We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to stay?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake View Hotel to your Saves list
Lake View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Huron Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A place to stay?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had read the reviews before reserving. We were taking my 85 yr old Mom on vacation. Due to the possibility of canceling and Lake View would cancel, with no fee, up until time we arrived. It is located so close to the dock and they had our luggage brought to our room. This was appealing. I want to tell you that at Shepler they made sure our luggage was tagged for pick-up and gave us a discount. We arrived at Lake View and were greeted and pre registered as our rooms were not ready. When rooms ready we were very pleased with good amenities and a very comfortable bed. There was a unit that sat in the room to cool and heat as needed.
I gathered after awhile that they booked large groups and maybe that is why the continental breakfast was so bad. I am not usually one to say this, but the juice was a "drink" and the donuts the cheapest, cereal, yogurt and no fruit. . So if you stay for there location, pool and rooms, GO OUT TO BREAKFAST. Really. They really should be ashamed of what they serve. The evening out on there beautiful porch was wonderful. Also, if you need handicapp accessable, it only means there are bars to help at toilet and shower. The hotel does not have ramps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake_View_James, Manager at Lake View Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I'm sorry that the ramps were not shown to this guest, but we do have two handicap ramps one on the hotel side, and one on the restaurant side.

The breakfast is provided by Goodfellows Restaurant, and may have been reduced while this guest stayed do to low occupancy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    77
    29
    16
    10
See reviews for
86
67
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you are looking to sip coffee and just turn your head to the right to see the Fort Mackinac, straight to see the ferries, left to see the light house or just people watch in the city below then the Presidential Suit is for you. Simply the best view on the island for the cost. The king beds are soft and comfy and the updated flat screen TVs and desk with a computer was an added touch. You simply cann't beat the VIEW and the only sound to wake you is a fog horn or clip clop of horse feet an amazing step back in time!

Room Tip: The presidential suite was a Perfect location with a complete view of the light house to the right a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franksville, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went to Mackinac Island to get married. We stayed at the Lake View Hotel and arrived a couple days in advance of the wedding. In advance, we arranged for our wedding to take place at the hotel, indoors or outdoors, rain or shine. It was just the two of us, so we didn't need a big reception hall or large areas. We scheduled with the hotel in advance and they were quick to respond, and upgrade us to a nice room as an act of kindness in celebration of our wedding. First, I have to mention the hotel manager. He was exceptional and exceeded any expectations we had. We had planned/hoped to find flowers locally on the island as we arrived early and shopped, but none were available. The hotel manager arranged the indoor (yes, it rained) location, and even went to call the main land to make sure we had flowers in time for the ceremony. It took a lot of pressure off of us and made our stay VERY enjoyable. The remainder of the staff including the porter and desk staff were amazing. The restaurant in the hotel had a very full menu with lots of choices. I noticed on the island that some of the restaurants had limited menus, but this wasn't the case at the Lake View Hotel.

The hotel was located directly across the street from the ferry, and it literally took 60 seconds to get from the dock to the hotel. Even though the hotel was 100 feet from the docks, they picked up our baggage and then took it to the dock when we left. From there, the ferry crew took care of our luggage, so we didn't have to "muscle" any of it.

I can't begin to thank everyone at this hotel enough for all of help they provided, and the exceptional experience we had. They definitely made this a wonderful, memorable wedding. I might add that I am 47 years old and this is the first time I have ever been married. It was everything I hoped for, and more.

Room Tip: I chose a room on a corner of the building because you can see down 2 streets instead of just what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I recently stayed here overnight during our Mackinac Island mini-vacation. The hotel has a great location, especially if you take Shepler's Ferry over because the dock is right across the street (TIP- insist on carrying your own bag if you don't want to spend money on tipping the staff because otherwise they will take it into the hotel from the boat and to your room without really asking). The rooms are quaint, some might call them outdated, but the wallpaper is really the only thing and in my opinion it's just part of the Mackinac Island vibe. They have flat screen TVs and wireless internet, so that's nice. The bathroom is a bit small, but thankfully they put the mirror and sink outside the bathroom for a better use of space. The pool is lovely, not many hotels on the island even have pools, let alone an indoor one & a hot tub! The atrium is a very nice feature that makes the hotel seem open and spacious. They have a restaurant that also serves a free continental breakfast (or you can pay $5 and get an omelet) in the mornings. A nice perk of staying there is they give you a discount card that can be used at certain shops and attractions around the island. When we checked out it was nice that they held our bags while we were out and about so we didn't have to carry them around, but they were not very well watched so I would not recommend leaving anything valuable in them! Only complaint is that the front desk staff were not as helpful as we would have liked when we were checking in and asking questions. Other than that, great experience although we were not there very long!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

There were four of us girlfriends staying in the hotel. We stayed in a turret room, very nice for a couple or small family. The room was very clean and nicely furnished. It was a little small and lacked sitting and bathroom space for four women. I would recommend two rooms for four women. The staff was very helpful, including with the history of the island. We didn't use the pool while we were there, but it looked awesome! The view of the front street was great from the room, and they have an awesome porch with rocking chairs to relax. After staying at other hotels on the island that were not as nice, I would definately stay at the LakeView again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Michigan
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I just spent the night at the Lake View on Mackinac Island. In spite of cold, rainy weather, the weekend was great thanks to the accommodations at the Lake View Hotel. From checkin to checkout, everything was great. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the room superb. We spent a little extra for a "turret" room, and our room was huge, with a beautiful view of the Straits of Mackinaw and downtown Mackinac Island. The room had a sitting area in the turret portion of the room, a flat screen HD tv, and free wifi. My only complaint about the room would be that the wifi worked poorly if at all, but that may have been due to the fact that the room was at the far end of the hotel and on the top floor. Besides, when you're on Mackinac Island, the experience is better WITHOUT internet - right? The pillow top mattresses and pillows are extremely comfortable. The room also had a waterfall showerhead, inroom remote controlled heating, and an in room safe.

The indoor pool was clean and warm, and the sauna and hot tub refreshing after the cold, rainy day.

The free continental breakfast was better than others we've had at other hotels on the island, though the omelet was $5.00 extra.

The Lake View is located right across the street from Shepler's and Star Line ferries, which is a definite plus. Porters from the hotel meet the ferries and take your luggage right to the room.

This hotel was a great retreat for our weekend getaway, and we look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: The turret rooms are larger and have great views. Avoid rooms on north side that face the side str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Lake View Hotel is perfect in every way! It combines "old world" elegance with "new world" convenience AND it is in the ideal location for strolling or sightseeing. Outside the window (which is atop the wide front porch with rocking chairs) you can see and hear the horses clopping along the street, ready to take you for a tour of beautiful Mackinac Island. There are numerous shops to explore nearby as well as a connected Italian restaurant. Overall, the most perfect atmospheric hotel I've stayed in for a long time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Hotel

Address: 1 Huron Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Hotel is located on timeless Mackinac Island. Our hotel is conveniently located downtown, making your favorite shops, restaurants and ferry lines just a walk away. We feature 85 newly upgraded guest rooms, the only indoor, heated pool on the island, free wireless internet, and a Continental Breakfast. We pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our guests needs while not forgetting our historical past. As a guest at the Lake View hotel you will enjoy 32” LCD Flat screen televisions, new plush mattresses, pillows and bedding along side our Victorian style decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Lake View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Mackinac Island
Hotel Lake View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.