We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Save Saved
You added Hotel Iroquois to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Iroquois
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sojourn - 15% off
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Mackinac Island
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here 2 days & it was great. Location is perfect: at the edge of town so only steps away from shops, etc, but on it's own water front property so it's away from the mob of tourist.. Nice old hotel, well decorated rooms & friendly. The provided breakfast is simple but well served in an old drawing room. The prices are about the same as the usual B&Bs on the island. The restrarant is very good, altho' a little pricy

Room Tip: Some of the ground floor rooms have balconies facing the lake... try to get one of those. They don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    34
    6
    8
    6
See reviews for
51
119
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, USA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel before and found it a terrific experience. Previously we on the top floor even though it was expensive it was a terrific view and a very nice room. Our experience was very different this time. We were on the first floor and noise in the basement woke us at 6am on a saturday and was continuous until 7:30. We asked to change rooms and were given a room across the hall (102). This time we could hear dryers running the the basement from about 9pm until 11:20. We made a comment at the desk about 10 and we were assured that they would be off by 11. (not). The early in the next morning it seemed that may guests were trying to leave early as the weather was cool and many guests were there for a saturday trail run as we were. There was no possibility to get any extra sleep. If you stay here do not stay on the first floor.

Room Tip: Go up but it will cost you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the off season, in the Lighthouse Suite. Our suite was really delightful and comfortable, two large bedrooms each with full bathroom, and a spacious living room between the bedrooms. Living room included wet bar & fridge. Each room had large dormer windows overlooking the bay.
Location is right next to the Star Ferry terminal; hotel provides porter service for luggage between rooms and ferry dock.
Be forewarned that the suite is a 3-flight walk-up, no elevators. Also be aware that while this hotel has a dining room, it is closed in the off-season. Dining options in town are available, though uninspired.
Housekeeping was excellent, including nightly turn-down service.
Only point that keeps this review from getting full 5-stars would be front desk service. There was nothing particularly wrong with it, but it wasn't special, we were just another guest. Given the price point of the hotel, and our suite in particular - even off-season - I would have expected more of a concierge style of service.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue, request a ground-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We've stayed at the Iroquois at least 7 times through the years and have never been disappointed. It's an exquisite facility, with an unsurpassed location on the water. Each room is charmingly decorated and immaculately clean. An added bonus is the Iroquois' dining room; best food on the island. The hotel is a bit pricey in mid season, but worth it. Look for special early season and late season specials.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was the first time my husband and I stayed on Mackinac Island. We chose the Hotel Iroquois on the recommendation of a friend. We were not disappointed. Generally a quite pricey Hotel, we found a Fall special so it wasn't any more expensive then the national chains. We had a Garden Room with a private porch. The room was very clean and a maid even turned our bed down at night. It was quiet. The staff were very welcoming and very helpful...the porters, the desk clerks, the cleaning staff, and the owner, who we met briefly. There were games and movies available for a rainy night. We will probably visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

From the time you get on the ferry to the island there is something really quite magical about Mackinac Island and the Hotel Iroquois fits right in with that theme: magical! I Have now stayed here twice now and can't get over how impeccably clean and well designed this hotel is. It's IMMACULATE! It should be noted that this is a VERY OLD hotel, yet it's cleaner and nicer than some of the top rated hotels I have stayed in across the US and Europe.

The SERVICE is first rate, feels like you have butler service like you are at a St. Regis but it's not, it's just island small hotel fantastic hospitality. You need ice, they will get it for you, you need silverware, no problem, oh champagne glasses, coming right up, AND FAST! this is the kind of service that goes a long way and is what you want in a relaxing hotel stay. I will not forget the service. I don't know that the service is the same in the high season as both times I have stayed here have been in the fall, but I can say the hotel was completely full the second time I stayed here and the service was EXCELLENT!

The indoor porches are absolutely majestic, I could lose an entire day sitting in the cozy chairs drinking coffee (which they have out all day!) and watching the horses and carriage go by. It's such a great atmosphere. They offer coffee, tea and a very light continental breakfast in the morning which is a nice touch. The baked in house muffins were a delight!

The prices are high in the peak season but well worth it as this is such a fabulous hotel with a great location, fantastic design and immaculate rooms! I will say the rooms are on the small side but that's to be expected in an antique property.

The interior design of this hotel along with the attention to detail in all that they do here CANNOT go unmentioned. It feels a little like Vera Bradley meets the beach in a wonderfully refreshing and serene way. If you enjoy history the hotel has old photos of the hotel from years past that are so interesting, they are displayed in the hallways which adds to the whole experience. What a great touch!

Staying here is a little like going back in time when service and hospitality mattered, yet with today's updates.

Almost forgot to mention the views, which are so amazing! If you crack the windows you can hear the waves of lake Michigan calling you out to play, swim or bike around the island.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room and the higher the floor the better, it's well worth the higher price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Hole Wy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

There is nothing more beautiful than sitting on the patio overlooking the straits of Mackinac and enjoying a great meal at the Iroquois. The accomodations at the hotel were also spectacular, with breaktaking views in all directions! If you want a view of the water, this is the absolute best dining location on the Island!

Room Tip: Any room with a view will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B and Otel so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iroquois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.