We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iroquois

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Iroquois to your Saves list
Hotel Iroquois
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I know a lot of people only review things when they have a negative experience, so I'm writing this to tell of our EXCELLENT experience at Hotel Iroquois. It is an older hotel, but you would never know it by how meticulously clean it is kept. We saw staff cleaning the wicker furniture and washing the street each day. That's cleanliness! Our room, 321, was beautiful with a view of the garden and the water. The decor in the whole hotel is very charming and has a sea-side feel. The gardens are fabulous. The extra touches, like fresh cut flowers & ice water w/ lemon in the lobby, the bakery continental breakfast and the turn down service put this hotel above anywhere we've ever stayed. It's pricey but worth it. Someone else's review mentioned noisy kids. We experienced that, too (what's with parents?!) but we called down to the front desk, and they took care of it. Not much else I can say but that it is wonderful! Perfect location, right next to the ferry, close enough to the main street but out of the way of all the craziness and noise. It didn't even have the manure smell. Right next to a boardwalk, too, for a nice walk at any time. Highly, highly recommend. Oh, and there's no elevator, but they told us that on the phone when booking. If you don't like stairs, just book on the main floor. You'll get a private porch.

Room Tip: Room 321! Amazing view, beautiful decor. And air conditioner if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    39
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
68
149
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

There is no elevator so request a lower floor room if needed. The Biddle Point room has surround window views of the Harbor, Governor's retreat, as well as the Fort. This property is maintained with excellent care. The various breezy rooms, porch and patio eating are a treat for the soul.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, MI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

From the welcoming porches to exceptional housekeeping and an efficient staff, this hotel makes a wonderful first impression. After that initial impression, you will not be disappointed. The rooms are beautiful and furnished with Mackinac Island-appropriate quality furniture, fabrics, and finishes. Our room overlooked the harbor and lighthouse. The on-site restaurant offers delicious options, and you can eat in the dining room which has large window-walls with views of the harbor or outdoors in the beautiful Proven Winners Showcase Garden. We highly recommend this hotel. Our stay there was memorable for the four adults in our party!

Room Tip: The top floor Lighthouse Suite is THE BEST with a lovely sitting area, mini-kitchen, and en suite ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with 3 other couples the weekend of 10/21/11. Our room was lovely, fantastic breeze from our balcony on a perfect fall weekend. We loved the "inn" feeling of the hotel, so clean and cozy, and elegant. It was a treat to stay at the Iroquois! We are frequent guests on the island (twice per summer/fall) and have yet to stay at the Grand. We so love the "in town" location of the Iroquois and will be back again soon!

Our only complaint: We booked our stay at the Iroquois, and then invited 3 other couples (3 additional rooms) to join us and they booked as well! The bummer was that the last couple to book was upgraded at check-in to the Biddle Point Suite for the same price we paid. When we were the ones who brought them along! Maybe we will get the upgrade this year ;)

Room Tip: Love the rooms with the breeze from the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The view, the food and the atmosphere (along with the service) is outstanding. Though a bit pricy, it features a broad variety of dishes, including several with Michigan themes. Our group included a six year old and a four year old who chose from the adult menu and thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Our waitress (from Colorado) was patient, prompt and very knowledgeable about their offerings.

She effectively communicated with the youngsters and explained what their meals entailed and tacitly got "the nod" from their mother. We ate on the patio and she made sure that those who wanted shade got it. Overall, a great experience for the adults and the kids. Try the dishes with local foodstuffs. They make an effort to bring out their flavors.

Room Tip: We have stayed here in the past and very much enjoyed the accommodations. On this trip, we called f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very bad experience. They never informed us there was no elevator when we made the reservations, and we were on the third floor. My daughter is unable to manage steps that were very steep. Reservaton made with a balacony, but upon arrival was informed they have only two and were not available. There is no ice machine or pop machine, so to order ice, there must be a couple dollar tip. There is no pool or beach available. The continental breakfast served very small blueberry muffins every morning with coffee. No bagels, toast, eggs or other options. We have always stayed at the Lake View Hotel for half of the money and twice the service. You must give two weeks notice to change your reservations. I received the credit card changes two days before our visit. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. Many hotels for half the price and twice the options are available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a fairly expensive hotel that delivers on every level. The transition from the ferry to the hotel is very easy, the rooms are lovely and well maintained with much attention to detail. The staff go out of their way to be helpful. The restaurant is superb with wonderful food and service in an elegant atmosphere that amazingly accommodates the beautifully dressed and those who happen to dress more comfortably. The location is perfect. I chose this hotel because my sister and I needed a get away, each of us with an injured leg! The room with a patio, the room service, the help of the staff all made this perfect! To top it off, they are even assisting me graciously with things I left behind. I can't really say enough good things about the Hotel Iroquois.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Iroquois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iroquois

Address: 7485 Main Street, PO Box 456, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iroquois 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Iroquois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Iroquois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.