We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake View Hotel to your Saves list
Lake View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Huron Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Macomb, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonder Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

This was, I think, our 5th or 6th visit to the Lake View. We love it there. This time we decided to go with the bigger room. We had a Tourret room with 2 beds and a pull out sleeper. It was so much bigger than the regular rooms. Even with a fold out cot, we had plenty of room to walk around. Room was clean and the beds were very comfortable (I think they updated their mattresses recently). The pool is great for a rainy day. We ate in the main restaurant, Goodfellows, and everything was wonderful. I can see us staying anywhere else on the island. The rates are reasonable and the hotel is great, compared to what we've experienced other places.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleesales, Director of Sales at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
We greatly appericate your business year after year. my biggest saying is "come in as guests, leave as family." We cant wait to see you agian next season, and make sure you let us know that your coming up, and we will give you a big Lake View Welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    77
    29
    16
    10
See reviews for
86
67
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitby Ontario Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

I really enjoyed my two nights at the Lake View Hotel, i loved the victorian furniture, how the shops were close, also very close to the ferry. It was fun to rent a bicycle. Do have lunch at the Grand Hotel, it was amazing, also the tour by carriage thru the state park. I enjoyed going to the places where the movie Somewhere In Time was shot. I was a magical moment for me.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, IN
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed at the Lake View at the end of Septmeber for 3 nights. We paid approximately $178 a night for one of the turret rooms, Rm. 400. It was charming and perfect with a great view. The decor is very antique-y and victorian and the room was spacious. The beds were very comfortable. I know some the other reviews complained about the AC, but ours was a brand new LG AC and Heater. We used the AC during the day and the heater during the night. It worked perfectly. We had no complaints with the hotel. The location is fantastic, the staff was very welcoming and polite, and we would reccomend!
Since we were there at the end of the season, the hotel and island was busy but not busting... a perfect time to visit!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petal, Mississippi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful, roomy and comfortable. We especially liked the towels shaped into hearts on our bed. Loved waking up to the sound of the horses hoofs clip-clopping outside our window. Easily accessible to the ferry docks, stores and carriage tours. We only ate the complimentary breakfast which had a large selection of choices.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Starting with a positive, the location was good, if you like to be in the busy part of a tourist island. Very near the Ferry Boat Dock.

On a hot or humid day, it requires trips to empty the de-humidifier, which is supposed to be an air conditioner of sorts. During the night, expect to awake at least once in a warm room to empty to tank of water again. Not very convenient or effective form of A/C

Price is too high for the age, amenities, limited breakfast included, service, etc. Having a pool does not make up for the lesser parts of this old hotel.

Probably this would be a good place to spend the day, like many do to view the island, and stay elsewhere - Sault Ste Marie is only about 1 1/2 north and Traverse City only about 2 hr. SW on Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

This was our second stay at the Lakeview Hotel, and ironically we think we were in the same room as on our first visit! If you can afford the price, staying on the island is a wonderful experience.
The good:
Great location across from the ferry dock (Shepler's and the Star Line) and right in town.
An indoor pool and hot tub, so a great choice for families with children.
Clean.
Comfortable bed.
Free continental breakfast which includes yogurt, granola, apples, oranges, bananas, milk, juice, coffee, pre-made waffles, english muffins, and "store bought" pastries. Not great, but good enough. Made-to-order omelets are available for $5.
We had a nice dinner at the hotel restaurant, Goodfellow's. It's expensive, but there is a discount for those staying at the hotel.
Great outdoor porch, and outdoor seating in the restaurant.
$25 fee if reservation is cancelled more than three days before visit; no refund if less than three days. This is more lenient than many other hotels on the island.
We arrived at 12:30 and our room wasn't ready; we went out for lunch, and when we returned an hour later, the room was ready and the bell hop had put our bags in our room. I appreciated the convenience.
The bad:
Older, dated furnishings. The carpet in our room was stained. The room looked pretty much the same as I remembered it from 8 years ago, although the TV was newer.
Our room was not air conditioned (some rooms do have AC). This didn't bother us, but I know it is important to some people.
Service in the restaurant didn't seem overly friendly, maybe because they were so busy.
Price - our room was $256, including taxes, for two adults and our teenage son for a mid-week visit in August. For us, staying on the island was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This hotel it is clean and the rooms are nice but the location is not what I wanted. As soon as you step off the patio there lots of tourist and shops. You can walk down to the end of the street where there is a nice park right on lake Huron.

The hotel rooms are expensive and they are strict about cancellations and discounts. I had called to get a discount that I later saw on their web site after booking my room and they did not allow it. They claimed that the web site stated for New reservations only but that was not on the web site and was added later after I called. The resturant at the hotel "Good Fellows" was ok and we only ate there once. I think there are other places on the Island that is better value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Address: 1 Huron Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding along side our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.