We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October Honeymoon Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Save Saved
You added Chippewa Hotel Waterfront to your Saves list
7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Menominee, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“October Honeymoon Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very nice hotel. Gave you the old days feel with modern zing! Great staff/service. My wife and I honeymooned on the island and it was both of our first visit. Sunrise out the harbor suite was stunning to say the least. Room was very spacious, however not very sound proof. Could hear people in the halls and the Jacuzzi spa on the floor above us and the above rooms foot steps were annoying. other than that would stay with the Chippewa again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Harbor side will be awakened at 9 am when the first Arnold line ferry leaves dock and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    97
    14
    13
    10
See reviews for
138
197
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Henryville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in one of the Queen Suites on the top floor and it was absolutely beautiful. It literally took our breath away when we first saw it. The service was outstanding and the staff was very friendly and courteous. The bellhop met us at the ferry and took our bags to our room when we arrived and when we left he took our bags from our room to the ferry. I would recommend the Chippewa to anyone!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina have balconies and the view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Chippewa Hotel. The room on the top floor gave us a great balcony view of the town, marina, and lake. The sunrise in the morning was beautiful and we could relax with a coffee in our room to enjoy every moment.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor facing the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caro, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the Chippewa Hotel for many years now, in fact, we were married there on their patio! Archie has been there as long as we can remember. He is ALWAYS running to help someone! He always ensures that our bags are taken to our room, to the dock, and back again! This morning, we pretty much drove him crazy, we kept changing the time we were leaving. We finally settled on THE time, told Archie and he said "No worries, I'll see to your bags and make sure they get to the dock on time, AND if you give me your vehicle claim ticket I'll make sure they have your car ready upon arrival in Mackinaw City!" Well, we had about 45 minutes before our boat left, had been walking for about 30 and here comes Archie on a bicycle, all panting and out of breath! He peddled up and said, "Did you forget something"? He had our most important bag, the one with our laptop, e-readers and cash in it!!! In our frenzy to get out of the room we had forgotten it on the bed. Archie wasted NO time trying to find us, going up and down the street until he finally saw us. He is the best of the best! The Chippewa is very fortunate to have Archie Hart in their employ. We love the Chippewa. The entire staff eagerly welcomes us each and every time. The rooms are spotless, fresh and very clean! Thank ALL of you!

Wendy and Mark Conely

Room Tip: Forth floor is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed on the 3rd floor overlooking the harbor with a balcony. The room was huge. The balcony is large with a table and 2 chairs. We enjoyed sitting out there watching the activity on the ferry dock and harbor. There is also a little frig in the room with a mini kitchen with microwave. The room was incredibly clean, even the carpet, which normally I don't like to walk barefoot in a hotel room. The place is convenient to everything. We were there 10/15-10/17, so the town was pretty quiet, but just a warning, if you don't want to be in the middle of action/noise you should probably stay somewhere else. I imagine that it could get loud if there are a lot of people staying there. No fault of the hotel, but we could easily hear people coming and going from their rooms and talking in the hallway. That kind of thing doesn't bother us, but if it would bother you, then keep that in mind. We'll definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: You won't hear people above you walking around if you get a room on the 4th floor. The balcony r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Chippewa and it was fabulous. We had a suite, overlooking the marina, which was huge by hotel standards. Unfortunately the weather was awful but having such a great place to escape the rain and wind helped. We really enjoyed the Pink Pony as well. This was our first trip to the Island and hope to return again and stay at the Chippewa.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Recently I stayed at the Chippewa on Mackinaw Island, Michigan. The hotel had been renivated since my last stay and what a great job. The hotel was clean, well organized, and the staff was outstanding. I won't hesitate to go back, and look forward to the occaision.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chippewa Hotel Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chippewa Hotel Waterfront

Address: 7221-103 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our turn of the century hotel, built in 1902, has all of it's original victorian charm combined with all the modern amenities that resort travelors have come to expect. With it's prime downtown, waterfront location, the Chip is definitely the place to stay. All waterside rooms are large suites with spacious balconies. All suites have been recently updated and feature separate livingrooms, two flatscreen tvs, king or queen pillowtop beds, and wetbar. The lakeside patio features a 25 person jacuzzi hottub. It is home to the famous Pink Pony which has four different dining and drinking experiences. It's sister hotel, the Lilac Tree Suites & Spa features the Lilac Tree Spa for your relaxing enjoyment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chippewa Hotel Mackinac Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chippewa Hotel Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.