We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very roomy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lilac Tree Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7372 Main St., Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very roomy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed in a 2 queen room with an interior view. We were immediately wowed by the size of the room. The living room had ample room to sit and stretch out, A very long hallway led to the bedroom with the 2 beds. The bedroom was so huge, you could have fit 6 queen beds in that room :) It was perfect for our 2 adults and 2 teens.

We didn't stay in a balcony room. We had a window instead, which faced out to a backyard of the home behind us. There was a tree near the window, so greenery was the main thing you saw out the window, unless you walked right up to it. We were happy with this room, since we spent most of the daytime away from the hotel. We still heard horses whinny in the morning, and we liked the layout of the window room better (where the hall door opens into the living room rather than the bedroom). We would stay in the same type of room again.

The hotel is very close to all 3 ferry lines. We could easily walk to anywhere we wanted, including Fort Mackinac and the Grand Hotel (which looked far way on a map).

Just a couple of minor cons: We had a slight leak under our bar sink, so you want to avoid storing food under there that you can't get wet. Second, the wi-fi was really weak in our 3rd floor room. We only got decent connections part of the time.

All in all though, we made a great hotel choice!

Room Tip: Non-balcony rooms are just fine if you are traveling on any kind of a budget. We didn't miss ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    87
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
141
146
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed July 13-15 (3 nights), 2014 as part of our 25 year wedding anniversary. We had room 408, the top floor - king master suite with the "Lilac Love Package", which included:
•Breakfast for two each morning at the Pink Pony
•2 One-Hour Spa Treatments of your choice.
•A bottle of Lilac Tree Champagne.
•2 Keepsake Lilac Tree Toasting Flutes
•Box of assorted chocolates.
•Lilac Tree Hotel Water Color Print.
•Late check-out (noon)
Upon arrival, the staff was helpful and friendly and worked with a Shepplers Ferry porter to locate a piece of luggage that was misplaced. It was resolved very quickly. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a private balcony that overlooked Main Street which had a beautiful and relaxing view. During our stay, we received extra, at no charge, a small box of chocolate covered strawberries with a note from management congratulating us on our anniversary. The maid service also constructed 2- swans and a baby swan with flowers and 2 - Lilac Tree toasting flutes (glass) which was accompanied by a personal visit from the front desk personnel who presented us with a bottle of "sparkling wine" for our anniversary. They made us feel very special. We had the best room at this property and the price reflected it, but it was worth it considering the occasion. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you stay here, our room had the biggest private balcony. The other rooms will not have a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our stay was perfect from beginning to end! From the luggage porter meeting us at the dock, exceptional front desk service, a spacious & sparkling clean room, super comfortable beds (#1 priority!) to fast & easy checkout, it was a 10 out of 10! And I didn't even mention that you're smack in the middle of Main Street & all the action!! We'll definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Love Love Love this hotel! The rooms are great, especially if you have kids and don't want them to go stir crazy. The cookie and Milk time was the most surprising part, and a nice surprise. The Lillac and the Chippewa are the only hotels that we stay at from now on! And also have to thank Archie again! He was so helpful and such a nice person, even knew us by name we passed him walking around the island! We also used the Babysitting service offered by the hotel, and could not be more pleased with how wonderful she was!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have stayed here a number if times and this was just like the rest. Relaxing, comfortable and clean. We love the spa that is at the hotel and my wife has a service or two when ever we visit. This is our second trip to MI already this year. The shops are always a way to kill some time and we always rent bikes by the island house for a couple hours. Make sure you go to the pink pony for dinner and drinks. They have done some renovations and it makes it a little easier to get around in it. The rooms over looking the main road is our favorite. You can people watch in the morning and at night as well. This hotel is central to all the is MI. Make sure you get some fudge across the street. We hope to come back a couple more time this summers. Great stay as usual. Thanks for an escape from it all!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have been staying at the Lilac for a few years multiple times throughout the season and enjoy it more each time. the Staff is professional and Bart- the Manager in charge is awesome paying at lot of attention to details. The rooms are very clean and its all the small things that make our stay even more special each time. One of the best values on the island. You will love this place. AND their beds and linens are like sleeping on a cloud.

John and Paige

Room Tip: Spend the few xtra dollars and get a balcony view room facing the water and main street!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lilac Tree. We have stayed on the island before in another hotel and we found this one much more comfortable and family friendly. We are a family of 5 and the room was perfect. The hotel was perfectly situated on Main Street and we found the beds to be comfortable and the service to be great. The staff is very attentive and welcoming. The elevators to get up to the rooms were easy to access and there was never a wait. It was so nice to be on Main Street and run upstairs to get whatever we needed from our room. It was nice of the hotel to offer complimentary coffee, water, and apples during the day. Evening turn down service was nice also as they offered cookies and milk to children and chocolate mints on the beds. The hotel is very clean and well kept. The only suggestion I have is for the maintenance department to check the electrical outlets as a few of them in our room did not work. Don't let that deter you though, because there is a docking station and free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lilac Tree Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Address: 7372 Main St., Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lilac Tree Suites & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Tree Suites & Spa is located in the heart of downtown, centrally located to the ferry docks. We are surrounded by restaurants, bars, shops and most Island activities. We are an all Suites property featuring modern amenities that a traveler is accustomed. All suites have two large rooms separated by a bathroom with double vanity. All suites also have two 40" flatscreen tvs, wet bar with microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, and pillowtop matresses in the bedroom. The Lilac Tree Spa is located on the ground floor of the hotel, offering massage, body wraps, facials, and nail services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lilac Tree Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Tree Hotel Mackinac Island
Lilac Tree Suites And Spa
Lilac Tree Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilac Tree Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.