We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Island House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 1410, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Mackinac Getaway Package
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Mackinac Island
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Island House Hotel October 1st through the 3rd. Wish we had made reservations to stay a few more days. The hotel was wonderful, the view was fantastic and every staff we had any interaction with was great. We plan to go back in the spring and will stay here again. We ate dinner at the hotel one night and it was wonderful....far, far better than our dinner at the Grand.
In the afternoons we would fix our drink and sit on the lawn and just enjoy the view.We really had a relaxing time. Thanks to all the staff at the Island House Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    116
    41
    30
    26
See reviews for
105
140
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Personally I think the hotel can use updates on the inside. The crack where the door shuts was so large, light shined through all night, as well on the bottom of the door. believe it or not, snoring was heard from another room. very irritating, had to sleep with the tv on to drown it out. the second day we noticed Our room was leaking water after heavy rain all night. Called the front desk and they upgraded us free of charge to a larger better room. No more snoring was heard. one spider was killed. Staff was friendly. Buffet was average. View was beautiful. Got a good deal on the price. Would maybe stay there again.

Room Tip: It is what it is, the oldest hotel on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It may not be the Ritz, but it was a wonderful place and the price was far better than the quoted $900 a night at The Grand--which I found to be one of the ugliest interiors on the Island by the way. The food was very good, the room was very comfortable and clean. People need to remember this is an Inn built in 1852 and the decor is very "Michigan" per my Michigan born and raised boyfriend. Don't go with expectations of a 5 star establishment--just go knowing you will have one of the most beautiful views on the Island, the people are friendly and the room is very comfortable. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We absolutely LOVED our stay at the Island House! Sitting on the wrap around front porch in rocking chairs overlooking the lake with many other guests was like going back in time, wonderful! Enjoyed our room, dinner in the upscale hotel restaurant was amazing, enjoying the pianist playing throughout our dinner. The staff at the hotel was very friendly as was our waitress at dinner. The white fish was amazing! We can not wait to come back to Island House. Staying on the Island is a totally different experience than just a days visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

2013 New York City rates for 1852 comfort. We booked a so-called deluxe king room with a view. "Deluxe" is certainly an overstatement to say the least. While we got a king size bed, the room was so tiny that we could barely move in it. The room was clean but the furniture is really kitsch and I guess that the bed sheets are probably from 1852.They were completely threadbare. The view was really beautiful but partly covered by a fixed useless ugly flowery curtain and ridiculous Halloween decoration on the facade of the hotel that made it look more like a Disneyland horror house than a historic hotel. The lobby and common areas are ridiculously small, there are only two sitting areas for a hotel with dozens of rooms. This is probably due to the fact that the ground floor has also been stuffed with rooms. They seem to want to take advantage of every inch in this building. It is true that it has a beautiful veranda and outdoor areas where one could have a drink in front of the lake but there was no one in sight who could serve you that drink. The only thing you could get was a bag of marshmallows available at the reception for $ 3. Believe me, to get marshmallows, I would stay in NY and go to Coney Island. The staff of the hotel is invisible. When you happen to meet them by chance, they are really nice and try to be helpful but they are very young and inexperienced. For their sake and the sake of the service, I suggest that the hotel provide them with some training. After all, for the rate we paid, we are entitled to get normal hotel services and not the minimalistic hostel-like service.
The breakfast buffet was decent but only served between 7:30 and 9:30. The waiters were very nice and helpful but completely overwhelmed as they were very few and the restaurant was stuffed with people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here using a Groupon. When she had booked - we had a king size room. When we arrived - we were told we had a queen, or two doubles. After some back and forth with the staff we decided on the double room. We got our key = went upstairs, and saw our view... of the dumpster! When I went down to ask about a possible different view - I was behind another couple - who were also checking in using the same Groupon. What I over heard astounded me. They were told that they had been upgraded to some super deluxe room with a harbor view. Why did they get this upgraded - because they know one of the managers. Per the attendant behind the counter = "well it pays to know someone!" They took their key and went off happily. When I inquired about possibly changing our room to a different vie w- I was told no. AND when I commented about the couple before us - I was told "well it is al about who you know". We will NEVER stay here again! Even though it has potential.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort wayne, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

STAY AWAY! Anyone with perfume/scented allergies this is NOT THE HOTEL FOR YOU! The hotel is scented so strongly everywhere I had a migraine within minutes of being there! We had to find a different one! The hotel would not reimburse our money, the manager was unwilling to help or showed any concern. The rooms are very small and the hallways very winding and up/down stairs to get to your floor. We first had to take an elevator then figure out what stairs we were to take to get to the fourth floor rooms! We were so confused as to where we were by the time we found our strongly scented room! I'm not one to write a review usually, however I didn't want anyone else to end up in the same position we were, left to find a hotel to sleep in for our stay! Thankfully it was October and not summer and there were rooms available at other hotels! We have stayed at many hotels on the island, this was by far the worst one, sad to say but true! We were so excited to stay here too, but when you leave sick and in tears it's a pretty good indication of what kind of hotel it is!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 1410, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island House Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 150 years of experience offering exquisite hospitality, the Island House Hotel welcomes visitors and guests to this State of Michigan Historic Landmark. Overlooking the shores of beautiful Lake Huron, the Island House Hotel offers guests comfortable and modern accommodations. Recommended by AAA, Island House is the only hotel on Mackinac Island that is located within the pristine boundaries of the Mackinac Island State Park. All of our rooms have air-conditioning available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Mackinac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.