We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lake View Hotel to your Saves list
Lake View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7452 Main St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Beverly Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family stayed at the Lake View hotel for 2 nights. Yes, it's expensive, but you are paying for the location. The rooms were nice and large, but nothing special. The hotel is located right on the main drag of the island, directly across from the Shepler's Ferry dock. The pool in the middle of the hotel was great for the kids, and we didn't find it too loud or obnoxious (which we were worried about).

The restaurant is also nice, and they recently opened a wine bar, which did a very nice job.

We were very happy with the stay at the Lake View Hotel and would definitely recommend it for a family stay on Mackinac Island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    79
    29
    17
    10
See reviews for
98
77
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is right on the main street right across from the ferry landings. The staff is very nice, helpful and friendly Lots of restaurants close by so that is good. The room we had was an end room with a slight view of the lake. It was spacious,clean and the bed comfortable. The biggest negative in the room was the portable a/c unit. It cooled the room fine but was very noisy and there was not a way to reduce the noise other than turning it off. The continental breakfast was what one would expect at a roadhouse hotel. Adequate, but for $5 you could get an omelette. I gave it 3 stars because for the $$$$ I expected more, though on an island like that, everything costs a lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went to Mackinac Island for our 4th time to celebrate our 10 year Anniversary. This was our third time staying at the Lake View. Which, was still in high season. But, it was a last minute decision. The hotel was not at all accommodating and welcoming. They herd their patrons and they definitely knew we were return guests and had brought another family along 2 years before. Also, I mentioned when when booking that it was our 10th Anniversary. They had not offer even a complimentary anything. We had and always bring our kids. They gave us a noisy room, and claimed it was a deluxe 2 queen suite. We're luck if they were full size beds. The carpets were dirty and the bathroom gross. The fact that we recommended this to others and brought our loyal business the hotel's way was not appreciated or rewarded - aside from the lack of effort.
The tiny "Queen" beds were hard, and we never received service. When we were ignored we made a stop at the front desk to ask for service and were told "they are gone for the day." Say goodbye to our future business. Next year we were bringing a family reunion to your hotel now we are going to one of the island resorts!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeburn, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is well located within easy walking distance to the ferries, shops, restaurants, and historic sites on beautiful Mackinac Island. We used Shepler's Ferry and after a very pleasant crossing from the mainland were met by Byron the porter/bellman for the Lake View. He provided excellent service both upon arrival and at departure. In fact, we found the entire hotel staff to be pleasant and well informed. Our room was clean, comfortable, and well appointed having sufficient room for a queen bed and a small sitting area with a desk and chair as well as a comfortable wing chair. The room was equipped with a new-looking, quite and efficient inside wall mounted air conditioner. The breakfast included with the room was typical continental breakfast fare, but for an additional five dollar charge you can get a large well prepared omelette.

This hotel does seem to be behind the times as to the availability of internet service. We were able to connect from our room at no additional charge after consulting the very pleasant young woman working at the check-in desk who helped us establish an internet connection.

Mackinac Island is a lovely and unique venue and my wife and I look forward to another visit soon. We would certainly consider staying at the Lake View Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an upgraded air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lake View hotel was ideally located in front of the star line ferry dock. Hotel staff was very helpful in giving suggestions of things to do and places to eat...and they were very courteous. Room size was a bit smaller than an average size hotel room but was comfortable. Noise from the pool can be heard although there was supposed to be a 10PM noise restriction. For those who want to relax after a long bike ride, there are lounge chairs to snooze on in front at the hotel veranda.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decker, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Receptionist had us put our carrying luggage at a location and they lost it!
3 IPads, Vera Bradley bag, 2 headphone set, iPhone chargers, shoes and much more!
No apologies...we were the ones at fault.
Will never stay there again ... Advise you the same.
Island House is our place of choice. Beware!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake_View_James, Manager at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
On occasion luggage is misplaced, however in this unique situation the guest arrived several hours prior to our check in time and was advised to speak to the porter and was directed to the location where they are stationed, in order to store this one bag.. The guest then choose to place their luggage with another parties' luggage. When that party called to have their luggage delivered to Mackinaw City the porter mistakenly sent this bag with the other luggage.

Once the guest advised us of the missing item, we were able to locate it and have it back on site within 45 minutes and in their hands. Nothing was lost or missing.

We may have miscommunicated the proper steps for storing luggage, but we did correct the situation as fast as humanly possible, and did apologize to the guest.

With the unique circumstances of arriving at Mackinac Island the many fine hotels here have a system that works 99.9999% of the time with luggage, and take every step to ensure that we don't lose any items. We use a system of claim checks and dedicated storage area for incoming and outgoing luggage. Generally if you advise us during an early check-in that you have a computer/ipad/etc in a bag and want to store it we'll take it behind the front-desk for storage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel has a great location right on Main Street. It was clean and the staff was very nice. We're used to staying at either Marriott or Courtyard by Marriott and this was fine for us. The big issue was the air conditioner. They have this bizarre air conditioner box that sits on the floor. We didn't mind it but it kept on breaking. After the first night, we told the front desk. A man came and drained it and said that the maid forgot to drain it. Around midnight, it went off again so again in the morning, we told the front desk. They had it fixed by the time we returned. But the same thing happened the last night (air conditioner went off around 1:00 am). With little kids, we were not going to call a service person in the middle of the night. When I checked out, I told the front desk that I was disappointed that the air conditioner kept on breaking and she just shook her head and said that she doesn't know why the still keep those--that was it.

I wanted to like this place. I had no issues with it other than the air conditioning but if we go to Mackinac Island again, I would probably try another place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Address: 7452 Main St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding along side our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.