We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing way to enjoy Mackinac Island.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Island House Hotel to your Saves list
Island House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 1410, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Owosso
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing way to enjoy Mackinac Island.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a two night stay at the Island House Hotel on Mackinac Island, Michigan. While this is the oldest hotel on the island it has clean comfortable rooms. Our room was small but pleasant, and reasonably priced. The bed was very comfortable and provided a great night's sleep. The hotel rents bikes and is very close to downtown and the fort. You can dress up to dine or eat in your street clothes. Dinner was excellent, though pricey, and very relaxing, with soft piano music playing throughout the meal. The dinning room overlooks the Marina and Harbor. The hotel offers a variety of packages on their facebook page/ website.

Room Tip: The elevator does not go to the fourth floor. Rooms with a harbor view are more expensive. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    144
    55
    33
    30
See reviews for
126
183
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our second visit to the Island House, but our first with our kids. Yet again, we had a great time. LOVE the location just outside of the "main street" chaos, yet still close to everything. The view and the porch will keep you coming back. Highly recomend. We will be back!

Room Tip: Water view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Dissappointing! we booked a two night stay in a king room using Groupon / Travelzoo for $386. We arrive on a Sunday at 11am , we are told check-in is 3 , come back then. nothing to do at the hotel , the common area is the size of my livingroom and it has a couch - table -tv. we return at 3 ,room ready and OMG - the hallway and room have an overpowering perfume smell - a king bed , a chair and a small "garage sale" dresser .. thats it. room was smaller than a bedroom in my house. We requested a larger room , were told if we paid $80 a night more they would move us up ,even though the 92 room hotel was almost empty(sunday) no free upgrade. bed mattress shot - room dated - feather pillows provided when requested -poor tv reception - ugg.we checked out the next morning even though we paid for 2 nights and when leaving the hotel staff only said " you are checking out a day early ? do you want to leave your resturant charges on the credit card we have on file?" no " is there something wrong - or what can we do to improve your experence ". If you stay on the island and want a fond memory of the experence do not stay here. They get your money and that's all they care about.

Room Tip: stay at a differt hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Island House Hotel October 1st through the 3rd. Wish we had made reservations to stay a few more days. The hotel was wonderful, the view was fantastic and every staff we had any interaction with was great. We plan to go back in the spring and will stay here again. We ate dinner at the hotel one night and it was wonderful....far, far better than our dinner at the Grand.
In the afternoons we would fix our drink and sit on the lawn and just enjoy the view.We really had a relaxing time. Thanks to all the staff at the Island House Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Personally I think the hotel can use updates on the inside. The crack where the door shuts was so large, light shined through all night, as well on the bottom of the door. believe it or not, snoring was heard from another room. very irritating, had to sleep with the tv on to drown it out. the second day we noticed Our room was leaking water after heavy rain all night. Called the front desk and they upgraded us free of charge to a larger better room. No more snoring was heard. one spider was killed. Staff was friendly. Buffet was average. View was beautiful. Got a good deal on the price. Would maybe stay there again.

Room Tip: It is what it is, the oldest hotel on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It may not be the Ritz, but it was a wonderful place and the price was far better than the quoted $900 a night at The Grand--which I found to be one of the ugliest interiors on the Island by the way. The food was very good, the room was very comfortable and clean. People need to remember this is an Inn built in 1852 and the decor is very "Michigan" per my Michigan born and raised boyfriend. Don't go with expectations of a 5 star establishment--just go knowing you will have one of the most beautiful views on the Island, the people are friendly and the room is very comfortable. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We absolutely LOVED our stay at the Island House! Sitting on the wrap around front porch in rocking chairs overlooking the lake with many other guests was like going back in time, wonderful! Enjoyed our room, dinner in the upscale hotel restaurant was amazing, enjoying the pianist playing throughout our dinner. The staff at the hotel was very friendly as was our waitress at dinner. The white fish was amazing! We can not wait to come back to Island House. Staying on the Island is a totally different experience than just a days visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#9 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 1410, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 150 years of experience offering exquisite hospitality, the Island House Hotel welcomes visitors and guests to this State of Michigan Historic Landmark. Overlooking the shores of beautiful Lake Huron, the Island House Hotel offers guests comfortable and modern accommodations. Recommended by AAA, Island House is the only hotel on Mackinac Island that is located within the pristine boundaries of the Mackinac Island State Park. All of our rooms have air-conditioning available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Groupon so you can book your Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Mackinac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.