We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Save Saved
You added Chippewa Hotel Waterfront to your Saves list
7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ferry Special!
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
OXF
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in a top floor, lakefront suite and was completely worth it. The view from the private balcony was amazing, great way to wake up and watch the freighters go by/ferries come in. The hotel is just at the edge of downtown, so it's easy enough to get everywhere. It is right next to the Arnold dock, so if you're arriving on Shepler's be prepared to walk. Unfortunately it rained almost the entire time we were there, so we cut our trip short. There's just not much to do with small children, in Mackinac, in the rain. We look forward to coming back for an adult only trip! That lakeside hot tub is amazing!

Room Tip: Top floor {less noise} and lake front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    96
    14
    13
    10
See reviews for
136
193
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We've been coming to Mackinac Island every year for the last 5 years. We like this hotel the best. The beds are wonderful and very comfortable. The 30 person hot tub/ pool is awesome at night. I love the spacious rooms and great service!! The Pink pony bar is right on the first floor. Its awesome to be back in time and hear the clip clops of the horses every morning when you wake up! Our family from 4 years old to 88 love this place!!

Room Tip: make reservations early!! fills up fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is an elegant hotel, restaurant and bar in a very quaint town with loads of atmosphere. Our room was street side with a large window for watching the town awaken with the clip-clop of horse drawn deliveries to businesses. Then watching the store workers move their supplies inside, as they were left on the sidewalks by the delivery person. It definitely takes you back in time when there was a simpler and quiet life. The room was beautiful with nice bright colors but not too soundproof. We could hear people walking above us late at night, but then again, this is not a new hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent hotel. We stayed in the Harbor View Two-Bedroom Suite on the second floor. The living room area was very spacious. Our private balcony was our home away from home. It was fabulous to sit out there and watch the ferry's come in, freightors go by, and yachts come in and stay at the marina next door. We listened to music from the band down below. The staff was tremendous and were available all day and night. We were met at the ferry where the bellhop took our baggage and put in our room for us. Very clean. Definetly thinking about return stay with them again.

Room Tip: didn't use pool or fitness center to be able to rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menominee, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very nice hotel. Gave you the old days feel with modern zing! Great staff/service. My wife and I honeymooned on the island and it was both of our first visit. Sunrise out the harbor suite was stunning to say the least. Room was very spacious, however not very sound proof. Could hear people in the halls and the Jacuzzi spa on the floor above us and the above rooms foot steps were annoying. other than that would stay with the Chippewa again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Harbor side will be awakened at 9 am when the first Arnold line ferry leaves dock and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henryville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in one of the Queen Suites on the top floor and it was absolutely beautiful. It literally took our breath away when we first saw it. The service was outstanding and the staff was very friendly and courteous. The bellhop met us at the ferry and took our bags to our room when we arrived and when we left he took our bags from our room to the ferry. I would recommend the Chippewa to anyone!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina have balconies and the view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Chippewa Hotel. The room on the top floor gave us a great balcony view of the town, marina, and lake. The sunrise in the morning was beautiful and we could relax with a coffee in our room to enjoy every moment.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor facing the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Address: 7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of it's original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelors have come to expect. With it's prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chip is definitely the place to stay. All waterside rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate livingrooms, two flatscreen tvs, king or queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The lakeside patio features a 25 person jacuzzi hottub. It is home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. It's sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chippewa Hotel Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.