We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Inn

Save Saved
You added Harbour View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour View Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6860 Main Street, PO Box 1207, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Mackinac Island
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So-So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Location is great but staff is lacking in a major way. Walls are paper thin and the bedding and the overall cleanliness of the room was seriously lacking. One older gentleman stood out as exceptionally helpful but the manager and the "snooty clerk" mentioned from another reviewer were both people I had the unfortunate experience to deal with. Staff needs an overhaul but the location and proximity to shops and places to eat are nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    65
    12
    11
    6
See reviews for
45
69
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

The good: location was good, the rooms were clean and a good size, the bathroom was clean and also an appropriate size, the views were awesome, and it was a pretty good continental breakfast.

The bad: the lack of A/C in most rooms was universally considered the main downside by many of the guests (fans were provided), the service wasn't spectacular (our room wasnt turned over), and it was a little expensive given the value (compared to other places).

Overall middle of the road.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is my second summer to stay at the Harbour View Inn and everything was lovely, from our garden room to the beautifully landscaped lawns. The maids keep the linens changed and the room clean daily. The breakfast was very nice and filling and although the inside dining may be crowded, there is also outside seating in the expanded dining room. The front desk was very helpful. The bike rentals are cheaper than in town. The location was perfect and only 1/2 block from The Butterfly House and a 5 minute walk to down town. The Harbour View offers half price rates for the summer for certain weeks if you book in January. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: The Carriage House has king rooms with balconies; the main house is the older part, but still with b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights couple of weeks back. Rooms were nice as promised. Nice property overall.Garden view is just for the name but no big deal.

Biggest disappointment was breakfast - both mornings bagels, toasts or fruits will run out by 8:30 AM or 9:00 AM - even though breakfast is offered till 9:30 AM. Even if you ask them, they will say they don't have it any more.

It is not so much what they offer but they don't stock it once offerings run out. Breakfast is minimalist- usual cereals, bagels, toast, coffee, juice and some fruits so it should not be hard to stock it till the time breakfast is offered.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToLeaveFeedback, Manager at Harbour View Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. Our staff strives to produce the best, most hospitable experience for all our guests however it seems that we did fall short during your visit.

You are correct in stating that our breakfast runs until 9:30am and that it should be stocked through that entire time. I have taken your comments to our breakfast staff and we are working to improve the consistency of breakfast offerings so future guests do not experience the same thing. Our complimentary breakfast is a service that is included in any room reservation and we want to make sure that it lives up to the high standards that we hold.

We hope that you will consider our property again for future stays as we do truly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I visit Mackinac Island every summer and have stayed in many properties on the island. This was my first visit to the Harbour View Inn and I loved it! My room was nicely decorated, clean, and I had a view of the harbor from my window (my room was in the B&B). The breakfast that was included with the room was good. All of the public areas of the property were very nice. It was quiet and relaxing! I have also stayed at the Iroquois which is truly amazing if you want to pay the high prices they charge, the Metevier Inn which was a bit of a disappointment for me, Mission Point several times which was always nice, and the Inn at Stonecliff which was nice, but I have to say that out of all the places I have stayed on Mackinac, the Harbour View Inn was an excellent value for the quality of accomodations, location, and total experience! I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Stay in the B&B near the front of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToLeaveFeedback, Manager at Harbour View Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
We are so happy to hear about your wonderful experience and thank you for sharing it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We enjoyed the spacious room, the balcony with the view over the garden and the quietness of the guest house. We were close to everything, including a neighbor with three sheltie dogs. The staff were very accommodating about our needs. Extended continental breakfast room can get crowded when hotel is full, but you can move to the front porch to enjoy the view over the main street. Don't forget to visit the Grand Hotel too.

Room Tip: Rooms in the guest house are larger on second and third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveToLeaveFeedback, Manager at Harbour View Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience! We love our neighbors and their three sheltie's too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

While I'm not sure that there is a bad location on the island. This one is certainly within walking distance to the 'downtown' area. But just far enough from there that the 'traffic' is starting to thin out. The room was very nice (large) very clean and up to date. The folks at the desk were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again. The continental breakfast was nothing to write home about. Sort of standard hotel fare, some fruit, yogurt and granola, couple of sweet rolls, hard boiled eggs, coffee and tea.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Inn

Address: 6860 Main Street, PO Box 1207, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a short walk from the best attractions on Mackinac Island, yet away from the bustling traffic of downtown. Our relaxing hotel complex offers a variety of rooms in four different buildings and complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Harbour View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Mackinac Island
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.