We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island House nice , but not Grand” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island House Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Tingo.com
and 3 more sites!
Island House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 1410, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Now for 2014 Season
Ranked #12 of 13 hotels in Mackinac Island
usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Island House nice , but not Grand”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was on a business trip and was orignally scheduled to stay at the Grand Hotel. Unfortunatley, a few weeks before the conference the conference was changed to the Island House. I was disappointed, but it wasn't my call.

The Island House was historic (old), cozy(much smaller), but certainly a step down from my original "Grand" expectations. When I arrived (I checked in early to get settled) I found my room and more disappointment. Although the Island House faces the water (and has a very lovely porch) my room was on the side of the building, facing a nearby building with a view of a backyard walkway. I asked the clerk if I could change my room to a "front" view. She made some obviously insincere comments about being "full" and unable to accommadate my request. I found out later, her comments weren't true.

So I was assigned a room with no other option nor any willingness to meet my request. The rooms was fine , but not "finely" appointed nor special in any particular way. It was an adequate room. Considering the price of the the hotel the ordinariness of the room was surprising.

We had part of our confernce meetings held in the back yard of the hotel in a tent with heaters. In the summer this would have been fine , but this was September and it was "cccold". Oddly enough, I asked more than one hotel employee where my confernce meeting room was and at least 2 had no idea /and/or misdirected me. For a small hotel this was odd.

It was clear also, the Island House wasn't use to confernce meetings as there was only one small inside room off the dining room i.e. rather cramped quarters.

The hotel would be ok if there wasn't a "Grander" choice just down the street for similar amount of money. I would recommend insist on the Grand if you would like a Grand stay on the Island.

Room Tip: As for the front of the hotel overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    104
    37
    27
    26
See reviews for
94
135
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

When I am on Mackinac Island for business, I often stay at properties managed by Island House. Specifically Harbor Place apartments which are right on the harbor near the Shepler's ferry dock. I always appreciate the no nonsense coordination of my room with the Island House staff, the convenience, cleanliness and thoughtfulness of the facilities. I have stayed with them several times and have never been disappointed!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had been wanting to spend an overnite on Mackinac Island with friends since our last adventure to New York City last January. Which by the way was just so much fun!

This was a wonderful adventure that started with a great offer of tickets for the ferry, breakfast included room price (not just a continental breakfast but eggs pancakes, french toast, fresh fruit, coffee, juice, potatoes...a great way to start the day of strolling the island) and just down the street from the ferry! All of the staff were wonderful. Wait staff was thinning as it was towards the end of the season but more that adequate, and very friendly.

The swimming pool was nice and still open, it was indoors with plenty of seating on the outside and on the deck.

This hotel is the oldest on the Island so the rooms are not huge, but you spend little time in them as you are busy roaming the island, which is a true step back in time. At the end of the day they have chimeneas with a fire going so you can roast marshmallows. The porch is wonderful and you can see the harbor and Round Island Lighthouse from it.

We ate dinner at the Grand Hotel and it was delightful! The desk called us a horse drawn taxi and off we went! Such a magnificient building. Somewhere in time was filmed there with Christopher Reed and Jan Seymour...We took a tour of the Island because it was iffy as far as the weather was concerned and it was worth every penny! Mike was awesome!

The hotel also picks up your luggage from the ferry and will take your luggage to the ferry, although it is a quick walk and not difficult manage on your own

Island House was great for us! Hope it is for you too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blairsville, PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was traveling with my sister who found a great deal for the end of season on travelzoo.com For a fantastic price we received four hours of biking, two night stay, fifty dollar dining credit and a 1/2 pound of fudge.

The weather was not ideal while we were there, but we still enjoyed the four hours of biking around the island. There are about 3/4 of the sites still open this late in the season and there are great deals on souvenirs!

The hotel was out of many things--as it was the end of season--but they were very good about accommodating us. They pick up and deliver your luggage from the ferry. There is even a swimming pool and hot tub on site. They light chimeras out on the front lawn in the evening and have marshmallows for roasting (for a price).

It is a bit of a rambling place with lots of hallways and stairs to maneuver through, but that just adds to the overall feel of the place.

The room was a bit small but it more than met our needs.

The veranda is lovely for sitting and watching the lake and the view from the dining room is gorgeous.

They offer a free breakfast buffet every day which was very good as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWOSSO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a two night stay at the Island House Hotel on Mackinac Island, Michigan. While this is the oldest hotel on the island it has clean comfortable rooms. Our room was small but pleasant, and reasonably priced. The bed was very comfortable and provided a great night's sleep. The hotel rents bikes and is very close to downtown and the fort. You can dress up to dine or eat in your street clothes. Dinner was excellent, though pricey, and very relaxing, with soft piano music playing throughout the meal. The dinning room overlooks the Marina and Harbor. The hotel offers a variety of packages on their facebook page/ website.

Room Tip: The elevator does not go to the fourth floor. Rooms with a harbor view are more expensive. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our second visit to the Island House, but our first with our kids. Yet again, we had a great time. LOVE the location just outside of the "main street" chaos, yet still close to everything. The view and the porch will keep you coming back. Highly recomend. We will be back!

Room Tip: Water view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Dissappointing! we booked a two night stay in a king room using Groupon / Travelzoo for $386. We arrive on a Sunday at 11am , we are told check-in is 3 , come back then. nothing to do at the hotel , the common area is the size of my livingroom and it has a couch - table -tv. we return at 3 ,room ready and OMG - the hallway and room have an overpowering perfume smell - a king bed , a chair and a small "garage sale" dresser .. thats it. room was smaller than a bedroom in my house. We requested a larger room , were told if we paid $80 a night more they would move us up ,even though the 92 room hotel was almost empty(sunday) no free upgrade. bed mattress shot - room dated - feather pillows provided when requested -poor tv reception - ugg.we checked out the next morning even though we paid for 2 nights and when leaving the hotel staff only said " you are checking out a day early ? do you want to leave your resturant charges on the credit card we have on file?" no " is there something wrong - or what can we do to improve your experence ". If you stay on the island and want a fond memory of the experence do not stay here. They get your money and that's all they care about.

Room Tip: stay at a differt hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel

Also Known As:
Island Hotel Mackinac
Address: P.O. Box 1410, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island House Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 150 years of experience offering exquisite hospitality, the Island House Hotel welcomes visitors and guests to this State of Michigan Historic Landmark. Overlooking the shores of beautiful Lake Huron, the Island House Hotel offers guests comfortable and modern accommodations. Recommended by AAA, Island House is the only hotel on Mackinac Island that is located within the pristine boundaries of the Mackinac Island State Park. All of our rooms have air-conditioning available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Island House Hotel to your Saves list