We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's Drive It Yourself Buggy Ride

Jack's Drive It Yourself Buggy Ride
10 Mahoney Avenue, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
906-847-3391
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Transportation, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had so much fun! We rented a buggy from Jack’s Livery. You cannot go around the entire island, however you go from the Livery, to the snack shack, to the interior of the Island, past the Grand and back to the Livery. The entire trip took about 1 1/2 hr and cost about $65.00, totally worth every penny. The staff is very competent; initially we had a high-spirited horse…so we went back to the Livery and traded for a perfectly mild mannered horse “Billy”. Staff tells you to steer the horse left or right, which is true, however horses know where the trail is and where to go. I have seen other reviews that dislike this, however we were then able to relax and enjoy the ride with no fears of getting lost. We highly recommend this tour.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Kind of cool, place needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We rented a carriage and horse for a group of six. The carriage they put us in was definitely not big enough for 6 people and for $90 an hour, I would expect more comfort. We had a huge Belgium horse Bud who was quite unique and a gentle giant. We really didn't have to drive him much, he knew the way on his own. He did however, make his own detours when he wanted to rest in the shade, in the trees and off the road. We thought it was to avoid the flies though. He needed to be sprayed down. It was kind of cool to do it on our own with no guide. The stables themselves and the carriage really needed some work. New paint and a cleaner look would've been nice. It looked pretty dumpy. Most of the staff were very friendly but there was one woman who was rather ornery. Overall it was fun and we were glad that we did it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Drive Yourself Buggy Ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Nice people and good experience. I was a little disappointed to ask for an hour ride (due to expense) and they gave us a horse they knew & admitted was slow. An hour route took 1 hour 40 minutes so they prorated the 40 minutes.I don't consider it "working with us" to knowingly give us a slow horse and charging more than the time we requested. Either give us a different horse or take the loss instead of charging patron for something they didn't want.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Jerry has a personality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Jerry, was a awesome horse,would use him again. Jerry works well for the first time horse rider.He has his own personality,watch out whenhe gets moving. They took good care of us.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson city
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“horses are way too slow”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

you pay by the hour and the horses stop half way up the hill , you have to get out and pull them up the hill

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Drive It Yourself Buggy Ride also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Jack's Drive It Yourself Buggy Ride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack's Drive It Yourself Buggy Ride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.