We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This review is about the spa only, which was FANTASTIC.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lilac Tree Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
7372 Main St., Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
CHICAGO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This review is about the spa only, which was FANTASTIC.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

So we were in Mackinaw staying at the sister hotel, The Chippewa hotel. We saw the advertisement for spa services at the Lilac Spa. We booked 2 one hour appointments for massages for the following day. When we arrived to book the appointments and again for the massages, the reception room was not what we expected. When we arrived for our appointments though, we were taken in to the relaxation room and wow, what a great place. We were given lockers, robes and slippers. My girlfriend had Deb and I had Kelly. Both were very great at tailoring the massage to what we needed. After wards Kelly had a glass of water, with this awesome Tranquility drops. AMAZING! we are already planning on our return trip to Mackinac and the Lilac Spa. Maybe we will try Tatiana when we go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    81
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
132
136
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

My family stayed in a suite with balcony overlooking the street. There isn't a better location on the island. We enjoyed relaxing on the balcony, watching the island "awaken" each morning, and people watching . The room was pricey but we felt the location, cleanliness, and comfy beds justified the price. The building (and all of the island) are old, but that is part of it's charm. While on the island we enjoyed riding bikes around the perimeter of the island, lunch at the fort, and toured the grand hotel. I would recommend having breakfast at Marc's bakery a bit down the street and dinner at Horn's. Shepler's and starline ferries are within a block from the hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

While the room was nice, the web site does not do a good job of letting you know that the referenced restaurant/bar (Pink Pony) is not on site. The front desk is not helpful; they could not even tell me how late a bicycle could be rented. If you're looking for something quiet, the downtown location has a great deal of noise.

They also tried to charge us for smoking in the room (which we did not). We did smoke on the balcony but that is a no-no too! Read the fine print before you sign anything and don't expect them to tell you about it. They just indicated I should initial that we would not smoke in the room - which we did not. The fine print lists balcony too! My fault for trusting them. When they called to let us know not to smoke on the balcony we complied immediately.

The really bad thing was they tried to charge $100 for smoking in the room, but tried to hide it as well! I wasn't given a bill until I demanded it. That's when they admitted the charge. Really, really NOT a good thing. They charge way too much $$$$ for this kind of treatment. Did they need the $100 for Febrezing the "air"?

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bballer, General Manager at Lilac Tree Suites & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2010
I am very sorry that you had a poor experience. We certainly strive to give excellent customer service to our guests. Our front desk associates are trained to explain the new Michigan Smoking Law regarding guest rooms and balconies. I'm sorry that they did not convey this clear enough. It was not mentioned that the $100 charge was taken off their bill. We have since changed our policy to warn about smoking first and only charge if the warning is ignored. Every customer upon checkout receives an itemized copy of their folio, we certainly do not "hide" any charges.
Being a destination we train our associates to know as much as possible about the Island to help our guests with all sorts of questions. Since we are not in the bicycle business however, I think that this would be a difficult question to answer. The associate should have made a call on your behalf however.
Even though the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa is convienently located in the middle of downtown, it is certainly a very quiet hotel with nice size airconditioned two room suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We purchased a night at the hotel at a charity auction, figuring that we couldn't go wrong with a place on Mackinac Island! The hotel was on the main street and overall was okay. Things that drove me crazy - the toilet ran for about 5 minutes before you could flush it again, the sheets would not stay on any of the beds (had to get up several times in the night to attempt to put the sheets back on the bed...gross!), the coffee pot had not been cleaned and the cups were still dirty in the room, wallpaper falling off everywhere, room faced an alley, hairdryer barely blew any air.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

This is the second time we've stayed at the Lilac Tree. The location is great and the front desk is very friendly. We would definitely stay there again. There were only two things that I didn't care for. The cups and glasses are 'washed' each day when the maid comes in. They didn't actually clean them but rinsed them out instead. The other was one afternoon as we were relaxing in our room the maids came in unexpectedly. We didn't hear them knock and I was quite startled to look up and see people in my room. They asked if we'd like milk and cookies which we declined. I probably would have taken them had I not been so panicked. We felt it was a bit odd. All in all, we love it there and will go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Paid over $300 for a "suite" with 3 Queen beds (which were actually pretty comfortable). There were no windows in living room area and the one window in the bedroom overlooked an alley and the backs of buildings. Rooms seemed clean but walls were covered in outdated peeling wallpaper, metal frame in bathroom's drop-ceiling was extremely rusted, ceiling tiles were stained. The two main rooms have worn golf course green carpeting. Some of the lamps didn't work. I was kind of embarassed that I picked this hotel for my family to stay at given the condition of the rooms. But the hotel's location is right on main street and I had assumed it would be a lot nicer given it's name "Lilac Tree Suites and Spa." Not a seedy place, but desperately needs attention and updating and definitely not worth $300+ a night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

I hesitate to write this review because it'll just make more people want to stay there and then the rates will go up! We stayed at the Lilac in June of 2009 and it was great. Staff were very helpful and atmosphere was very relaxing. We enjoyed massages downstairs and our third floor suite was HUGE. We marveled at how nice it all was for the price. There are many places to stay on the island that are NOT air-conditioned, and they cost more!
We had A/C, T.V., refrigerator, coffee pot and more for a great price in a spacious room. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lilac Tree Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Address: 7372 Main St., Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Tree Suites & Spa is located in the heart of downtown, centrally located to the ferry docks. We are surrounded by restaurants, bars, shops and most Island activities. We are an all Suites property featuring modern amenities that a traveler is accustomed. All suites have two large rooms separated by a bathroom with double vanity. All suites also have two 40" flatscreen tvs, wet bar with microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, and pillowtop matresses in the bedroom. The Lilac Tree Spa is located on the ground floor of the hotel, offering massage, body wraps, facials, and nail services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lilac Tree Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Tree Hotel Mackinac Island
Lilac Tree Suites And Spa
Lilac Tree Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilac Tree Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.