We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for smokers - Non-smokers should stay away.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour View Inn to your Saves list
Harbour View Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6860 Main Street, PO Box 1207, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for smokers - Non-smokers should stay away.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Harbor View several times over the last 5 years and and always enjoyed our stays in the past. This year we went for three days over the 4th of July and spent the whole time choking on cigarette smoke. We stayed at the B&B and were shocked to find that they now allow smoking on the property. There was a sign in the guest rooms saying no smoking but it is apparently allowed everywhere else. We generally like to sit on the front porch for coffee in the morning and at the end of the day, but a group of chain smokers took up residence on the porch and hardly left. Also because the living room and dining room were just off the porch and the windows were wide open, everything, including breakfast, smelled like cigarette smoke. On the rare occasion the smokers left for a few hours every table on the porch was covered in ashtrays, provided by the Harbor View I assume, full of old cigarette butts .

I complained to the front desk and was told that smoking was allowed and that there was nothing they could do about it. It's a shame they have chosen to cater to smokers because otherwise the Harbor View is a nice place to stay. Needless to say we will be staying somewhere else the next time we come to Mackinac.

Room Tip: Stay away if you are a non-smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToLeaveFeedback, Manager at Harbour View Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We value your commitment to our property and are saddened to find that this last stay was less than satisfactory. By state law, smoking is not allowed in hotels, bars or restaurants and we stand by this law. Unfortunately the law does not apply to outdoor spaces.

A definite oversight on our part was to leave the windows open to the breakfast room and allow the smoke to enter. We will discuss this concern with our staff so they are more aware for future travelers.

We do hope that you will continue to be loyal guests of ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    81
    12
    13
    6
See reviews for
52
93
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenpool, Oklahoma, USA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed as a family for 3 days on Mackinac Island. Loved the location of this property and was perfect for us. The breezes off the harbor kept us cool and we had A/C in the room when we closed up the room for the night. Breakfast was a traditional continental breakfast and we took fruit for a snack while riding bikes in the morning. Very quiet and laid-back location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The location of this B&B is close enough to walk with bags from Arnolds Transport and far enough away from the downtown area to be very peacefull at night. The breafast is more like a continental breakfast but is good. We were on the second floor and never heard noise from any of the other guests even though it appeared to be full. This was recommended to us by a friend and would also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Location is great but staff is lacking in a major way. Walls are paper thin and the bedding and the overall cleanliness of the room was seriously lacking. One older gentleman stood out as exceptionally helpful but the manager and the "snooty clerk" mentioned from another reviewer were both people I had the unfortunate experience to deal with. Staff needs an overhaul but the location and proximity to shops and places to eat are nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

The good: location was good, the rooms were clean and a good size, the bathroom was clean and also an appropriate size, the views were awesome, and it was a pretty good continental breakfast.

The bad: the lack of A/C in most rooms was universally considered the main downside by many of the guests (fans were provided), the service wasn't spectacular (our room wasnt turned over), and it was a little expensive given the value (compared to other places).

Overall middle of the road.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is my second summer to stay at the Harbour View Inn and everything was lovely, from our garden room to the beautifully landscaped lawns. The maids keep the linens changed and the room clean daily. The breakfast was very nice and filling and although the inside dining may be crowded, there is also outside seating in the expanded dining room. The front desk was very helpful. The bike rentals are cheaper than in town. The location was perfect and only 1/2 block from The Butterfly House and a 5 minute walk to down town. The Harbour View offers half price rates for the summer for certain weeks if you book in January. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: The Carriage House has king rooms with balconies; the main house is the older part, but still with b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights couple of weeks back. Rooms were nice as promised. Nice property overall.Garden view is just for the name but no big deal.

Biggest disappointment was breakfast - both mornings bagels, toasts or fruits will run out by 8:30 AM or 9:00 AM - even though breakfast is offered till 9:30 AM. Even if you ask them, they will say they don't have it any more.

It is not so much what they offer but they don't stock it once offerings run out. Breakfast is minimalist- usual cereals, bagels, toast, coffee, juice and some fruits so it should not be hard to stock it till the time breakfast is offered.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToLeaveFeedback, Manager at Harbour View Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. Our staff strives to produce the best, most hospitable experience for all our guests however it seems that we did fall short during your visit.

You are correct in stating that our breakfast runs until 9:30am and that it should be stocked through that entire time. I have taken your comments to our breakfast staff and we are working to improve the consistency of breakfast offerings so future guests do not experience the same thing. Our complimentary breakfast is a service that is included in any room reservation and we want to make sure that it lives up to the high standards that we hold.

We hope that you will consider our property again for future stays as we do truly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Inn

Address: 6860 Main Street, PO Box 1207, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a short walk from the best attractions on Mackinac Island, yet away from the bustling traffic of downtown. Our relaxing hotel complex offers a variety of rooms in four different buildings and complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbour View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Mackinac Island
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.