We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly a carriage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mackinac Island Carriage Tours

Mackinac Island Carriage Tours
P.O. Box 400, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
906-847-3307
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Narrated tours of this island that doesn't allow cars.
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Not exactly a carriage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Carriage tour is more like a hayrack with benches. As you head uphill, you'll be on a cart with several benches that each seat four people. As you return, you'll be on an even bigger cart that hold five to six individuals on each row.

Do NOT sit in the front row. The horses are not pollution free.

The carriage drivers vary quite a bit. We enjoyed two - one on the way up, and one on the way back. One was much more animated than the other.

Overall, we enjoyed the ride and learned a lot. We'd do it again. Fortunately, our expectations were in tune with reality due to our review of the rides on TripAdvisor!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    127
    34
    23
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Nice tour of the island it was very informative in downtown. Good option to use to get away from the shopping and go back into history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ionia, MI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Was nice to have someone explain about the island and Carrie was very good, and knew a lot about the Island. We had no idea where to even start so we choose to take a carriage tour, it was well worth the price, although the last half of the tour was a little boring when we were going through the woods. I would tour the Island again on the carriage.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this tour!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This tour was so worth the money. Plus it's reasonably priced. All of the tour guides were very knowledgeable. My family was reluctant to go because they felt bad for the horses, but you can tell they are very well treated. We really enjoyed this experience! It was a nice way to see a good chunk of the island. Would highly recommend!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Carriage tour was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Cold, wet and raining but the tour was informative and entertaining...guides are fun and informative. They are very well trained and seem to really enjoy their jobs. Recommend this any day of the week.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mackinac Island Carriage Tours also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Mackinac Island Carriage Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mackinac Island Carriage Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.