We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Iroquois to your Saves list
Hotel Iroquois
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Hernando, Fl
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

IV'E STAYED AT JUST ABOUT EVERY PLACE ON THE ISLAND AND THIS by far IS the best!
If you go DO NOT stay on main street and be a fudgie! You must explore the Island it self.
And be SURE to spend the night!!! It becomes magical after the last ferry leaves!
Susan

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    39
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
68
149
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Nice setting: In town, but not in the middle of the noise.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

The Iroquois is by far the most beautiful hotel on the island. Great location - you really are right on the water - and fabulous service. The Carriage House Dining Room (best food by far) only adds to the experience. I had the veal pecatta and it was oustanding.

This hotel garners a lot of praise filled with puffery, but the honest truth is that the people at the Iroquois care. They make tremendous efforts to make sure that your stay is nothing less than superb. What makes it even better is that they do this effortlessly - there's no pretention. It simply is the Iroquois.

The best thing about this hotel, as I found out, is that it's a family run business. They haven't lost that special touch. The owner of the past 50 years was still there to greet guests, and her attention to detail goes above and beyond. Fresh flowers, beautifully decorated and appointed rooms, top notch service - this is what every hotel should strive to be like. The front desk manager was very helpful and the maid service was amazing (everything is SO clean!). I recommend this to anyone who enjoys staying at places where the customer is still king, and the meaning of hospitality hasn't been forgotten.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

I did considerable research in choosing a place to stay on Mackinac Island. We were extremely pleased with our final destination, the Hotel Iroquois. We arrived on a Wednesday and were very pleased to be upgraded from a garden view to a harbor view upon our check in. Staying in the fall also allowed a discount of 50% from regular rates at $108 plus tax per night. We were about 100 feet from the Starline Ferry and our luggage was picked up and delivered promptly. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner at the Cottage. Yes, it was pricey - however it was a conscious choice and we truly enjoyed the ambiance and great food and warm and friendly service from Katie, our waitress. We requested a special song from the piano player of which he did not know. However he took a short break and llstened to it on the computer and then came out and played it from memory - Perfectly! Our room was bright and cheery and absolutely spotless clean. Our bed was turned down and any used towels from the afternoon were replaced by the time we returned to our room each evening evening. The staff was eager to share tips about the Island and offered to help with other requests such as ice delivery and directions. Absolutely no reason to not want to return. And we will!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up in Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

To call the Iroquois a "
B&B" is unfair, considering that it has the best restaurant on the island, the Carriage House. Just ate lunch there yesterday. Exquisite Scottish smoked salmon, perfectly plated Cobb salad - served on the verandah overlooking Round Island Passage, where competi]tors in the annual Port Huron-to-Mackinac sailboat race were crosing the finish line.
Not just a B&B at all.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

I stayed at this hotel and it was just wonderful. The rooms and the entire Hotel was extremely clean. New crisp sheets applied to the bed everyday and fresh soft very white towels placed in bathroom daily. It is a family owned business and you can tell by all the extra touches. The restaurant is a little bit pricey and probably not something everyone could afford in this economy but the food was the best we ate during our stay. We visited the Grand Hotel, and yes it is grand but I would never choose to stay there over staying at the Iroquois. The staff was polite and helpful. The location of this property is ideal being on the water and close enough to all the shops and restaurants but far enough wasy (very end of the street) to give you peace at night. The only negative is they could lower the price a bit to give more people a chance to enjoy this special property.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twins5300
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

We went up to Mackinac to enjoy the long holiday weekend and to celebrate my 50th birthday. We selected the Hotel Iroquois because it was right on the water. Although it was a little more money then we wanted to spend it was well worth it. If you wanted to run back to your room it was easy to get to. The lovely park to the west of the building was a great spot to sit and enjoy the kite flyers and the military band that played that day. Coffee & Tea were served in the bright and airy round room off the lobby each morning. It would have been nice if muffins or sweet rolls were put out as well - but it isn't a bed & breakfast. A small coffee pot/mini refrig/and micro in the room would have come in handy for our leftovers. Being situated at the end of the downtown area was nice - quieter as well. The room was adorable with all floral motif and white wicker. The bath room was a little small but looked brand new. The sheets and towels were quality (we were surprised they didn’t have those thick robes) that’s how nice it is. The hotel puts on fresh sheets each day and turns down your bed at night. We highly recommend this Hotel but if feels more like an Inn or Bed & Breakfast. The flowers around the building were spectacular. Charming accomodations that I highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iroquois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.