We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Time, But Certainly Not The Last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lilac Tree Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
7372 Main St., Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kalamazoo, MI
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“1st Time, But Certainly Not The Last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed two nights at The Lilac Tree, Oct. 9 & 10. Very nice accomodations; attractive; well maintained; courteous staff; had balcony room with nice view of Main Street, horses and people.
No restaurants on site, but not a problem as several within easy walking distance. Also, they are owned by same business as The Chippewaw Hotel / Pink Pony and have specials available at that venue. We've been to Mackinac Island many times, but this was our first stay at The Lilac Tree. It definitely won't be our last!

Room Tip: Get a balcony, front suite to enjoy the view and the tables and chairs on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    81
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
132
136
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at the Lilac Tree for two nights with my parents. The location is ideal to watch all of the action on Main Street. The rooms are spacious and well equipped.
We had booked inland rooms but worked with Nicki at the front desk (she's awesome-very helpful and patient with my elderly parents) to switch my parents room to a street view suite. It was well worth it. We all enjoyed sitting on the balconey watching the horse and bikers pass by and the ferries come and go.
One tip-If you decide to do a carriage tour of the island opt for the private tour that lines up on Main Street in front of the fort. It's about the same price as the big crammed tours but much better. Our driver was Jeremy and he took us off the beaten path which was great since we've visited the island several times.
We love the island and have stayed at many of the hotels/inns. The Lilac Tree is at the top of our list if you like to stay in town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Lilac Tree was the perfect location in Mackinaw! We were right on Main Street the end of September when it wasn't crowded. We sat on our balcony and listened to horse hoofs! We could see the water and the fog roll in and out of the island. The room was very clean and decorated nicely. Everyone was very nice and helpful! The Arnold Ferry had our bag waiting for us and then took it to the ferry when we left. Very relaxing 3 days. You have to rent bikes and ride around the whole island- 8 miles of beautiful scenery!

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing Main Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Room had two beds and a large sitting room. Also had balcony overlooking the main st, highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann, MO
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We recently thoroughly enjoyed a six-day stay at the Lilac Tree. Our well-appointed suite had a balcony overlooking Main Street and Lake Huron, where we could watch the horses, bikes, ferries and freighters. The suite was very clean, gorgeous, and spacious. The entire staff was extremely friendly, helpful and polite. They treated us like family. We highly recommend the Lilac Tree!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

What a cozy, beautiful suite! The bed was comfortable. The bright and cheerful decorations were so inviting! I was in the large jacuzzi tub every evening! We were right above Main Street and could hear the sounds of horses hoofs. I wish I could go back tomorrow! Loved every minute!! We are already planning our trip for next year!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The Lilac Tree is a wonderful place to stay on the island. If you want to truely experience the day to day life on the island then this place is for you. Located on Main Street in the heart of town, is the best place to be. My Mom and I loved every minute of our stay. We will be back next year and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lilac Tree Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Tree Suites & Spa

Address: 7372 Main St., Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lilac Tree Suites & Spa is located in the heart of downtown, centrally located to the ferry docks. We are surrounded by restaurants, bars, shops and most Island activities. We are an all Suites property featuring modern amenities that a traveler is accustomed. All suites have two large rooms separated by a bathroom with double vanity. All suites also have two 40" flatscreen tvs, wet bar with microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, and pillowtop matresses in the bedroom. The Lilac Tree Spa is located on the ground floor of the hotel, offering massage, body wraps, facials, and nail services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lilac Tree Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilac Tree Hotel Mackinac Island
Lilac Tree Suites And Spa
Lilac Tree Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilac Tree Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.