We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island
7267 Market St, P.O. Box 458, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Bath, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very inviting ... Went in late September and weather was awesome. Very clean and accomodating. Bet this is an awesome B and B in the summer with their outside porch and landscaping.
Breakfast was not just carbs ... fresh made items.
They were very helpful with suggestions on where to eat ....
We would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    20
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
51
230
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cottage Inn for our first time being on the island for an overnight. It was truly wonderful! The hosts were terrific, the Inn was super clean, the bed was extremely comfy, the shower was awesome (especially after being out in the wind and rain), the breakfast was tasty, and just enjoyable all around!!! I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast and plan on coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Cottage Inn is beautiful, nearly new, Victorian style, 3 level building. Particularly wonderful were the hosts, Rich and Marge who made wonderful complete breakfasts and kept the inn immaculately clean. The inn is located one street over from main street and the Arnold line ferry depot. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I had the best time at my stay at the Cottage Inn on Mackinac Island. Rich and Marge were great. They were so personable with their guests and knowledgable about the Island. They also made me feel right at home. My room was very comfortable and very clean. The breakfast each morning was delicious. I really enjoyed the complimentary Murdick's Fudge, carmel corn, and salt water taffy that was in my room. (I must confess that I did take some home to share with my family.) I will definitely stay at the Cottage Inn when I return to the Island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Cottage Inn is an excellent choice for lodging on the island. "Coming Home" there every day after a full day of exploring was the Picaso of Paintings, the Platinum of Metals, or...simply, PERFECTION!

Booking & check-in/check out were a breeze.

Northern hospitality was at its' best here! Rich and Marge are knowledgeable of the island, professional, efficient, and fully equipped and willing to fullfill the needs of their guests.

The Inn is very well kept and maintained. It's around 11 years old but it could pass as brand new. It has a very solid feel to it. This may be a strange comment to read; but it was extremely WINDY while we were there; and we barely heard anything inside our room!

Housekeeping works every day to refresh the room. It's like being on a cruise ship where you go out for breakfast and come back and it's like new. The Inn, overall, has a very clean feel to it. It feels like the managers really take ownership in their position and treat the Inn as if it is their own.

There are treats each afternoon. Always fudge and caramel corn. Sometimes peanut brittle and cake. Coffee is always full, as is decaf, hot water (tea back on the shelf above), and ice water. They're all on pumps right at the bottom of the stairs. The ceramic cups are always plentiful.

There are over 100 (I didn't count, just by looking) movies that they offer to guests to watch, and popcorn is in a drawer right below the microwave in the common area. A real treat.

Breakfast is always good, varied, and plentiful. A blend of diced watermelon, cantelope, and honeydew melon are there every morning, along with a big dish of strawberry yogurt to go with it. There is also a wide assortment of bread, with peanut butter & jelly, butter, and jam to go with it. The biggest portion of breakfast is a hot egg casserole. Each morning it's different, and always quite tastey and filling. Also, all sorts of juice & banannas.

We stayed in the Mackinac Suite, which is the front two rooms on the top floor, together as one room. It's very spacious and nice for two couples. There is a shared bathroom with shared lavatory in the master bedroom, which has a door. The shared lavatory is actually in the master bedroom. There is a full dresser there. The second sleeping area is right as you walk in the door. There is a closet and a microfridge there as well. If you find you don't have enough hangers, you can get more by asking. The turret serves as a gathering place with three overstuffed chairs (quite comfy), a coffee table, and a new TV with DVD player. Really nice. I noticed when we were there that a fourth chair had been added. Not sure if that was because there were four of us or not. I had not noticed it in any other pictures. I thought it was added in and was a nice thought.

The beds were incredibly comfortable with exquisite bedding. Plenty of pillows! Extra blankets in the closet.

The temperature control in the room was the most impressive setup I've seen in a shared space. There are three spaces (turret, main sleeping area, & master bedroom). EACH SPACE had it's own simply operated controls for heat and A/C! This makes it very nice when travelling with others. There are also screens on all windows if you want fresh aire.

We loved the rainfall shower head. This room has no bathtub. Water temperature and pressure were great, even with four people in our room and the Inn being full!!!

We didn't stay in the Turret Room this time; but my dad and husband did three years ago. It has lots of room as well. One bed plus a pull out couch, and the nice front view turret like the Mackinac Suite. This size of this room would be about like the Mackinac Suite without the master bedroom.

Wi-Fi is good throughout the hotel. In the evening a couple of times we had four different devices going without event.

Some things to keep in mind at this Inn:
-As with all B&B's, access to upper floors is by stairs.
-There is no public bathroom in the common area.
-If you need a taxi, just ask Rich or Marge. They'll call them for you!
-If you want to see a menu from a particular restaurant, they probably have a full size one behind the desk! They'll make recommendations & give you discount cards for many, too!

I didn't have many pictures to post because the innkeepers and other guests have already done a great job! I posted a couple to give a feel of the size of the Inn and also the set-up of the Mackinac Suite and the Turret Room from the outside perspective.

Room Tip: The Mackinac Suite is the largest room in the house, top floor, great view of Market Street. The Tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Rich & Marge Lind are the delightful managers of this great B & B in the heart of the downtown area. It is reasonably priced for the convenient location and the pleasant (but smallish) rooms. The breakfast is wonderful and their clientele all seemed friendly and courteous making for a very enjoyable stay. The rooms do not have any remarkable views, but they are meticulously clean and well-appointed. The cozy living area has books on Mackinac Island, over a hundred DVDs to be used in the guest rooms, and fudge and candy for your sweet tooth. The proprietors were helpful and knowledgeable about the Island. Our two night stay here was relaxing and certainly added to our trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Cottage Inn for 3 nights in May. Rich and Marge are great Inn keepers. We have been coming to Mackinac Island for years but we learned of a few more things to see and do from them. The Lilac room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed Marge's egg dishes.She made a different type all 3 days we were there. It was nice coming back in the afternoon to enjoy the fudge and other sweet treats. We want to return again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island

Address: 7267 Market St, P.O. Box 458, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island is a beautiful inn built with Victorian style and charm. The Cottage Inn was built in 2001 and we are proud to be the most modern B&B on Mackinac Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn Of Mackinac Island Hotel Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cottage Inn of Mackinac Island to your Saves list