We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Save
You added Chippewa Hotel Waterfront to your Saves list
7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Fort Wayne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We Waited too long to make a reservation for our 30th anniversary. So, with everything booked on the island, we booked a room in Mackinaw City with plans to visit the Island by ferry. (Our room over there was not good!) Well, after a day of touring, we settled up to the bar at the Pink Pony and later decided to buy a souvenir sweatshirt at the Hotel desk. My husband asked if they by chance had a room. We were told there was just one available, a $350 room. We thanked them and were walking away, when we were told we could have it for $200. We jumped on that and weren't sorry. We had the amazing corner suite on the fourth floor. Beautiful decor, spacious, with lovely balcony over the water, and a large jacuzzi in the room! The staff was amazing, providing us with toothbrushes, toothpaste and other toiletries (since our provisions were across the lake). They even charged our cell phones while we were able to relax with a bottle of wine before dinner. With the discounted room, I didn't feel guilty about the empty dive across the lake. We will go back and stay at the Chippewa again! Loved it!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    97
    15
    13
    11
See reviews for
144
213
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Catonsville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here two nights with family in July 2013, we reserved two harbor view suites. I have been coming to Mackinac Island since I was a child and this was our first time actually staying on the island overnight. I'm very happy with our choice of hotel, a bit pricey but comparable, the location is excellent (right downtown, you can walk or bike anywhere, or catch a taxi). You can easily escape the hustle and bustle on main street up in your room and enjoy the beautiful view of Lake Huron (no street noise either). Rooms were huge, we only used about half of it. Due to the fact that the hotel was completely booked and trying fit us in, we had to switch one of our rooms to a different suite the second night. It was a little bit annoying to have to pack everything up after one night, but they moved our luggage for us while we were out and it was pretty painless. The elevator is quite old and slow, so we ended up taking the stairs the entire time, which is a bit of a hike up to the fourth floor but was good exercise :) The hot tub was a nice option to have, it's very large, not super hot though. You can order drinks from the Pink Pony while floating around. It tended to be full of children tossing around beach balls that the hotel provided, so it was not super romantic, but since we were there with family (adults) that wasn't that big of a deal. Just be ready to protect your head (and your drink) from beach balls and splashing. Later at night it was more calm, the hot tub was open until 11pm. Hotel staff were very accommodating, we lost our key (twice, oops!) and they gave us a new one, helped us locate a bike rental place that was open early on a Sunday, booked us a taxi to the Woods restaurant one night, and managed our luggage to and from the ferries. Had dinner and breakfast at the Pink Pony multiple times, which was decent and you can charge to your room. We plan to come back and stay at the Chippewa next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We took our 3 grandchildren and one of their friends to the island. The stay at The Chippewa Hotel was great. We had a suite with a balcony overlooking the waterfront. The kids loved the extra large hot tub. The room was clean and well appointed, the only real problem was the air-conditioning unit is on one side and does not really cool the bedroom area well. The hotel is in a very convenient location, just around the corner from the Arnold Line ferry dock. Would highly recommend this hotel, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose one with the balcony overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My daughter and I spent a weekend in room 212 on a mother daughter trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got there very early at 9:30 am and they check our bags for us and said they would call our cell phone as soon as our room was ready, which they did around noon. The room was a very roomy suite and had a wonderful view and a very nice balcony. We enjoyed the hot tub but unfortunately, some parents were allowing their children to use it as a play pool. We ate dinner at the restaurant on the outdoor patio, and the food was excellent. The service was ok, and our appetizer came about 2 minutes before our meal. Overall, our stay was very good and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Water view worth the extra price, BUT not the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson, michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

they went above what they needed to. we stayed two nights one was on the harbor side withe a suite that was clean and nice. second night was in the main st. two quenn deluxe room which was clean and nice. THE STAFF ALSO SENT MY DAUGHTERS TEDDY BEAR BACK ACROSS THE LAKE ON THE FERRY THAT MY 3 YR OLD DAUGHTER FORGOT IN ROOM AND WE WAS ALREADY ON THE FERRY ACROSS. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in a fourth floor suite overlooking the water. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. Unfortunately, the air conditioning unit was in the common sitting room area and the bedrooms were not able to be cooled. There are ceiling fans but these did not help the matter. The view of the water was pretty and the location on Main Street was convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights while on vacation in June, 2013. The hotel proved to be a great choice for our stay. The 2nd-floor suite was huge, with a nice sitting area and semi-private balcony. The view of the harbor was amazing and well worth the extra money.

The staff was very welcoming and remained cheerful and helpful throughout our visit. We ate breakfast twice at the hotel's Pink Pony restaurant. It had a nice view of the water and was tasty. We also had one of our 3 dinners on the island here. It, too, was very good.

Room Tip: If you get a street-side room, it may be a little noisy -- especially on a summer day or weekend. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Address: 7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of it's original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelors have come to expect. With it's prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chip is definitely the place to stay. All waterside rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate livingrooms, two flatscreen tvs, king or queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The lakeside patio features a 25 person jacuzzi hottub. It is home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. It's sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chippewa Hotel Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.