across the street. Upon arrival, we were promptly assigned a room in advance of the customary 3 pm checkin.

Room was clean, albeit showing signs of the age of hotel, maintenance is good. Our room was one of the "front", street side--- try to avoid if able since late night (post midnight) over- served employees of other establishments carry on. Remember the summer staff on the Island are college students, so they are night owl's. Not a hotel defect, just avoid a street exposure. Obviously there is no "traffic".

For a family or voracious teenagers, the breakfast buffet is a bargain, for 2 people I suggest venturing out. However the property is not really geared toward entaining children (IE the pool is not something for the kids).

Rooms are all English influence, IE on the smaller size, but that is a reflection of the history of the island. For the price/value, this a good property worthy of your consideration.

BTW, I'm writing this review on the Murray's front porch, using the free avail WI-FI, they will give
you the code at check-in. ( avail in the lobby area and whatever leaks into the pool/patio area).

So as long as you keep your expectations consistent with Island, and historical properties, you will be completely satisfied.

Room Tip: Front rooms are on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Address: Main Street, P.O. Box 476, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hotel Mackinac Island
Murray Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murray Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.