We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arch Rock

Arch Rock
Mackinac Island, MI
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Natural rock bridge soaring 149 feet above the Straits of Mackinac appears to be suspended in midair.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Love arch rock. It's gorgeous view and climbing the 244 steps to get up there was good exercise and fun!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    156
    37
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful landmark not to be missed on Mackinac Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We experienced this beautiful landmark on a carriage tour of Mackinac Island in July, 2014. Very interesting geological formation and worth the trip to see it. Also very, very beautiful views from the new observatory platform that extends out from this side of the island. As we learned on our tour this won't be here for ever - eventually the wind and elements will wear the Arch Rock away. See it now while you can!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ont
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“part of the carriage tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The arch rock was interesting. Lots of opportunity to photograph it. The view from the top is very scenic.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We got to see this on our carriage tour and we only spent about 8 minutes here. It's just a rock!! (Need I say more). There is an interesting love story behind the rock that we heard about on our tour.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Vanishing Landmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I have not seen this arch for a while and I noticed immediately that it is slowly eroding away. I compared present day to old pictures from the early 60's and the thinning of the arch is drastic. See this natural landform while it still exists. The views are wonderful. Mornings seem best to avoid the crowds as this is a popular stop on a bike ride around the island.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arch Rock also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Arch Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arch Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.